Gender Makes Writing Exhausting

in #gender6 years ago (edited)

This is probably ill advised but my hands are already on the keyboard and the bible mentioned something about never letting go of the plough once your fists are wrapped around the cold metal leash. So here goes nothing.

Gender. That word that peaks the interest of the majority of contemporary and socio-politico commentators because, well, Chimamanda Adichie is just about guaranteed to have a problem with males opening doors for their dates or “treating” ladies as ladies.

Sorry no sorry. My headache this morning is the way gender messes with one’s mind during the course of typing away a reply, post or latest scientific paper that explains the math that is making the crypto market bleed like a virgin. Dials haejin. “What’s up bro? How’s it going?”

A classic example of this morning’s bone is the tendency to backtrack after writing “him” to edit it to “him/her”. Because although we are becoming very conscious of the debate of inclusiveness, it is messing with us except it’s just me. Maybe I am hearing those great voices on the wall.

Writing was never my hobby for a long time but since life forced me to learn the art of copywriting articles and sending them to Fiver middle men who were generous enough to pay me $1 per 1000 words, the dream of being the next Wole Soyinka has danced around my head ever since.

Far-fetched. I wish to be read even when I am gone.

Although reluctant at first, I have fallen in love with expressing what I feel about the world through words. This is why I am asking if there is anything that can be done about this gender placement. The worst thing about writing is editing on the go.

Can we create words that rhyme with both genders? “Human beings” and “people” have a way of sounding overly tedious. Instead of deciding if to use “male/female” can we please go with “ale”? Cutting out “he/she” in favour of “E” does even things out for the rest of mankind no lie. For the “him/her” dilemma, how about “H”? Let the reader complete the interpretation himself. Sorry, I meant “herself”. Or is it? You know what? Let the reader complete the interpretation h-self!

whew!

Rolling Out Them Examples

1 Any ale who wishes to marry must be ready for a life time of misery.
Admit it. It sounds less stressful

2 Any child who wants to escape the rot of bullies must toughen up h-self.
Did I have to crack my head so much to find out if it was John or Mary?

3 I heard Whatsup just climbed to reputation 70. Is E a whale?
It took Schaentajaer's - i can't spell this dude's name - article for me to discover E was a she after knowing her for months. It also took the intervention of the universe for Idikuci not to send me his dick pic after thinking I was a female thanks to my old sexy avatar.

4 Who is your Mathematics teacher? I would love to meet H.
Saves you the stress of apologizing after Miss Sandra Bell takes offence that you’d assume all Mathematics teachers were male.

And so on and so forth.

Let the cosmos direct the eyes of they who are in charge of this language to this article and may the discussion and considerations start in earnest.

Peace.




Image is from pixabay.com

Sort:  

We've all been thinking it, you've put it into words!

1000 jerry banfield coins for me then!

I'll simply use the term fucker(s) for everyone. Try it. It is universal.

When you have to guess a baby's gender.

Fuckers a bonny little fucker isn't fucker?

Who is your Mathematics teacher? I would love to meet the fucker.

Genius!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02