Basic SEO | What You Doing Enjar?!?!?!?!

in #getshitdone5 years ago

1whatyoudoing.jpg

As a content creator, I have been slacking. No, I don’t mean needing to post more often. I have all this authority built up and I’m not doing anything with it. I’m also not talking about my SP either or even how unknown I am on Steem.

I could be doing a lot better bringing non-Steem traffic to my content. That really should be what it’s about at the end of the day. Many don’t really care about that because they are on the 7-day cycle and upvotes. I don’t have quite everything worked out yet and really I need to spend a lot of time moving forward.

Last night I watch a video about someone struggling to keep up with posting 7 days a week. They seem really stressed out about it. If you think about it some people even post 28 times a week! I don’t want to be doing that either. In fact, I want to be posting less over time and building things up so I can benefit more from less.

Today I spent a little bit of time doing what very few people do because they don’t see a financial reward for doing so. I went back and pressed the edit button and made some slight and quick changes to older content up to about 2 months ago.

WHY????

I want the traffic.

I have been looking into SEO (search engine optimization) and a few other things these past few days due to my set up of https://enjargames.dblog.org/ which will just be my gaming content.

I noticed a lot of the top results were old on the topic of SEO. I’m talking as far as 2016 content when I started to look into it. Despite that, they are still doing really well. This is because they updated the title, they built up backlinking, and they have updated the information within those posts. They did not have to make a new post. They just are maintaining what they have already created. That’s not really something you see people do on Steem.

So I went back and made some quick changes. Some of it I’m sure I could have done better. Since we can edit posts past the 7-day mark for a while now I might as well take advantage of it.

Titles

Slight changes to some titles.

I had a few places where I just wanted to change the formatting a tad. I’m liking a different look these days.

Others I wanted to shorten the title. I looked at title length on different search engines and many sites have there’s cut off due to being way too long!

I also updated anything in the title that could make it look more attractive. I have a few places where adding 2019 is something I should do in the first place. Other places where I might say something like “patch 3.5” when really I could remain truthful and just change it to say the expansions name in this case “Betrayal.” In the future, if it still makes sense to update it again to “2020” and update that content as well. Now I will.

Backlinking

One thing I really hate is making to long of a footer at bottom of my pages. Some people have ones so long it’s more than the content they created was.

Recently I made changes to have more information but make it take less space and in my eyes just a cleaner look.

footerchanges.png

Old.

new.png

New.

I really like my information section as it reminds me and gives me space to include information to the game, to any contest I’m in, any citation if I feel it’s needed. Now I know this does not include the engrave link they add but just on my normal non-gaming content is much cleaner.

I can also add at least two more imagines at the bottom of that include links! It’s also creating a lot of backlinking. I have a bunch of content that was using my old method which was not helping me out as much.

I’m also linking out to my content from other sites with plans to grow that over time.

I went in and just added links to relevant older content to something newer. That I have not been doing a good job at. If anyone happens to find those older posts in a search it will take them more effort than it’s worth to find the outcome, the next chapter, the whatever for it. I want them to say and read more!

Finally, I want other places not from me to be linking to my content. That I still got work out an action plan for and move forward with.

My Index

Back in January, I created an index page on Steem which is linked in my main footer. You remember index posts right? That thing so many people created after they allowed us to update older posts and we're going keep up to date? Ya, I know most have not been updating them. With how much effort it creates to make one I never got around to it till then.

Because of how massive my index post is. Along with how much referencing it is doing to my content as it links out to it and goes over it (I’m an expert on the topic of my content after all). In addition, with the fact, I have so much linked to my posts. Finally, with me making updates to it every week or so. It should be a decent authority page in search results.

search.png

While it should not be that hard to be number one as I am. The new site I have created that is showing up in search results is not even found on the first ten pages when I went looking for the “about” posts. Yet, Bing already has that Steem post ranked number 2 when I was not even trying finding it!

Stealing Backlinking

This is apparently a really hot thing to be doing nowadays. Where people reach out to have top links removed off a site and replaced with their own regarding that topic.

Am I going start stealing backlinking from myself to help boost https://enjargames.dblog.org/? Not much in the short term. There really no content over there yet. My gaming section over there does not even have any posts listed due to my own goof and no ability to change the first tag to have that first gaming posts listed.

I did, however, notice there were some minor things linking to something that I’ve gone a different direction on. So I’ve changed some links hoping, in the long run, to help speed up the process of something getting a higher ranking over another.

Am I going steal other people’s backlinking? Well, my reviews on a couple of games are more recent and in my eyes detailed. So I might have left an email to test the waters to one site to see how it goes. I really need to start writing more game reviews if it works out for my own site to have!

Shorter Intro

I also shorted the intro on a few posts, change the wording, and even deleted some information.

I did not want to go in and make such massive changes that each post would be taking hours to days to redo. Most of them just had really long first paragraphs I shorted a few.

Final Thoughts

There are a few things I've observed while exploring the topic that I will be applying moving forward. I looked into what I noticed the "experts" to be doing and not so much into "what they are saying to sell you a product on." There are so many products out there!

-- Making sure my final titles are not too long
-- Keeping the first paragraph shorter and if not in a strange way with more info.
-- Linking to more of my content.
-- Sharing my content more to the outside world.
-- Going in and making minor updates on older content when it’s needed. I have no desire to repost old updated content that is just creating mostly duplicated content. The edit button works just fine!

While I don’t have access to the information on my Steem posts to see how this really affects things as far as traffic goes. I can at least wait a couple days and see if there be any changes on a couple search results I have in mind. Moving forward I’ll at least be able to see the effect on things on my content on https://enjargames.dblog.org/.

Information

Screenshots and content are written by @enjar.

Sort:  

I need to get started on an index post. I think most of my content will be too random as Ive been a bit all over the place, but I do have my account updates I can go back through and update/ create and index for and it can be a nice place to leave some referral links of stuff I use and enjoy.

Thanks for the guide on what I need to go to get my own house in line and feel free to shill your posts in my comments anytime its applicable!

Posted using Partiko Android

I need to get started on an index post.

Mine is just my gaming content. Since that's where I want me niche to be in.

Some search results are starting to show up for the couple of posts I have over on the site. I got some impression off my Steam post about the sale they where having.

A very small amount of people pass over my link as they where searching the same exact thing as my title was! Which I was not expecting with how new and low traffic the site to have results high enough for someone to even see it.

I just remembered I was able to get my site on the dash reddit back in the day because I had a better faucet list then the one they linked too.

I felt bad for the site I replaced, but it was also a pretty awesome feeling knowing that I was potentially getting a few people a day from that Reddit page.

A very small amount of people pass over my link as they where searching the same exact thing as my title was!

Only a matter of time before they start clicking!

I was able to get my site on the dash reddit back in the day

Nice! If you can find some routes like that that should help spread.

You're dealing with stuff on a way more professional level than I do. And I still have to do an index post ;)

But on one thing I totally agree: long footers are bad for your posts. If I want to leave a vote and have to scroll and scroll and scroll - sorry, no vote. And I presume that the number of comments made (and read) sinks, too. My maximum number of images/badges/footers is two - one for the German discord and perhaps another one for the community that post pertains to (like Archdruid). But I'm already thinking about putting them in a table so I have them next to each other and not one after the other...

sorry, no vote.

Ay, I’ve done that myself. I’ve also just skipped over people as well. They might write 100 words but have another 500 word in there footer which more than over shadowed there content.

But I'm already thinking about putting them in a table

I’ve seen you make some great tables. I tried once and it seem like to much work so I gave up!

I have been working on expanding too, got a server and have been playing around with wordpress networks and researching how to use SEO and Google Adsense efficiently to get an audience outside of steem as well and maybe attract some of them here as well

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice! I just been using engrave platform which keeps things a little more simple for me.. Can't run google absence over there but I get access to google analytics and webmaster. With some other stuff I've not looked into.

Waiting for my Google Search Console to update with information. That seems like quite a powerful tool. Once I get some data to play around with I'm going be looking more into it.

I think there's more potencial for income with Google adsense.

Posted using Partiko Android

Perhaps in the long run of 6 to 12 months. These things take a while to gain traction.

I'm hoping to create better opportunities then AdSense though. Once I work things all out I can always go set up my own site and domain and put in request for change of site address from my understanding.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 148 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Yeah, that sounds like a plan
Especially the earlier ones where you were still finding your way around
Thank you for the idea :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76