My September Update for the SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge 5 -Part 1 Video Tour of My Lower Forest Gardens

in #gardenjournal20186 years ago (edited)

The seasons are starting to change here in the Boreal forest of Saskatchewan, Canada, the place where I chose to make my homestead and develop my gardens. I have different gardening plots nestled in the woods which I point out in the video tour down our lane and back to the woodland trails behind our house. Come enjoy a walk on my forest homestead with me!

Viewed in this video is my front gardens (they are on the frontage of our property). On the south side of the lane is a productive area where I harvest the wild blueberries, Saskatoons, rose hips and sweet grass. This use to be an old pasture many years ago and we have done some planting of spruce seedlings in there.

On the north side of the lane is where I use to have my covered garden and some other gardening beds but this is a lower area and it gets hit with frost earlier in the season, plus the moles moved in and ate every single cultivated plant I put in there so I just let the raspberries take over that area. Makes for a very productive raspberry patch.

As we move up the lane we see what I call my middle garden. This is where I mostly grow my cool weather plants with a few squashes that like to spread off into the bush. This garden is still in a low area which gets frost earlier.

Up by the house I have my small what I call "Forest Garden" which I emulated the forest with it's many layers. I had bought soil in and planted a crab apple tree, an apple crab, sour cherry trees, plum trees, haskap bushes, gooseberry bushes and currents. I had but in some strawberry plants but my plantings where too close and they never produced much. The fruit trees where planted too close so I'm not getting the production I wanted but I have other fruit trees around my front yard which I'll be showing in other parts of my garden update.

I'll cover the upper parts of my gardens in part 2 of my September Update for the SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge 5 with photos and more of what I have been harvesting plus different challenges I have been facing.

Until them enjoy this tour.

*Note I uploaded my video to Youtube for I am still trying to figure out formatting for DTube.

Sort:  

Congratulations @porters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I can't say I've ever heard the term Crown land before! Good thing you did not leave your address because my boys and I would already be up there running away from the American government! Just kidding but coming from a desert environment that is not healthy this was a great eight minute video of Serenity for me but now to tell you the truth I'm always going to be a little jealous of you😜

Canada is in the commonwealth realm with connections to the British Monarchy - thus the word Crown. Most of the crown land around me is forestry lease land, leased by lumber companies. Where abouts do you live that is desert land? No need to be jealous! It's not always about the place but about the person and I'm sure you are a fabulous person that i would like to get to know better.

Las Vegas, NV😬😜😝😂😉 I would rather have morning fog, fresh air and waaay less EMF fog! But i gave up my pursuit of health and spirtual enlightenment to selfishly have two beautiful children in a world that i found to be too sick to help. I thought i had to have at least one child i needed to impart the importance of what is happening and how it is up to them to help the earth and others and look to the stars. I rambled on ya... Its people like you in @earthtribe that gives me hope not everyone is brainwashed and wants to just live in as much harmony as possible with planet earth.

I visited Las Vegas once as a child as part of a family trip visiting my cousins in Los Angeles. That is quite a different world from where I live. What is it that keeps you in Las Vegas? Some people call this the out lying area and ask why I want to live so far north. I first fell in love with the people here and I love living in the forest. Being able to retreat from all the craziness and just see people when you want to. I work with young kids in the Pre-k "Play and Exploration" program plus i am a grandma so I'm concerned about what we are imparting to our youth.

Yes it's quite crazy this world has become. I am a 14-year Union member in Las Vegas. Our union over the last 3 years has been completely transformed by hiring 500 people not knowing anything about contracts and willing to work for Less with less rights essentially people that will ignore the contract just to get work. But my job used to be really really good here but now things like retirement and insurance are frowned upon it makes you look like a entitled elitist. Things changed pretty quickly out here. I never really like living here but it was my union job and working with contacts and rights that really made me proud of my job but now my job is to ignore those things. I'm 33 years old and I feel like a dinosaur things are not what they were or how I remember before 911.

My husband was a strong union man and the unions have been eroded away here too. He is now retired and happy to be out of the rat race. Ah yes! I had forgot the effects 9/11 must be having on the States, not as much here in Canada.

Oh yeah its unnoticable to the new generations. Anyone under 29 or so cant recall what it was like really before 911. So not having rights, forcing pills on people, 100 required vaccines and living in a police state to name a few is accepted not questioned.😂

What is this forced pills you are talking about and that many vaccinations! that's crazy! Oh I do hope more people wake up and say they are not going to take it any more. funny I always relate back to that book Atlas Shrugged (have you read it?) Where the productive people just moved off into new territory and rebuilt their society and left the other to the bureaucrats, etc. that were trying to take everything, left it to them to have it crumble around them. H-m-m could the blockchains be a part of this new territory?

What an amazin piece of land you have there. So many opportunities... :0)

Yes I feel blessed to live here surrounded by the natural beauty. It is right by a National Park.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77