Alice: Madness Returns (game) - fantastic

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

I play a lot of video games yet I rarely finish them. Normally I get easily frustrated by a particular boss or level being "too hard" and then walk away from the game for a while and then when I do finally return to it I have forgotten the controls and therefore the part that was previously "too hard" becomes "impossible."

This was not the case with Alice: Madness Returns as the game, for me, was simply captivating and just the right level of difficult.

Alice2.jpg

Alice is the Alice from Alice in Wonderland - just to put things in perspective and this game is a far darker version of the classic children's story.

Alice_3.jpg

The story begins in the real world, where Alice is traumatized by the memory of her house burning down, an incident that only she survived and believes herself to be responsible for. She is being treated by a psychologist in the orphanage and he uses hypnosis to try to help Alice. In order to deal with the memories she travels to wonderland to escape reality. However, wonderland is quite creepy and warped now and Alice discovers that Wonderland has been corrupted by an "Infernal Train" that Alice must track down the source of in order to restore Wonderland to it's previous state.

Anyone who is a fan of horror is going to welcome the transition of wonderland as the changes from the corruption are genuinely creepy and fun. The enemies are things of nightmares and even Alice herself is quite warped and scary.

Alice-alice-madness-returns-E2-99-A0-E2-99-A3-39186871-1244-700.jpg

Combat is actually very easy to control and just as you would expect you receive upgrades as the game carries on although your main weapon, the vorpal blade, normally remains your go to attack mode.

As the story carries on it becomes evident that Alice is not just solving the problems in Wonderland but it actually discovering clues about the fire that resulted in the death of her family at the same time. She begins to understand that it was not her fault and I don't want to tell you whose fault it is because that would be a massive spoiler.

As far as 3rd person action-adventure games go, this is one of my favorites of all time and comes highly recommended. I would likely give a perfect score but the graphics are a bit dated by today's standards.

9 / 10

Sort:  

At its heart, Alice: Madness Returns combines the weapon-based fighting of third-person action games with more conventional platforming. Combat is fluid – it animates smoothly, it's responsive, and Alice flows from one move to the next without stutter or stop. Dodging is fast, adding to the feel of Alice as a lethal character. The variety of weapons encourages an organic construction of combos, based on each item's strengths. Knocking over an armored enemy with the Hobby Horse, slashing it open with the Vorpal Blade, and then finishing them with the Pepper Grinder is a seamless barrage. Alice's acrobatics are also a lot of fun to apply. Navigating Wonderland via jumps (and double-jumps and triple-jumps), floating, and shrinking makes things more interesting, and viewing secret messages using Shrink Sense to find hidden paths and items adds to Alice: Madness Returns' exploratory experience. However, through questionable level design, graphical inconsistency, and repetitive gameplay, I was pulled out of the experience more than I would have liked. Alice: Madness Returns is a memorable peek through a flawed looking glass.

A transition from fantansy to horror, wow, those that wrote the story line for the game did incredibly well, and i love the graphics too. How did this one cost you because i definitely want to get my hands on it and how long did it take you to complete though?

You always surprise with new interesting movies and games, thanks man

Awesome. It looks good!
I used to game a lot since I was 8 maybe.
My pops brought us a Spectrum ZX 128k and it started from there.

I had all the consoles throughout but finaly knocked gaming on the head when my Xbox 360 red lighted for the 4th time.
I gave up then and that was 9 years ago maybe.

I can't wait to get back into it.
I am seeing great things :D

I haven't played this one but heard about it from my cousin, I think he played it. I like 3rd person games and always have prefered them. I think that as long the story of a game is good, the graphics don't matter, I love a game with a captivating story

Hii... Gooddream

Great Post and Also this is the great game.
You can't wait to play this game when anyone plays a game...

supper boss. an interesting game.

Game aliceThe Returns Madness is an adventurous game that can be spelled out rather dreadful, This is not a recommended game for younger audiences, as it also comes with a large number of blood and horrible images.
Like @gooddream

Is it genre action adventure horror(?).. ^^ I saw a different view of Alice.
I like games too. I play online games these days. I want to enjoy console games as before. I have to see the ending. haha. What platform is it? About alice-game? (PS4 ??)

You are like me.!! When a video game becomes difficult you leave it for a while.

Alice's video game has some good graphics obviously not like the current graphics. The story you tell about Alice makes the game flashy to play. Although Alice has an evil face and not "Cinderella" haha this game is an opposite version of what really is "Alice in Wonderland"

If you like mystery games I imagine you like Silent Hill.

They have changed the game alot. Yet the movie was not based on horror but the game quitely is. If it is based on the storyin the movie and contain those characters than it is far more interesting than all of the adventure games i have played. Thanks for sharing. Lovely game.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85