request to STINC: "Find Other Ways for a Revenue Stream"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gettingannoyed5 years ago (edited)

At first I thought: "Some advertisement in the Steemit user interface is ok, no issues with that."

Initially Steemit Inc (STINC) enabled some post entries on the right side when browsing in the tag feeds (the UPDATES LOG); I actually thought they would use this part for the paid advertisement. It turns out to be linked posts by STINC, which in itself is pretty cool since we are much more easily informed about important changes to the Steem blockchain and Steemit application.

The wait for what STINC would bring us with regards to the paid advertisement continued.

Then - days ago - we were seeing ads at the bottom of a post, not at all of them, but at some of them. "Ok, that is ok to me", I thought.

Then a day - or maybe a few days - later while on one of my curation tours through the music tags on our platform, I noticed an ad every 10th post in the channels I was going through. Getting a little more annoyed, but still ok. Did you notice that every ad in the post feed was the same? That in itself annoyed me quite a lot, but still I thought: "If this is the way STINC can get the fiat resources it requires to continue developing the Steemit application; I'll live with it."

And then, when opening my Steemit page this afternoon, I got really annoyed! A big ad at the top of my page!

Is the Steemit user interface turning into one of those shitty websites we have way too many of?


image from the Enormous Internet (source)

Some Steemians informed us to use one of the crypto based browsers Brave. It has a inbuilt adblocker feature of some sort. And yes, I do like that browser and use it from time to time. But, I also like my Chrome, Safari and Firefox browsers really much and like to continue working with them, also with the Steemit application. But, to be able to do so, I really wanted to get the ads out of the way.

I never ever had an adblocker enabled, other than for some testing rounds I did some time ago. When testing some of them a year or so ago, I discovered some of the websites I use, required the adblocker to be disabled to function well, so I decided to not keep any adblocker installed.

But now I have to have one active! :(

About an hour ago I started to use AdBlock, one of the well known adblockers for many of the common internet broswers (you can find the website here). So far so good and I really love it my Steemit user interface is back to where was before STINC added the ad-spaces.

You are sick as well of all the ads?

Wondering why STINC chose this direction to get a revenue stream. Why creating so many ad-spaces? Guess not so many people actually clicked the ads, so they are including more and more spaces. But, am wondering how many people will actually click the ads. The end result could very well be that more and more people either move to other Steem user interface, or add adblockers to their browsers. End result: no revenue stream, and no users anymore on Steemit user interface, hence lost connection with the user base.

Why didn't STINC chose to create a service or two in which they offer something of value which can be purchased, with either Steem, fiat money or a mix of the two?

Why not using the feature on the Steem blockchain to get a small percentage of all post earnings and give those who keep on using the Steemit user interface some benefits for taking a small cut from the earnings?

I wonder where all of this is heading to. To turn to the advertisement model in the way STINC is now pushing to us, may not be the right direction for a sustainable income for STINC. I really hope all of this is just a test phase, and STINC will quickly find other ways of less annoying ad revenues, or even better, create some services of real value we all like to pay some money for.

Until then, I have my Adblocker plugin enabled for the Steemit user interface and turning to other Steemit user interfaces.

CARPE DIEM

Music Library with more than 300 Entries

blockchain curator for @illuminati-inc and @qsounds
you like to follow @qsounds curation trail?
use this direct link | https://steemauto.com/dash.php?trail=qsounds&i=1

Happily posted through the alternative to Steemit UI
Busy.org: a completely ad-free Steemit user interface

Sort:  

I hope they’ll make it good, let’s believe that they’re just doing experiments now like you rightly pointed out.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I guess when ads are places in a less annoying way, even less users will actually click the ad. Busy.org started to request the user for a 10% cut of the post revenue, voluntarily. At the same time, Busy.org upvoates the post based on some parameters, like maximum one time a day and using the reputation to determine the value of the upvote. The later they already done a for a ling time, but recently are giving the option to allow them to take 10% of the post earnings. That is a good approach imho. Certainly they are getting some money from me, since quite a few times I do not un-click the 10% earnings to Busy. STINC could've copied this idea easily while asking for 5% or less, since most posts are posted using Steemit UI anyways.

NJOY the weekend! :)

Thanks brother, you’re right. EJOY the weekend too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That sounds super annoying. I hate ads even though I see the point of them. I actually havent noticed any ads though at all because I'm currently using the partiko app on my phone. There are ads but you have the choice of viewing them to recieve points. It's one way around the ads.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a way to circumvent Steemit user interface. Never used Partiko, but I not too fond of advertising model. As you state: clicking ads earn point/tokens which result in many users clicking, but the advertiser not getting a return since the clickers will not be converted to whatever the advertiser wants to sell. That said, earning by clicking is a nice way to earn tokens, so when it is made available, why not use it! :)

Excellent review @edje and you are right, advertising is present on the Steemit almost everywhere and there is a lot of it, I hope the developers will adjust this process and advertising will not bother us!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @edje! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 7000 replies. Your next target is to reach 7250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88