My Tiny Little Garden.

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago

Edible Plants.

Tomato Sprout.jpg

The garden recently just came alive due to a few weeks of rain pouring after months of draught, nothing was growing that time but now, haha...

So, let's get on to the garden, shall we? I have been showing some of my plants that's been growing in my garden lately. They are all still babies, new sprouts, still trying to survive the growth so hopefully they can grow healthily and not die on me!

First is the tomato sprout, it has been doing quite well and I saw 2 more new sprouts beside it so I am excited about having more than just one during the time of harvest in the future.

Roselle Plants01.jpg

Roselle Fruits01.jpg

I have 2 Roselle that is also growing very well I must say, it's already around 3 feet high and still growing but the branches are already showing the tiny roselle growing, very excited!

French Bean03-S.jpg

Next was the French Beans, I took the photo last week but unfortunately, it's drying and stopped growing. I'm not sure if it's too much water or not enough fertiliser as it's growing next to the massive Roselle right now.

Pumpkin.jpg

Pumpkin was the first try for me, I have not yet grasped the knowledge on how to grow it, so I just let it be and see what will unfold later. If anyone can help me out here, how does the pumpkin get pollinated when I don't see any male flowers? Really puzzled me...

Capsicum.jpg

I throw a bunch of Capsicum's seed into the soil, and this is what I get later on, a whole bunch of them! I will do the transfer to pots later when they are a bit bigger.

Okra Seeds.jpg

Okra will be my next target, I really like to eat okra so I hope I can get some to grow from all these seeds later. I heard they are not hard to take care and I would love to have a bunch of them!

Butterfly Peas01.jpg

BP Flowers01.jpg

Dried Plain Drink03.jpg

Butterfly Peas is an edible flower, and you can make drinks using the flowers. I have been drinking the water almost every day now and apparently, they are good for the eyesight! Plus you can use the flower as food colouring as well.

Flowers and Succulent Plants.

Purple flower.jpg

Pink Flower.jpg

Succulent plants01.jpg

Succulent plants02.jpg

Lastly, above are just some of the flowers in the garden, so the butterflies and bees can come to visit and do pollination for my plants! I love to use the Succulent Plants to do some decorations, sometimes even as a housewarming gift!

Thanks to @simplymike's contest that I have the chance to show all of you my little tiny garden. I hope you enjoy my journal. Thanks!


SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge 5 was started by @simplymike, if you wish to know more about it, here is the link to the contest.


Joe Steemit divider.jpg

Thank you for stopping by, this is a place where I can share the things I enjoy in life, art, gardening, nature, foods. This is why my divider above are filled with all the different kind of icons that I love doing. I hope you enjoy my post so far, leave me a comment if you like.
谢谢您的到访,这里是个我可以分享关于我所喜爱的生活,包括艺术,园艺,大自然,食物等等的地方。 这就是为什么我上面的页脚全都是我喜欢做的不同类型的图标。 我希望您喜欢我的帖子,如果您喜欢,不妨留下您的评语。

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

nice, upvoted

Thank you very much!

What a beautiful garden! Where are you located? It seems late in the season to be starting things (where I am!)

Thank you @uniwhisp!
I am from Malaysia, we don't have seasons here, except raining season or draught time. :)

Ah yes! That makes sense then. I've never lived in a place without seasons. I wonder how I would adapt.

It would be hard I guess, I can't imagine myself going through Winter as well, I'm so scared of cold!

Great to see that people use edible plants for their food and recipes. Nothing is fresher thant this :-)

You are absolutely right!

Congratulations @joelai! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That tea is a beautiful shade of violet! Never heard of that plant before. Nice pictures, thanks for sharing!

Thank you for stopping by my post!

Very nice post! You have just taught me about okra. Perhaps I will add some next year to my flower bed. Knowing that it is good for food coloring is also a plus for me. I would love to try it in my baking.
For the pumpkin I was only able to tell if the flowers were male/female after the flowers bloomed. I let the bees take care of all that once they grew. They do a great job :p

Aww... Thank you @foxyspirit for stopping by.
Yes, I hope you are able to find the Butterfly Peas Flowers for your food colouring.
The pumpkin flower so far I haven't seen any male at all...

I was going by what I saw in the picture thinking that they haven't bloomed just yet. My bad. Is your plant an autoflowering plant? Meaning it does not need pollination. That is the only thing that comes to mind with not having any male flowers.

I just checked on google and I am mostly seeing that the male flowers grow first. And I have only seen a couple saying that the male flowers are not blooming but are there. So I really don't know about your pumpkin plant. Do you have more than one in hopes to be pollinated with the other? Or cross pollinate with another squash plant if you have any? Those are my best ideas.

Thank you so much for doing all the searching for me!

I'm not sure if it's an autoflowering plant though...

I did Google about it and it says the same thing as in the male should be the first few, but I just didn't saw any, so I was puzzled. But thanks again for taking this journey of searching with me!

I just noticed I wrote okra when I was talking about the butterfly peas lol. I must have been tired XD. My brain hasn't been working properly lately. Sorry.

No worries @foxyspirit, I actually know you were just making a typo, it's not a problem. ;)

Your garden is beautiful. Though it seems small, you have a variety of plants growing it. Each of them Giving you a unique experience about gardening. That's nice

Thank you very much for the comments @resuscitate!

You have quite the little containerized garden, not small by any means. Plus it is portable and that is a big plus.

@sultnpapper Thank you so much for stopping by!
One thing you are right about the portable advantages!

You are most welcome, and of course I am right, I am always right , but it is always only on "One thing."

What's that!??

That "One thing" would be what ever I happen to be talking about at the time. It was a joking type comment to say that I think I am always right or correct. :)

Hahaha... Okay, I get it now!
Must the language barrier! Hehehe...

Yes, my English is not that good yet, but I am trying.

I was actually referring to myself, English is not my first language either.
Thanks for trying with me!

Hi @joelai, your enthusiasm for gardening is contagious. I had a garden before i relocated. I have missed the joys of gardening, the fufilment you get when you eat what you have planted. I love your plants especially the flowers, they are beautiful. I do hope the french beans make a recovery.Its my first time learning about the butterfly peas. The flowers look beautiful, i hope to try the drink someday. Thanks for showing us your garden.

Plant is indeed life. What would we do without them?

Nature is fair to us, we just need to take care of them and be grateful I supposed.
Thanks for the comments @cheekah!

Hi @joelai :) I don't know where to begin with this post! I love it, but can't really answer your questions, although I know who probably can! @simplymike is a gardener extraordinaire!! and if anyone can help you out, she can. I was all set to tell you about her Steemit Community Garden Journal, then I saw that you made this post specifically because of that!

I've never heard of Roselle before; is it something edible? And the Butterfly Pea water is gorgeous! What a color! Nature really does do it best, doesn't She ? :) Love the succulents too; I've been meaning to get some of those for my patio space.

I'm submitting this to c-squared as well; hopefully they'll pop by and show their appreciation for such a lovely post!

Hi @lynncoyle1!! Yeah, I sort of promised her I would make a post for her Steemit Community Garden Journal, I'm glad I did!

I think you can find it in Mexico, maybe in a different name like Sorrel (Roselle/Hibiscus), it's edible, can make drinks or jam with it, I always make jam and it tasted similar to strawberry jam. Nature has been kind to us by providing such beautiful and edible plants/flowers to us. I would love to see your balcony fill with plants soon when you have the time.

Thanks again @lynncoyle1, you are my angel!

Hibiscus! I have that and yes, they make a drink from it here ! But I've never seen that beautiful color like you have :) Nature is very kind!

you are my angel!

awww takes one to know one :)

Awww.... 😍😍😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27