Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (film - 2005): yuck

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

It isn't too much of a secret that Johnny Depp has been having some problems lately. He seems to have somehow burned through hundreds of millions of dollars (something I can't imagine being possible) and seems to be closer and closer to insanity every time he talks in public

I believe he is an immensely talented actor and I certainly hope that he can pull things back together. I wish you no ill will Johnny!

That being said, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, to me, was just awful

MPW-22913.jpg

I realize that my opinion is not in the mainstream as the film was met with mostly positive critical review and to me I guess the professionals must review in a different manor than I do.

For one thing, i am extremely judgemental of remakes of any films - especially legendary ones. I consider it to be one of the laziest things a movie studio can possibly do to remake a film that was already quite perfect in its initial release. Gene Wilder's performance in the original 1971 film was flawless and definitely ahead of its time.

Willy-Wonka-And-The-Chocolate-Factory-Movie-Gene-Wilder-Childrens-Poster.jpg

However, i am quite certain the people at Village Roadshow regret nothing as this movie went on to make more than three hundred million dollars in profit.

Am I the only one that found Depp's portrayal of Willy Wonka to be downright creepy? I feel as though he was attempting to impersonate what it would be like to be shown around the chocolate factory by a late 90's / early 2000's Michael Jackson.

b5d999d75fb9e59e-600x400.jpg

The special effects of course, were updated since the 70's but to be honest with you I didn't really have a problem with the ones they used more than 40 years ago. I would imagine they were considered kind of ahead of the times when it was released.

I was amazed to find out that there were many other people that were considered for the role of Wonka and they included such a wide (and kind of strange) variety of actors including Bill Murray, Christopher Walken, Steve Martin, Robin Williams, Nicolas Cage, Jim Carrey, Michael Keaton, Robert De Niro, Brad Pitt, Will Smith, Mike Myers, Ben Stiller, Leslie Nielsen, John Cleese, Patrick Stewart, and Adam Sandler.

I guess we should just consider ourselves lucky that De Niro didn't get the role - That seems entirely out of place to me.

robert_deniro.png
this factory? you wanna get into this factory?

There were lots of things I didn't like about this movie but i think the major thing for me was the updated Umpa-Loompahs which went from endearing cute background characters and became horrifying dancing and rapping creatures of perverse nightmares. I suppose that we can attribute a lot of this to the fact that Tim Burton was brought on board for this film as a director.

hqdefault.jpg

It is important to note that Gene Wilder, again, the original Willy Wonka, chose to not see the film and is quoted as having said "I think it's an insult. It's probably Warner Bros.' insult." and stating that he does not like Tim Burton as a director but doesn't deny he is talented.

I welcome anyone out there to refute my opinion but I do not think this movie was good, but i suppose it really didn't need to be because the marketing worked and the movie made an absolute fortune.

5 / 10

Sort:  

After reading a glowing review in Entertainment Weekly for this movie I eagerly rented it and settled in for a cozy movie night. What I got was a head-scratching film that left me with a distinctly sour taste in my mouth. The original Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory is one of my personal favorites. I was well aware that this would be a far cry from that version. This version is decidedly more faithful to the book but I feel it reflects more of Tim Burton's need to be kooky than it does of capturing the sugary irresistibility of the book. The movie, simply put, is not simple enough. Granted, the book is often maniacal and bizarre but too much emphasis is placed here on the look. The actors seem, to me, to be wandering aimlessly among the sets, seeing them but not feeling them. The children fail to provide a new and interesting interpretation on the characters, instead becoming blah clones of the feisty five-some in the original. In fact, you would think their parents dragged them to the set every morning against their will. Their "parents" fare no better. How anyone could possibly laud these performances compared to the 1971 original is beyond me. Depp's Wonka is passable but far too creepy to be endearing. He has his moments though. The music is, sadly, another weakness of the movie. It is simply too jarring and techno-modern for this version, even if it is a contemporary remake. There are a few bright spots here and there. The visuals are gorgeous and I was delighted to see the more accurate portrayal of the boat (a viking ship instead of a strange floating surrey thing). Deep Roy (how can I get a name like that?) does an admirable job as all the Oompa-Loompas. Not one of them looks exactly alike. I wasn't too fond of the character design though. Overall, not the best of Burton. See this one for a quick trip but see the original to be truly transported.

I had heard about Johnny Deep, being his great fan,I pray for his best. moreover I completely agree to your point of view that remake of legendary films is total insane.

Reading this I now have to go check out the movie.
I had the opportunity of seeing it once when it come on TV at my bedtime, the early scenes weren't captivating so I chose sleep over it.

This movie is not one of my favorites because it has a lot of fantasy, it's more for children.
But my sister if you were interested in watching the film, by the way, thanks to that movie my sister is getting fat about 15 kilograms for eating so much chocolate and candy in her childhood, nowadays my sister does not come through the door of my house .

well that's unfortunate. but i think this movies was garbage before we even introduce the fact that it might encourage people to eat improperly.

World of magic my friend.

I like think like type of this.

I know a lot of children that like the movie. It is hilarious and 'like in child's dream' to see a chocolate river :)

At a time when everything is decided by greed, greed, prudence, arrogance and pathos, in the hot July days a wondrous fairy tale appears on the wide screen, in which everything changes radically: rivers and waterfalls turn into delicious light chocolate, lollipops grow on the trees , on the glade there are giant plantations of pink sugar cane and mint sweets - yes, of course, this is a marvelous miracle, letting all our everyday problems into oblivion!
However, the true magic is that the Chocolate Factory, together with its owner, Willy Wonka, puts on show our negative qualities that allow us to co-exist in the real world, and after that they ridicule and punish. Thus, an illusion is created that Willy Wonka conducts a tour of his extraordinary world not for the five young lucky ones, but for each viewer separately, because in them we see a distorted, but reflected one.

This movie in available which language?

considering the budget i would guess all of them

An excellent repertoire of actors that allow us to admire the film in an entertaining way. Let's see what it is and if it is worthwhile to admire greetings and my respects my support with my vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12