Bankstown Gem & Mineral Expo 2019

in #gems5 years ago

Adobe_Post_20190603_133826.png

It's been a while since we've been to a gem show. Personally I've been out of it spiritually wise and haven't been interested in crystals but it was Hubby's birthday last week and even though he went an got himself some crystals already I knew he'd want to go.

This was us late Friday night discussing whether or not we should go and trek out to Bankstown on Saturday morning.

20190601_014106.jpg

We got both our tumbled stones collections out to see what we were missing or needed. After some time it boiled down to whether or not I can wake up early enough since our double bed was getting picked up on Saturday arvo and we needed to be back home at 3pm.

I felt Hubby get up and knew he was keen and as must as I wanted to get up with him, my body just said no and I went back to sleep.

I eventually woke up with a back rub and a mug of bone broth.

Ya. He was keen to go fo sure.

So we made the hour something trip down the mountain. A brave trip from my perspective since I've got budgie bladder but we were there before I knew it, largely thanks to the nap I had in the car.

The Gem Expo!

After paying our entrance fee of $7 each and filling in our lucky door prize entries we walked in and immediately my eyes were drawn to this amazing lamp.

PhotoEditor_20190603_133619454.jpg

Actually this whole section was my absolute favourite. They had the nicest crystals at reasonable prices and the price difference became more apparent as we walked around.

They had amethyst caves.
20190603_133026.jpg

Amethyst slabs, that glorious celestite cave.
20190603_133132.jpg

Here's a closer look at the celestite cave.
20190603_133216.jpg

Look inside. 😍😍😍
20190601_112015.jpg

These guys are actually my favourite gem show sellers. I pretty much go just to see if they have anything new. Most of my specimen collection came from them.

20190601_112137.jpg

This time around I was attracted to the palm stones. They were big, bold and beautiful and something I didn't have.

20190601_112953.jpg

Our rare tumbled stones supplier was also there which was the main reason Hubby wanted to go as I had crystals from her that he didnt get last time.

20190601_115117.jpg

20190601_114904.jpg

Variety wise she had the most. Price wise she was the most expensive, we actually think her prices have gone up since we last saw her which made me very glad that I bought everything I wanted from her 2 years ago.

While hubby was looking for tumbleds I decided to go for a wonder and see what everyone else had.

20190603_132729.jpg

Lovely carved pieces.

20190603_132646.jpg

20190603_132816.jpg

20190603_132752.jpg

20190603_133116.jpg

Polished fluorite.

20190603_132632.jpg

The reason I decided to go...
Labradorites!! 😍😍😍

20190603_132613.jpg

One of the first crystals I was ever drawn to was labradorite. I felt it really helped me get on the "train" and improve my connection but it's been a while since I've picked it up.

Recently though it's been calling out to me and if there's one thing I have actually worked on it's listening to my gut instincts and following whatever inklings and leads that may come up and I was determined to come home with one.

20190603_132532.jpg

One of the things I love about labradorites are the flashes of colour when they're polished and viewed at a certain angle.

20190603_132909.jpg

I feel like it's a crystal that reminds us not to judge anything at first glance because unpolished and raw, it really doesn't look like much, but once it's been given some love it shines. It also has some great metaphysical properties too.

Over all it was a pretty good expo!

There were a few items I wish I got but that's ok there's going to be another show in 2 weeks time lol

So!! What did we end up getting?

That's for tomorrow's post! 😉


bearone.png

MEMBEROFS.png

Team Australia Steem Philippines Steem Silver Gold Qurator Natural Medicine Snbox Alpha

Sort:  

Yay, I'm glad you went. Some nice stuff there for sure. I like labradorites too. So pretty.

I'm glad I went too! Got some goodies!! Was looking for something for you and your akashic records journey but they didnt have it 😭 Just means we gotta go to the next show in two weeks lol

How gorgeous are the labradorites right? You found a crystal shop yet?

Posted using Partiko Android

There are certain things that I really miss about Sydney and markets would be one of them, some very interesting items there.

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.684 which ranks you at #1608 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 6 places in the last three days (old rank 1614).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #66.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @bearone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 44000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78