See What I See: Peridot, Diopside, Milky Quartz

in #geology6 years ago

image

I am not a professional geologist. However I think what this mineral specimen is showing us is a grouping of:

  • Peridot (lighter green)
  • Diopside (darker green)
  • Milky Quartz (white)
  • and Iron Ore (rusty orange)

Here’s what the original piece looked like after I cleaned it using a ultrasonic cleaner and a waterpik cleaner.

(The later is a small appliance that is typically used to clean teeth with high pressure water. I have a small one, that is dedicated to cleaning anything that is interesting that I have plucked from the ground.)

image

I have used a pen to demonstrate the size of the specimen. With this perspective, you can see that the size of it, is relatively small.

I took all the close-up photos under a microscope using 40 times magnification.

See What I See: the details within the crystals.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Plant life growing in a small crevasse.

image

image

Underneath

image

It shines but all that glitters isn’t always gold.

However it could be...the stone was found in Eldorado, Ontario Canada.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...be prepared to pick things up off the ground as we go because you just never know what Mother Nature may gift to us. ;)

I hope that this collection of photographs brings you some joy. Crystals are mesmerizing, especially when they catch the light.

image

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

Beautiful photos, my friend, you did an excellent job and showed us magnificent samples of minerals, especially when they are enlarged, it's very beautiful. Well done! Thanks Rebecca

Oh I am happy that you were able to see these crystals. It is really amazing when you can look at them under magnification. You can just see way more sacred geometry in action. ;)

Nice find. Microscopic pics are really cool!. The plant life shows how instinctually, resilient nature is for survival...
I have a Idea...we could start the new Bre-x...
Call it Becca-x Ha!😂 except we use the proeeds to do good. And not get chucked from a helicopter.
Btw the peridot is a very perticular stone expecially to someone like myself! Funny you found and brought it home🤔

Hahaha! I like to see you firing on all cylinders Mr. @billmega.
I recognized your frequency preference...how could I not?
B06FDD63-5CA0-4CBE-87E1-BF8E9E11F023.jpeg

(I have seen the green intensity you surround yourself with.)

The crystals simply add another layer and amplify effects. (While I am at it, essential oils just like FECO, can be layered too and they amplify also.)
This is a stack: Quartz, Peridot and Moldavite (origin: somewhere past Orion’s Belt. Not joking.)
Plants, trees and all the animals know this.

The stone found me...it has shown me where “home” is.
This life is not a read-through. Your thoughts are close. Keep me from being thrown for a helicopter because there’s a lot of work to do at 111 Peridot lane. Lmfao!
111

I Really like Peridot Lane...I can feel you from here!
I do have a good Bre-X story for you. Here's the short... I wasn't trading professionally at the time, "just like now". I was just starting out. Licking envelopes as Fulfillment clerk. The buzz on the floor was Bre-x hit it big. I could not open a account. I was too young! So I begged a trader I knew, on the floor to "get me in". I hand wrote my own trade ticket and gave him my savings in cash $800. He signed and submitted the order, I got in well under $40. from there price very quickly took off. I needed the money at the time so I had my sell ticket ready as soon as the price hit $200. My order filled! I had 5x my money in a very short period. Nice!. We went to the front desk to clear in cash, oh yeah we could do that. He signed and handed me my cash less $1300... I was like WTF I can do math bro!. Taxes and trading fees kid. ;)... I was like Thanks dude... Fuck! now I have to learn taxes! and get licenced myself! etc...
Then the crash. almost every trader was trapped, No buys! everyone was pissed... Then they all heard Michael de Guzman had "fell" from a Helicopter...The next morning everyone on the floor was wearing "Bre-X helicopter crew" Ball caps, Pretty Harsh! but funny at the time! anyway... Including "my trader friend" who was leveraged in. :( I knew people had lost more money than they were willing to talk about.
I learn't two lessons very fast.

also check out the Huge Australian Gold Discovery announced today! beta hunt mine.
"the mother load" Pounds and pounds 15 million worth in 4 days. by a Canadian owned company who is in the middle of selling the mine. If so that's Crazy. Check it out.
Mary Poppins did think Bert was knida cool :)

We should all take a look at what a mother-load actually looks like...


90 kg nugget going on the auction block soon. Wild!!!

Crazy. Thanks for the vid. Can you imagine😲

Why yes, @billmega, I most certainly can.
Hahaha!
I wonder have you swept your chimney yet?
;)

😙 that was supposed to be a kissy face emoji. lol

and that’s lucky too. ;)

Little Girl
I am glad that nothing like that is around where I live.
Houses and homes would become obsolete.
I would want to be outside all the time looking.
It is more than fascinating.
It is captivating.
Makes one want to go and be there now.
Thank you

Francis

It’s really fun to find the stone because it means a good long walk in the woods before you can get to just the right spot for this particular cluster of minerals.
Then cleaning it to see it’s true colours....I have learned that this can truly be a surprise. ;)

I just wondered to see it how beautiful it is! Probably you have found something special at there.

It is very special @sheikh27! Rare to see one particular area hold so many diverse minerals and crystals.
I’m glad that you enjoyed seeing them. ;)

Oooh. That is a beat specimen. There's something to gaze at on all sides of it

No matter where you look on this sample of stone, there is something that is interesting and will catch your eye. The vibrant green colour is very attractive. ;)

Such amazing photos, and minerals and rocks! I will upvote and resteem!

Thank you @oldmangainz! I am glad you enjoyed a trip down the barrel of my microscope. Lol!
The microscopic world is a fascinating one because it gives us a different perspective!

Great post .. really enjoy rocks. glad you posted this.

Thank you. I am happy that you were able to catch a glimpse of these vibrant crystals @rebeccabe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74