' Sokoyokoto' and 'Ebolo' these are some of the best vegetables from my frontyard garden. (agriculture)

in #genesisproject6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

I want to tell you this and I am for real that is the secret that has brought me to the is far . I was never an animal frek before now but when I went into farming proper, I mean when I have the privilege to mingle with the Agriculturist my eyes we're oped to many things both animals and plant. I discovered many types of vegetables that are planted in my area and farm settings because I stayed around the northern part of Nigeria and hence there were some specific varieties of plant that are grown but I can also tell you this, with experiment shown few months ago, you can plant some other vegetables to accomplish great food for the family be it backyard or frontyard farming. On this page today I will show you some of the vegetables grown with some special treatment.

WHAT ARE THE TREATMENT

First and foremost I would like to tell you here that there are some soil treatment that boost soil fertility and makes vegetables grow well and mature early than you think.

  • Manure : Here I mean both animal manure, plant or animal dunk. I noticed one thing that has not been happening on my vegetable farm. I planted one particular type of vegetable called the Ebolo.

IMG_20180601_185818.jpg

  • THE EBOLO

The tender and succulent leaves and stems of ebolo are mucilaginous and are used as a vegetable in soups and stews, especially in West and Central Africa. ... It is especially popular in south-western Nigeria, from where the originally Yoruba name 'ebolo' derives.

  • Its Physical Properties.
  1. upper part of flowering and fruiting plant.
  2. flower.
  3. fruit with pappus.
  4. fruit without pappus.

Uses :

These are my own ways to use it. The tender and succulent leaves and stems of ebolo are all used as a vegetable in soups and stews, I especially love the soup cooked with Ebolo, the Aroma it gives is always awesome. It is much appreciated for its special flavour, which is sharp but not bitter. It taste in soup is never bitter at all I can testify to it 100% . It is especially popular in south-western Nigeria, from where the originally Yoruba name ‘ebolo’ derives. Here the leaves are lightly blanched, excess water is drained off, because naturally all vegetables possess Much water but by draning the water with sieve is the best and the leaves are then cooked and ganish with peppers, onions, tomatoes, melon and sometimes fish or meat to make soups and stews.
There was a time When we used the animal dunk ( rabbit droppings and poultry droppings) we both used this together and the result was perfect. I have been trying to plant this type of vegetable for many months but when I applied another method of fertility treatment it came out well and grew very well with constant wetting. So what I deduced from this is that it is very possible to plant vegetables that doesn't grow in your visinity or area if you are determined. Nothing is impossible.

Here are some other vegetable varieties planted in my front yard. Have a look.

IMG_20180601_185811.jpg

Efo Shoko ;

The English Name: Lagos Spinach
The Local Name: Shokoyokoto (Yoruba)

The Yoruba’s call it “sokoyokoto”, to emphasize the esteem in which the vegetable-plant is held ‘Sokoyokoto” means “make husband fat”

IMG_20180601_190017.jpg

IMG_20180601_190031.jpg

IMG_20180601_190154.jpg

IMG_20180601_185957.jpg

IMG_20180601_185828.jpg

These are my favorite planted vegetables.

Thanks for reading

@pejugold

output_J9du6L.gif

DQmVmwajaSVn8sGMeSjyxHwF1hFecQ4U8NGfNCNPVx1WEPW.gif

Sort:  

Very good posts, good luck always in the esteem business

Thank you 😘

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78