Garden Journal No. 1

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, welcome to my garden journal no.1.


NAARTJIE TREE

I will not really be tracking this any further in my journal - but I thought it would be best to start my journal on a positive note and show you all my wonderful harvest of naartjies I've received this winter.

naatjie tree - 960x1280.jpg


PALM TREE

I will be tracking this palm tree for years to come. I found this palm growing in my garden, a few years back. I'm not sure how it landed it landed here; but unfortunately in the spot I found it had no future as the space was limited and it was to close to the boundary wall. I've manage to successfully transplant it to its new location, where it can grow with room to spare.

future palm - 956x609.jpg


THE LAWN

About two weeks back I planted some grass in the area shown below. I'm please to say, the grass is showing lovely signs of growth - so I'm quite optimistic, that within due course I will have a lovely lawn.

new lawn patch - 960x588.jpg


AVOCADO

I would desperately love to have an avocado tree in my garden, please wish me luck as I try to get these pips to germinate...

future avos 960x508.jpg


CHILLI & SAGE

I've never had a veggie / herb garden - so this is my first attempt. As you can see both my Chilli (on the right) and sage (on the left) have overcome their first obstacles...

Future Chilli and Sage - 960x490.jpg


FUTURE VEGGIE / HERB GARDEN

As you can see, I've already taken my first steps toward creating my garden space. I invite you to watch as this space transforms over the next few months.
future veggie Patch - 960x476.jpg


Thank-you! Thank-you! You have all been awesome for reading my post!!!


Please show your appreciation and kindness with;
COMMENTS, UPVOTES, RESTEEMS & FOLLOWS

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Congratulations @happyhairdays! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I actually had to go look up what a naartjie tree was. I had never heard of it before. It looks beautiful.

I can see you’re doing the avocado-thing.
I’ve seen it so many times, and I’d love to try it, but it simply wouldn’t have any future. Not only is the climate here not fit for avocado trees, I don’t like the taste of them either, lol. Still, I’m very attracted to the experiment. :0)

Very good idea, recycling tyres to create your garden beds. I tried it last year, and it worked great for me.
I can’t wait to see how that spot will look like in a couple of weeks. It’s going to be awesome!

Perhaps they have a different name where you're from. I love Naartjies, since they are generally a smaller portion than oranges. Also the loose skin, doesn't have you loosing nails in the process of pealing them. Finally, the pods separate much easier too! We are able eat them now, and this bunch is lovely and sweet. I no longer have worry about birds, it the naughty kids that are now plundering the tree. Hahaha!

Avo's are so frightfully expensive here - I need to do something about the matter, in terms of attempting to grow my own. They also make excellent masks for skin treatment. ROFL!

Do you have a link to a post that you've done the tyre garden, perhaps?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11