A Quiet Place (film): am original horror film that is just O.K.

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

So the world has been reduced to ruins and a vast majority of the human population has been wiped out by giant alien creatures that are blind but have super sensitive hearing and thick armor that it has been determined bullets and bombs have no effect on. At least it wasn't slow-moving, easily-killed zombies for once.

50578274-7a7c-4cac-87a4-84218a18652a_16x9_788x442.jpg

The movie starts out with no indication that what I am describing above is what it is about and sorry if I spoiled it for you. You would have found out in the first 10 minutes anyway. I thought the starting sequence was quite well-done actually, since they tell you nothing about it (well, i didn't know because I hadn't seen a movie trailer.) We are just shown a family that is searching for supplies in an abandoned supermarket and no one has any shoes on, they are communicating in sign-language, and are being very careful to not make any noise at all.

The family lives on a farm and the dad (John Krasinski) is an engineer who has a bunch of electronics in the basement where he is attempting (in vain) to communicate with other survivors around the world. It is not explained how it is that they have electricity. Since the monsters will attack anything that makes noise, it seems a generator would be out of the question. We just have to go with this part of it i guess.

bd1ebfa6776087e5840014c77b61f761.jpg
it says in on the left, "power outages"... Furthermore, we are supposed to believe that newspapers are still being printed and delivered even though the US military is defeated?

I have to admire the actors in the film because they communicate with one another throughout the film almost entirely in sign language. There is quite a bit of dialogue done this way too. Presuming they are signing correctly, it must have taken a lot of time for them to memorize their lines. I did some acting in high school and college and found it difficult to remember lines in English, let alone sign language. However they are being paid millions of dollars and I was never paid anything: So there is that incentive.

Overall I would say this is kind of an inventive horror movie and since everything is completely silent for the most part I actually had the volume up entirely too loud on my TV and it scared the crap out of me when something finally did make a sound. I would imagine this was just as impactful to the people in the cinemas.

I feel as though the movie is worth watching but I have some problems with it. Mainly the fact that these beasties have no weakness that the entire world is aware of, but one of the little kids figures it out by accident....

d09151fa496b5aab735e3d25bd04eca4.jpg

Also, if the zergling-like creatures are blind and will attack anything that makes noise, it seems like it would have been pretty simple to trap them, even if you cant kill them. Also, what happens when the wind blows in a corn field for example? Do they just go mental and rip the crap out of everything? I bet thunderstorms just whip them all into a frenzy. I say this because they have no eyes, and they apparently can't smell terribly well because there are multiple times the monsters are just yards away from a human who is being silent and still, and they cant find their prey.

If you just want to watch a movie for the scares, then i suppose this sort of film is for you. I know i am being fickle but there are just entirely too many plot holes for me to fully enjoy the movie. It seems a lot of people disagreed with me though because the movie made $US 330 million.

5 / 10

Sort:  

Frustratingly, because the film chooses to concentrate on the action and the premise, it failed to give real substance to its characters and their relationships. A very artificial conflict is created between the dad and his daughter, and it truly feels like it was added into a later version of the script to give some sort of emotional arc to the characters, but the result is clumsy at best, a bit ridiculous at worst.
Additionally, the film fails to create very clear rules on what the creatures can and cannot hear, how they function, how they are able to detect obstacles in their path, how many there are, or how fast they move, are all animals dead, and the list probably goes on. The result is that whatever is established at one point inevitably changes later on to fit the dramatic needs of the story, but it undermines our ability to suspend disbelief. Repeatedly, it feels like the film is doing its best to thrill, even if that means going against the film's internal logic. I understand that this is a movie and sometimes internal logic needs to be sacrificed, but this a became a tough sell after such moments.

magnificent... once again. blog more

"I would imagine this was just as impactful to the people in the cinemas."

I think you would have enjoyed it more in the cinema, as the soundless soundscape actually works brilliantly as a gimmick in a room full of people.

I saw this opening weekend, in a packed house on an IMAX screen, and the guilt people felt, putting even one kernel of popcorn in their mouths, and crunching it, gave the whole movie a feeling of community, as we were all trying to be super quiet so as not to disturb the suspense of everybody else.

Like you, I felt the cliche in the resolution, as one of the first sci-fi stories I read was John Wyndham's "Day of the Triffids," and ever since that book, I ALWAYS expect the resolution of every alien invasion story to be "oh here's this really simple way of defeating this world destroying menace that nobody else noticed up till now" lol.

Since I was expecting it, it didn't really bother me, but it didn't exactly thrill me either.

What did thrill me was the way both audience and characters felt like partners in the "we've got to be really really quiet" game, and we all came out laughing about how none of us wanted to even be heard swallowing coke, and especially not crunching on ice lol.

If you want one explanation how such a simple cliched movie could make so much money, I think the above description of how the unique quietness gimmick impacted and bonded cinema audiences together was everything. I mean, the first thing we did was to tell everyone else we knew to see it in the cinema.

And to be fair, the acting was top notch too. :)

the acting was great. I really liked that, thanks for actually reading what i wrote. you are correct (i think) about everything you wrote.

I watched it yesterday! :) I would give it 7/10.

Horror films generally have a simple premise. 'A quiet place' awaits a deeper message with the possibility of capturing a larger audience. That was the case with the racial satire 'Let me out' and, to a lesser extent, the same could be said about John Krasinski's film. The fact that it has penetrated so much in the audience is the intrinsic story.

In fact, the American critique has compared the apocalyptic creatures with the political unrest in the United States. If 'Let me out' also awaited a fierce criticism of the current social situation Will it also sound 'A quiet place' facing the Oscars of 2019? Many already bet on it.

The movie generally has an original idea, it's something that is lacking from most horror movies nowadays, most movie are remakes of the old ones.
I like the concept of a quiet place just like i fell for the concept of the movie called Sand.
To me the concept was good though it actually looks like kind of a low budget movie and it's not.

I love horror film and this film was one of the most talk about horror film this year but unfortunately the hype was not that quality as the film , the movie started strong but ended kinda weak for me. I was left hanging with the mysteries unsolved and it lacks the articulateness to create unique, progressive statements for its characters.

Wonderful story of the film. It looks more of an adventurous than horror but still i csnt say much coz i havent watched. But the alien creatures sound interesting. No eyes but excellent hearing skills. Hmm good one. Liked the trailer too. I will watch this one with cousins. Thanks for sharing.

Hii...Gooddream

Gm
Have a lovely day

Your All Post Are Fabulous.
And I must Say thanks For Upvoting us and help us to grow in this platform.

you gonna have to do more than that :P

very very greate whiteing
plz suppot my @dilip77

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94