Community Garden Journal Challenge 10 (February)

in #gardenjournal20195 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Community Garden Journal Challenge 10 (February)


It's Beginning to Look a Lot Like Tomatoes..!


Imgur


Even though we're in the middle of summer in Australia, the garden seems a little drab at the moment. Due to the dry heat that we experience in Canberra, I imagine the ground is probably very, very dry and on top of that, I also have very hydrophobic soil (or so I'm told).

So, what have I been doing in my garden over February?

Well, as I mentioned the summer heat is very intense so being outdoors during... well, daylight hours, is pretty uncomfortable unless you're swimming, of course. My solution to avoiding the sun was indoor planting and sowing some seeds that I've been wanting to sprout for a while now. So, not much to report this month but I wanted to share my latest additions to the garden.

Zygocactus (Schlumbergera truncata)

The first plant of interest is my Zygocactus who lives on my kitchen window sill. I'm not sure but I think this plant came from Woolworths and I've never really have much luck with their plant stock, it seems they don't like being taken out of their air-conditioned environment and usually wilt fairly quickly.

TBH, I wasn't sure it would survive, so I'm extra grateful that after such a long struggle, I'm finally seeing some new growth and about four to five new leaves, hope has now been restored.


Imgur

Some very interesting shapes in these leaves.


Tomatoes.

During February, I also sowed some new seeds into pots and again, after many weeks of wondering, some them have finally sprouted with new little seedlings.

In the first pot, I've got some new tomato plants that were started from a left-over tomato that I sliced and placed in soil. About a week ago, the first sprouts emerged and at the time, I was convinced they were probably just weeds.

Today I noticed that the second stage of leaves have grown in and they have a distinct tomato-y look to them. Needless to say, I will be really pleased if I'm able to grow new tomatoes from my own tomato scraps.


Imgur

I can't believe there's so many seedlings.


Nasturtium and A Mystery

The following photo shows some flower seeds that have sprouted and while I know the one on the right is a Nasturtium, the one on the left is a complete mystery. My initial thought was it's the Anemone that I planted weeks ago, however due to the shape of the leaves, now I'm not so sure.

At the same time I planted the tomatoes, I also planted a capsicum (green pepper?) so maybe it's a capsicum plant but I'm almost sure I didn't plant it in that pot, so idk.

Only time will tell so I guess I'll just have to wait to find out for sure.


Imgur

I think the Nasturtium (right) would prefer a little more shade..!


This post is my submission to Community Garden Journal Challenge 10 - February hosted by @simplymike.

If you would like to join or support the Community Garden Challenge, please refer to the original post for more information.

Line

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!

Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.


Imgur

Line

To make your own steemitboard footer, check out this post by @arcange

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

Lol, labeling is such a usefult thing to do.
2 years ago, I got myself 2 seedlings from 2 exotic plants i didn't know at the time: Chayote and Kiwano. When I planted them into their definitive space,I forgot to put the labels pack in place, so I litterally had to wait until they started to grow fruit to be able to find out which was which.

I really should get my tomatoes started, but for some reason, I can't bring myself to it. Maybe today will be the day :0)

Thanks for joining the contest!

Yes, very useful indeed. When I planted them in different pots I was sure I would remember which was which... lol. But thank you again, for running the contest.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 151 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I'll from the bottom photo left plant reminds me also young birch tree.
Also I want to ask you do you always plant tomatos so close to each other? I just put my seeds in ground 5days ago. But they are already started to look out from ground. And this zygocactus have you ever saw how it blossom. I remember when I studied in university there were several plants at the windows in classes and they are blossomed excellent from the begining of December till the end of month. So far we called them Decembrists :)

Posted using Partiko Android

You could be right about the Birch tree as I get lots of seeds that blow in with the wind and the leaves didn't really match anything that I've planted.

For the tomatoes, I just sliced a tomato from the kitchen and planted the slice in the soil but after seeing how many have sprouted, I think I could have cut the slice into four pieces and planted them in four separate pots. It's a shame but I will have to thin out a lot of them.

And yes, the zygocactus does have beautiful flowers, don't they? I have seen them before but not for many years. I remember that they come in a variety of colors but since mine hasn't blossomed yet, I'm eagerly waiting to see what color the flowers are. It's almost like waiting to see if your baby is a boy or a girl.

Thanks for your comment and I hope to see photos of your tomatoes too.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by alphaccino.art from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29