I am that I am, therefore I am blessed

in #genocide6 years ago

Greetings Steemit...I am new here. A near and dear friend has been telling me all about this place. I finally decided to take the plunge and check it out.

I am a proud Blackfoot woman, a Nitsiitapi (translates to "real people") who is surviving on this planet despite all the obstacles life throws at me. I am discovering myself, now as an adult because as a younger person I was too tied up in trauma and I was deep in self-medicating myself to push back the abuse I suffered as a child. I left my homeland to live in a city called Calgary. I lived off rez 30 for plus years only to come back home with my pre-teen children to connect them to who they are and where they came from. I had no idea it would be this challenging. All the stuff I ran away from as a young mother were waiting for me. What a bitter sweet journey it has been so far.

A beautiful mess.

I am maneuvering through this thing called life with caution because now I can see how the world system is set up. We are a disposable society, where we are taught to depend on a government that sees us as profit. With the bad comes the good, but there is always that silver lining, you only need to find it. Be it a lesson or a blessing, I am grateful for everything.

Discover one woman's truth, take part in the discussion. Together we can create something amazing.

FB_IMG_1442251745969.jpg

Sort:  

@greenrockwoman, congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.05 vote!
Please take a moment to read this post regarding commenting and spam. (tl;dr - if you spam, you will be flagged!)

Thank you! I am grateful for your support and because I am just learning the ropes here I need all the help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25