For all the pink lovers

in #geology5 years ago

In my last post, I mentioned all the minerals I find in our back lapidary room. this is another pretty specimen I found.
20181030_104736 (3).jpg
It's actually a very small piece about 2 cm long. I magnified it a little with my phone to show the pretty pink feldspar crystals.
20181030_104751 (2).jpg

It is a tiny piece of pegmatite, which is a conglomerate of pink feldspar, mica, calcite, and hornblend.
20181030_104726 (2).jpg

When I place it under the stereoscope the pink is not well shown, but very unique and sharply formed crystals are seen.
20181030_104638 (2).jpg

The calcite crystals are not as well defined, but still pretty cool.
20181030_104446 (2).jpg
I love my stereoscope.

As per nikv's suggestion I am preparing to once again tackle the back room to organize and and properly store all the rocks and minerals in a manor in which I can have a decent inventory that I will not have to go exploring. Although that is fun in it's own way.

Sort:  

Exploring is great. Until you need something in a hurry that you know is in there.... somewhere.
Is it of volcanic origin?

I'm not sure, but I don't think so. New Mexico is a volcanic region that has at least three extinct volcanoes. There is a lot of feldspar, calcite, and mica found here and Colorado. Not always together.

Congratulations @roswellrockman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1500 comments. Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Your post has been read and you did great! You received a 80.0% upvote from us for your post with the geology tag since you are a member of the geopolis community.
Keep on writing and stay curious!

Those are some great close ups, cool seeing the crystal formations.

Done with the aid of my stereoscope my son got me for my birthday.

Ah very cool, looks like its been put to good use.

Congratulations @roswellrockman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies. Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73