Garden Journal September 2018: Spring Has Truly Sprung!

SPRING HAS SPRUNG! It's hard to explain the excitement I feel. Like the birds, I'm all a flutter - my throat lifts toward the sun, imagined wings flying behind me into the blue skies no longer sharp with winter, but brushed with tinges of warmth. I'm trying not to get too over the top - I mean, there's still possiblity of frost, so no way can I plant tomatoes or eggplant yet, but not long now - weeks!

image.png

As the sun goes down the birds go NUTS. A lot of the grevillea are out and they just love it. Check out the sound of the birds in this bush - if you're lucky you'll spot the tiny new holland honeyeaters and hear the pretty warble of a magpie. I promise you'll like it - do press play!

Things that sustained us through the winter months are now going to seed - kale, broccoli and bokchoy all are beginning to bolt. We've eaten a lot of it, that's for sure - that, and silverbeet, which goes in every meal. Lots and lots of parsley, though it's shot through with grass which is entertaining as I prep dinner. J. looks at me sternly and says: 'I hope you are getting all the grass out', stating the bleeding obvious.

The garlic scapes aren't out yet but the garlic crop is looking GOOD. All winter I've been eating the garlic tops like chives - I plant the whole bulb (the little ones no good for seed crop) and there's so much of it that it's a totally bounty. Sadly J. can't eat it, so I eat it sprinkled over things or in my own mini bowls of noodles or eggs.

For the first time this year the loquats survived the frost. I'm not sure if it's because it's a little microclimate in there now or whether we just didn't have the hard frosts this year. I suspect we didn't. They're calling a long dry summer and that doesn't surprise me at all. They're also calling a hard winter in the US. Looks like we are in for some global struggling - its a real worry. However, a lot of our trees have their roots down into the water way below, and they're providing shade for the other trees, so with a bit of water wise gardening we should be okay.

image.png

The raspberry rows are now mulched and fertilised and weeded - I put a drip line under the straw as we lost a few last year as I didn't water them much. This summer is meant to be a hot one, so it's ALL about mulching. On the weekend just gone, we did that whole area of the garden, weeding and top dressing quinces, a japanese plum and the apricot, as well as fertilised the olives with well rotted chook manure from up the road. The gum tree to the left has a bee hive under it, but there's no sign of the bees - must ring our bee keeper to come round and smoke a spliff and tell us why the bees left us.

image.png

The lemon and lime also survived the frost - the microclimate of artichokes helped I think. We're going to have so many artichokes and I'm excited about preserving them. The pink blossom is the nectarine. The pear and plum blossoms are also out, but the birch tree and the oak are tardy with their leaves - they usually are. The crapapple has beautiful dark purple flowers - I love her.

image.png

I'll leave this for now, as I'm going to be totally spamming you with garden updates over the next few months. Hope you've enjoyed this update - @simplymike started an awesome hashtag called #gardenjournal2018. A great way to connect with other gardeners and to keep a log of what's going on in your magical gardens. Go check it out - it's totally inspiring. Oh, and @simplymike - I bought those cucamelon seeds, so am going to get on that this weekend too!

I totally love our garden - it's a way of resisting the terror of supermarkets, chemical sprays on your food, food miles and production pollution, and gives us a real independence. I'm sure we could do a helluva lot more if we didn't have the committments of work, but we're doing alright. Being out in it in Spring is pure joy.

Oh, and this is the first time I've used the GHSC banner on my posts - its damn pretty and those guys are a pretty amazing collective. I kinda wish we had a local Australian one as we're doing different things in different parts of the world, but I do like the good folk there and learn a lot from them. Thanks for being amazing, GHSC.

Lots of Spring Vibes to All of You, No Matter the Season!



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

image.png

Sort:  

happy spring! Here we are enjoying the last summer, but it's still quite warm in north italy where I am atm :)

Thankyou. I heard you've had quite the heat!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's so cool you are posting spring posts as we go into early autumn here in new England. Almost like having 2 springs a year... Liked the next to the last photo, so very spring like.

Did you listen to the birds @goldenoakfarm?

I have a hard time with videos on my old computer, so most of the time I don't try. But I will go back and give it a try...

It played! Such a very spring like sound, even if they had an Australian accent. :))

He he Aussie birds! I really wanted you to hear it as its so LOVELY!

Posted using Partiko Android

You caught it beautifully, it sounded sooo like spring!

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hope you've enjoyed a good few days my friend, I've been away visiting some friends and walking lots :) Beautiful post, we're heading into winter so it's lovely to see your garden blooming and full of the promise of spring. What a beautiful garden you have .. thank you for sharing!!

It's crazy how you are heading into spring and I'm heading into autumn, crazy wonderful really, thank you for the bird song it was lovely to listen to as I read your post and loving your garden and yes I am sure the soil loves you for all the mulching. Fun enough there were lots of bees round mine today, kept flying into the truck. Happy spring beautiful and looking forward to move updates on your garden xxx

Did you glimpse the little.honeyeaters? There must have been 20 in that bush
Beautiful. Our bees in the hive seem to have disappeared... must get the beekeeper in!! I get so excited over the bees.. @senorcoconut you aren't the only one!! Why would the bees fly into the truck lol, oh you mean INSIDE it? I had a vision of kamikaze bees!!! They must be coming in to say hello.

Posted using Partiko Android

What a gorgeous homestead! Thank you for taking us on this journey!!

Thankyou!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Love the sound of the birds and I could just feel your excitement with spring coming, awoke that feeling in me for springtime. How fortunate you can grow all those fruit trees and the artichokes - lucky you! Thanks for sharing and I look forward to seeing how your garden unfolds in the spring.

Happy Spring time @riverflows - so pretty to see things blossoming and waking up where you are. Having spend the last 10 years in NZ, I am missing this time of year there, due to being in Ireland just now. So it's a joy to see what your'e nurturing in your piece of paradise 🌱 Thanks so much for sharing 💛

Thanks @maryjanenewman! Ten years! Why did you leave? I felt the same all summer seeing pictures of the UK.. the world is large and sadly we can't just pop to our other heart homes!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hoooooooooooooooooo yeah baby, is Spring in Aus very windy too?

Here it's insane, the NE winds are coming full force. I knew I should've gone up the cost during the winter with the SW pushing me up, if I decide to do it now it'll be hard.

Oh yes August going into September can be quite windy. The wind should come down soon though I hope.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @riverflows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.708 which ranks you at #4983 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 597 contributions, your post is ranked at #166.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78