@themarkymark's Get Shit Done Contest Entry

in #getshitdone5 years ago

@themarkymark has a contest that encourages us to do something for ourselves in the "Get Shit Done Contest" Find out more Here
As for my entry, here it is:

Something you should know about me as an author (see my author page at: https://www.amazon.com/author/patriceporter), is that I feel books are a good medium for transferring knowledge and doing this, it helps keep that knowledge alive!

Being in a digital age, books now can be found in many different formats. One of the new formats I chose for being able to easily share my book series "Bringing Out the Potential of Children" when I was speaking, etc. and didn't want folks to download the actual book was with Flip Books. At the time I couldn't use this service very freely and had dropped it.

Then I ran across a launch of a new software for ease of EBook and flip book creation at a good price and I jumped on it.

Here's an example of a handout I put into flip book form practicing using my new asset. https://flipbook.publishing.design/view/9811/2258

This was the same time of the R.C. crisis happening on Steemit, that was hurting the different communities I belonged to. One community in particular was the Natural Medicine community, where the members were sharing a wealth of knowledge and I wanted to see it preserved (kept alive) plus I wanted to help bring in some revenue for the community to help keep it running.

I had an idea that I could make a compilation of the material archived in the Natural Medicine Discord archives and make Flip books/EBooks with it. We could then offer it for sale in the Homesteaders Coop, an ethical, free marketplace that using STEEM SBD and USD, with the proceeds going back to the community.

Once I accepted this idea and started putting it out there I found it was supported. I became really enthusiastic about it and the possibilities i could do with it. I was thinking of other areas of knowledge I wanted to preserve too.

When I started to investigate some of my ideas it was opening more and more doors. I also realized that it was pulling in and putting into play other of my assets that I had left dormant. I'm fully into-

ALL ASSETS INTO PLAY

I saw that this move could be a major change in my life, for I am nearing retirement and these projects are something I would be very happy to devote more of my time to.

Here''s and example with the preview of the "Natural Medicine A Celebration of Natural Wisdoms on Steemit Volume 1" at:
https://flipbook.publishing.design/view/9811/2219

Natural Medicine A Celebration of Natural Wisdoms on Steemit

cover Natural Medicine Vol 1 A Celebration of Natural Wisdom resized 1120 x 1120 96dpi.jpg

I've shared the link with members of the Natural Medicine community and it was well received, encouraging me to move forward with it.

I have run into some glitches which I had to make adjustments for from my original plan plus there has been some set backs for the completion of Volume 1 but I feel this project is very valuable and I'm determined to get past the hurdles and persevere.

I thought the "Natural Medicine A Celebration of Natural Wisdoms on Steemit" book would be complete by the time I wrote this post so I could share my next steps but alas, it is not. I don't mind for I feel the extra effort will be worth it to make for a higher quality product.

You bet I'll be posting more on these projects as they come to completion. Stay tuned!

Thanks for stopping by!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

hadn't heard about that contest! lol love the title for it

The contest is almost over so if you want to enter do it now! I just about missed out.

You are such a get shit done woman! What an inspiration.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, @porters!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server.

Don't forget to check this awesome contest of @bananafish, our official partner. The Quest is starting in a few days and you can win a legendary pot of 30 STEEM and 30 @steembasicincome shares! Choose your own path and decide your own fate - follow @bananafish and don't miss it!

Hi @porters!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.486 which ranks you at #6642 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #91.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14