🍅 May 2018 Gardening Journal - WizStead Post #22

Welcome to my Garden Journal.
Let's see how the garden looks at the end of May 2018.
Garden Journal Wiz 2018.jpg

May Gardening Posts

In case you missed them:

End of May pics

This is my new raised bed.

  • 4 of 6 cabbage survived
  • 5 of 6 broccoli - Harvested and eaten
    Only found 1 worm in the heads this year. That's a record for me!
    • Ate the broccoli (not the worm haha) mostly raw with ranch dip.
      Cooked one head with cheese sauce.
    • I do have quite a few side sprouts to harvest probably tonight.
      and just enough ranch dip left to finish it off.
  • 1 of 6 cauliflower
  • A variety of onions in between.

IMG_20180531_193656899_HDR.jpg

Beets to fill in where the plants didn't make it...
IMG_20180531_193305139.jpg

Update to the 3 sisters

Corn, pole beans, squash and melons = synergy
Silver Queen is the variety I did NOT have to replant. The others didn't germinate due to using old old old seed. The other 2 varieties are replanted.
Trixie has inspected and this passed with flying colors.
IMG_20180531_192017833.jpg

A few of the pole beans have sprouted.

IMG_20180531_192056595.jpg

I had to replant the Sugar Baby watermelons. Hale's Best cantaloupe, big watermelons, butternut squash and cushaw squash have all sprouted.

IMG_20180531_192027840.jpg

I've only found this bug in my garden so far.
(He's squished now...)
IMG_20180531_192221329.jpg

Flowers and Shrubs

Transplanted Veronica made it.
IMG_20180531_191305493.jpg

1 of 2 transplanted coreopsis (potentilla) made it.
IMG_20180531_191311966.jpg

Both groundcover roses survived the move.
IMG_20180531_191244456.jpg

A new daylily.
IMG_20180531_191253764.jpg

Other stuff

  • Maters (tomatoes), taters(potatoes) and peppers all doing good.
    • Had to replant a few maters that didn't survive our mini-drought.
    • Taters have blossoms.
    • Got a few more peppers since the bunny rabbits ate the leaves of them. But 10 of the 12 have survived and are growing again.
  • My clematis vines have disappeared. I may have to get replacements...
  • I got 2 rose of sharon bushes.
  • Strawberries and asparagus looking good.
    • Not the strawberries in the grow bag. ::rolling eyes:: Watered twice a day and they still didn't make it!

Hope you enjoyed!
Thanks for stopping by!

About the challenge

@simplymike started this last month...

look.gif

Dustsweeper Footer 2 use this one.png
Meaning you can't
waste your vote

look.gif

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
veteran-60.jpg
Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-13T18:51:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 111.20/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.23 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Awesome. Love how everything is neatly mulched. What's a Sharon... is that persimmon?

Posted using Partiko Android

I gotta mulch. Much too lazy to weed! haha

Rose of Sharon is a wonderful tall (8') shrub that blooms summer all the way until winter.
Here's the varieties I got

Thanks for your garden update, @wizardave. Glad to see a lot of your planrs survived.

I keep wondering what you did to save your garden from being eaten by caterpillars? Since you only found one, you must have a secret trick... :0)

I'm a bit amazed I haven't seen more bugs. This was quite grown up with scrub brush before it was bulldozed. Hadn't been touched for about 20 years. I do have lots of weeds, but few bugs. ::shrug:: just lucky I guess.

  • I have kept the cabbage, broccoli and cauliflower well covered with sevin dust...

I assume sevin dust is some kind of rock dust (can’t find the proper translation for what I mean, an example is lava dust)?
I’ve been recommending it to people as a good way to save cabbages from being eaten, but I haven’t been applying it myself. It has rained so often this last week, that it would simply rain off again and again every day...

Thanks for the question. It's always too easy to ASSume products we use are available everywhere under the same name. haha

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carbaryl

There appears to be quite a bit of scare hype on the net about it. I've used it for decades and found it to be one of the safest insecticides. I even powder the dogs with it if they get too many ticks. Of course, I always rinse well when harvesting. It is quite effective.

Carbaryl
Carbaryl (1-naphthyl methylcarbamate) is a chemical in the carbamate family used chiefly as an insecticide. It is a white crystalline solid commonly sold under the brand name Sevin, a trademark of the Bayer Company. Union Carbide discovered carbaryl and introduced it commercially in 1958. Bayer purchased Aventis CropScience in 2002, a company that included Union Carbide pesticide operations.

You just planted 0.16 tree(s)!


Thanks to @wizardave

We have planted already 3622.96 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22718.75
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00