Garden Journal Update: 🌳Early May 2018🌱

It has been so freaking good to get in the garden today. We've both been so ill we've not been able to move much, and even today we're dizzy and puffed and not our usual selves. However, the feeling is that if we get moving then we'll be okay.

Hanging out with the Frogs

I did feel immediately blessed when I started sowing some snowpea (mangetout) seeds and uncovered one of our garden residents. We have tons of frogs here, and it's one of the reasons we bought the property, as we figured that if frogs live here, the earth must be fairly healthy!


20180505_102610.jpg

If only I could employ them to write steemposts for me.




The garden path is coming along nicely.

I've been waiting a few years for this path, and it's going to make such a difference to my life!


Whilst Jim was mixing the cement, I was getting down to the constant weeding, plus planting some more seedlings. I've planted more beetroot because I didn't have enough to pickle last year, which was stupid as I love pickled beetroot in summer vege, plus it's another free food when it's too hot to grow much in the summer.

Some other plantings:

More swede as I'm looking forward to their buttery goodness in the winter months
Transplanted some oregano along the border of the patch - bees love it in the spring!
Transplanted some self seeded fennel
Threw some rocket seeds in
Transplanted some self seeded lettuce
Sowed kohlrabi, leek and purple sprouting broccoli seeds

The other rows of broccoli are doing great in this warmish Autumn weather - I know I'm going to have so much broccoli in a few months I'll be giving it away.



Ialso planted red spring onions on top of more spring onions, as I'm sick of bloody paying for them - though they are cheap, Jamie can't eat proper onions so we go through a lot. @simplymike wrote a great post this week about growing food from scraps - check it out.

The garlic is popping up everywhere, so I've been transplanting it to better spots. Plus, I'm pre-empting the weeds a bit this year as garlic isn't so keen on them.

I'm also eyeing off the compost area and my mini garden shed made out of an apple crate. It's an absolute embarrassment. We're going to pave around there once the middle path is done. Also, I have to sort out my seeds - what a mess. Well, not everything can be perfect can it? Please don't judge me...

Also started some more comfrey tea for fertiliser, including throwing some broad leaf weeds in there and a few handfuls of alpaca poo. I also top dressed the rhubarb with some compost and alpaca poo too. Lucky we have an alpaca farm around the corner - that stuff is gold. I threw some links in to comfrey in my last garden journal, check it out - I'm a comfrey pusher for sure.


What's going on in your gardens? Is there any other Victorians (Australia Victorians!) on the blockchain planting at this time of the year? We need an Australian homesteader tag!! Any suggestions?

The Garden Journal Challenge 2018

@simplymike had the great idea of starting a steemit garden journal and you can read about his challenge here (https://steemit.com/gardening/@simplymike/steemit-community-garden-journal-challenge-with-steem-bounty
image.png)

He suggests that we take pictures about what we've been doing, showcase the photos and talk about it a little, and post with the tag #gardenjournal2018 , then pop over to his post and pop your link there. That way we can see what other folk are up to as well. It's a lovely idea - are you in?

I'd love to see your #gardenjournal posts, so let me know if you've written one, and feel free to tag me.


B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

riverflows2.png

Sort:  

Frogs are ment to be a sign of good health in the aera.

Looks really good. Glad you felt better once outside.
Forgive me if this is a stupid question, but isn’t winter coming in Australia?

I’d loved to get on with our veggie patch and grow some snowpeas. Just finding a spot for it. And frogs! Always good to see frogs, from my reading previously, they are indicative of a good environment. :)

Oh man, the FROGS!! Yes, it's why we bought the property - there were frogs and a lake right at the bottom (well, a big clear dam more like) full of lilypads and frogs and we were like, yep, if the frogs like it, so do we. And that was a good punt as the soil is good and all we had to do is add more organic matter and things would grow well. They do give me a fright when I uncover them though!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 1.58% upvote!
I was summoned by @riverflows. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Love gardens and frogs. I have gardens too. Thanks for sharing. May your river flow more and more.

What a lovely comment @joeyarnoldvn !!! Have you steemed about your gardens? Popping over to see now!

Yeah, I have steemed my gardens a few times and will try to share more when I can.

Thanks @simplymike !!! Not a stupid question. We live south of Melbourne. By May we should get a little colder and some more rain but that doesn't make too much difference until late Winter when we get frost. Even so, never snow. So this time of year is great for brassicas and root vegies to get them going and I will successive plant for a while yet. Things will slow down a bit but that's good for beetroot and garlic will.come along nicely til December. I hope that answers your question. We actually garden more between Easter and Christmas as the weather isn't.too hot and we prepare the soil and mulch etc etc etc ready.for inevitable.heat

I love it Kylie, the whole idea of having a more sustainable life is what I seek the most these days. It's so dumb living at an appartment (the way I live atm)

I've had this conversation earlier today with my dad, we have a ranch 2 hours from here, and the discussion was around the supermarket prices in the city, and how we can basically produce everything we need! Just require a little work and care.

I think I'll close my school schedule for a week to go to the ranch and write about what we have there.

Would love to hear about the ranch!!!!!! Xxx

you comfrey pusher you!! and alpaca poo! lucky you!
hope you two feel better; your gardens feel thriving and abundant and wishing you all the best :)

I'm feeling heaps better now. Jamie took the day of work to recover and ended up levelling the rest of path all the way to my compost, and putting a layrr of sand down ready for more pavers. Man, I'm going to be able to walk to the compost in STILETTOS!! As if I would haha... but I could!!!!

Hehe :) A video of that please :)

Oh god... it would be a disaster...

I could stare into that broccoli for ages. Broccoli hypnosis...

I am so happy for you and that path. It gives me ideas about proper paths in my garden.

I know it was tripping me out... you could do it and sing Puff the Magic Broccoli
..

Hahaha! Let's not get that started in my head.

Oh, that frog. I love its eyes.

Frogs are AWESOME... I think it was a little miffed to be uncovered though haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78