Garden Update - May 2019steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardenjournal20195 years ago

My garden in May 2019

my garden.png
Another month passed by and it's time for an update on my garden. I must confess that I'm not a passionate writer and it usually takes me days to create a decent post, but it sure is a nice training, so I try my best to keep this a little bit entertaining for you fellow steemians.

Unlike April which was incredibly warm and sunny this year, May turned out to be very cold and rainy. The rain sure was desperately needed but some plants were kinda hurt by those wheater escapades and don't look as healthy as I would like to see them.

Nevertheless there is plenty going on in the garden and I took lots of pictures for my documentations.

Plants are incredible!

If you stumpled across my last gardenjournal, you might remember my sweet potatoe plant that got a hard beating a couple of times and was looking pretty bad. Pretty dead to be precise.
Well, she just came back!
IMG_20190531_183856335_HDR.jpg
Wanna see more amazing plant resurrections?
I tossed some potatoe peelings on the compost for them to rot and instead they decided to grow little potatoe plants all over the place:
IMG_20190518_164253274.jpg

Animals are incredible, too!

Last fall I had a little 'accident' while cutting some trees. Poor snail was hidin' in da bushes and got caught in the loppers.
IMG_20181020_174425381_HDR.jpg
Imagine my surprise when I found her still hanging around in my garden - life and kicking!
Apparently she is not that mad at me after all.
IMG_20190521_171402375.jpg
In contrary to certain slugs, which are rotten bastards from hell, most snails are actually pretty useful animals that are primarely eating weeds like dandelion or dead plants.
In order to save those guys I rarely use slug pellets and collect them by hand instead, but this early in the year whole plants can be exterminated by those slime monsters and the occasional use of chemistry is needed to keep your sanity.
IMG_20190509_193736920.jpg

Birbs are another very beneficial species as they eat annnoying insects and deliver calming noises. Unfortunately we had very little luck with our nesting boxes for a couple of years now. Either the baby birds died from cold weather or the adult birds were slaughtered by cats. This year they built their fluffy nest and were never to be seen again...

Mrs. Bumblebee was quite happy about this opportunity and decided to use the abondoned house for herself. You can't see much but a little tunnel that they use to crawl under the moss. They rarely leave or enter the house, so I can't get any footage, but once you touch the nest you can hear them buzzing.
Nothing beats a bees nest in your garden!
IMG_20190528_192554524.jpg

The first harvests

This is the reason we go through all the hassle of maintaining a garden - the yummy results!
Three years after planting I can finally harvest my green asparagus:
There are 7 adult plants in my garden of which 5 can acutally be harvested and I get just the right amount for 2 servings every 2-3 days. For some reason they seem to become woody very fast, though.
IMG_20190419_154029602.jpg

Way faster harvests can be achieved with radish. They take nothing more than a month from planting to plate and are one of my favorite summer snacks. The hardest part is to keep sowing new plants every week to maintain a steady supply, which I forgot during the bad weather period and now I'm running out...
IMG_20190531_184159412.jpg

Cold frame

Plants that grow indoors are not used to wind and sunlight and it's very hard to keep a healthy temperature to light balance. In order to solve that issue, I usually set up a primitive cold frame to keep my plants outside as early as possible and make them grow faster. Look at how much faster and healthier the cabbage grows in a greenhouse environment! Therefore I figured I need to set up something more professional - it's definately worth it.
First note on next years' to-do list:

  • build a green house

The red one was growing inside the cold frame while the green one was not. Quite the difference indeed:

IMG_20190528_175102419.jpg
IMG_20190528_175124254_HDR.jpg

Project of the Year

In my last gardenjournal you already got a glimpse of my most favorite garden project of this season - the aquaponic system.
The symbiosis of plants and animals and the ability to use your available space much more efficiently, makes it an incredibly amazing concept. Plus - no more watering needed!
To be fair, my setup is not very professional and certainly not optimal but for me it's more an experiment and foundation for a possible aquaponic project 2020.
For the most time this year I only had a little thyme plant and no fish in my system but as we are pretty safe from frost now, I invited the first inhabitants.
Say hello to my fishies!
IMG_20190516_113354313_HDR.jpg

I'm officially a pet owner now.

The little fellas are still very shy so it's hard to get a nice shot but they are slowly getting used to me.

In my opinion the aspect of fish food is essential for successfull aquaponics. Whatever you feed those fish will eventually be eaten by you. Therefore I try to provide them a varied and healthy diet.
What that means is essentially me hunting for all kinds of insects all around the garden. There are plenty of woodlouse, gnats and other bugs that are themselfs very well fed and thus perfect for the fish.
Additionally I grow a colony of mealworms that are very high in fat and protein. A nice addition to the menue would be something like duckweed which can probably be found somewhere in a local pond. I definately need to look around for those.

Plant-wise I started with mint, different species of strawberries, basil, lettuce and tomatoes. Some of the first plants are already developing lots of roots. A sign of happy plants.

aquaponics.png

I can't wait to see the results and eat my first aquaponic veggies!
See you again for my June garden update. Until then enjoy some more pictures of my garden:

As my ginger died over the winter I needed to grow a new plant. I also found come tumaric roots and decided to grow one of these as well. Looking quite nice already!
IMG_20190529_195759598.jpg
IMG_20190529_195751639.jpg

The fails

No garden update without a fail. For some reason most of my pepper plants suddenly stopped growing alltogether while others are growing fine. Maybe the seeds were too old?
IMG_20190506_184621748_HDR.jpg
For more garden related Posts check out @simplymike and all the contributors to her awesome #gardenjournal! Also @sustainablelivin is hosting a very cool weekly #gardencorner.

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@simplymike/steemit-community-garden-journal-challenge-may-2019-with-steem-bounty
https://steemit.com/gardening/@sustainablelivin/sustainablelivin-1559358544793-garden-corner-9

Not yet using partiko for a more convenient steemit expirience and free upvotes? Check it out and feel free to use my referral link:
https://partiko.app/referral/exator

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for joining the SteemIt Community Garden Challenge.
Awesome post. I admire you had the patience to grow asparagus. I never tried, just because it takes so long before you can harvest.

I'm so jealous at the pipes you've put your strawberries in. That's definitely a project for next year.

And the peppers... I had the same thing: some have grown into beautiful plants, while other (same seeds from the same package, grown in the same propagator) simply refuse to grow.

I'm curious on how the strawberries turn out. The big one has grown plenty roots but it seems a bit stuck. Guess I need to feed my fish more :D

Posted using Partiko Android

😆 Let me know if that works lol

My heart is aching a bit to see the slug. I am always protecting them, no mapper what. If i come across one outside, always place them in a safe place so people don't step on them. It's just who I am.
Your asparagus looks wonderful. We have a garden but the soil is not suitable for growing asparagus, unfortunately.
I don't know why your peppers stopped growing but it's definitely not the seeds. if the seeds would be too old,they would not grow at all.

I am looking forward to seeing your hydroponic system and how it works. I have seen them before, but not exactly sure how they work. It is amazing that when you threw the plants away they start to grow and I have experienced that before. Nice post and I found it very interesting.

Good God, how much creativity and effort you put! I love gardener jobs, they are fabulous, I am very happy after this.

Hi exator,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Does it take so long to grow asparagus? I didn't know that you can't harvest them the first years of planting. That's a bummer :)

I'm happy for your sweet potato :) It must feel so good when you see it growing well even though you were worried about it.

And that snail seems to be a tough cookie :) You should feed it well to say I'm sorry :)

Your aquaponic garden looks great! I hope you'll have some nice harvest :)

Thank you for sharing and have a lovely day!

Well, your technically cutting off the whole plant over and over, so it's a good idea to give it some time to gain strength. It's perfectly fine to snack a few spears from a younger plant tho.

Stay tuned for the June update ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

What an amazing post. Beautiful garden, ncredible ideas and projects.
It is great that you are documenting everything.
That story of the snail. That was awesome. WHat are are odds!
I admire your patience and dedication to even take care not to harm this little creatures.
The aquaponic veggie project looks very promising.
As for your first crop, what can I say, they look so healthy, fresh, and yummy.
Congratulations on a work well done.
Very inspiring

No wonder you need a few days to get a post together! This is fantastic and I am very happy that you got a curie vote for it!!

hi @exator
I really like your post! great job but great satisfaction !! I envy you a little, I don't think I could have as much patience as you !! too strong the potato that is also born on the stone, nature knows roads unknown to us !! and that snail ??? awesome !! it is fake and you put it there to amaze us :-))
congratulations on the curie vote and thanks for sharing with us

The snail is obviously a paid actor :D

Posted using Partiko Android

ah ah fantastic!! ;-))

In the immortal words of Jeff Goldblum "Life, uh, finds a way", your garden and everything in it blew my mind, the snail and the bumblebees are an example of resilience! I love that your asparagus and radish are growing so strong and healthy as well as your aquaponic garden too, thanks for sharing!


This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted in about 12 to 24 hours on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in a reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@elfranz#3985). A personal perspective from the author add great value and makes it so much fun!

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Franz (@curie curator)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76