Drinking 8 glasses of water a day – do you?

in #getyerlearnon5 years ago

Ok, I don’t know where this advice came from or if it is even really important or nutritionally correct but I hear it repeated time-and-time again. It might be 6 glasses – I don’t know for sure.

can-you-drink-too-much-water1.jpg

When I am in Thailand or some other South East Asian country where it is routinely the temperature of the interior of a radiator and with similar humidity, I find that drinking a bunch of water just kind of comes naturally. I think we have to drink water constantly or else we would likely die. Dehydration is staring you in the face pretty much all the time when walking to the mailbox results in a shower-worthy amount of sweat.

However, I am back in the USA for now, and arrived right at the point in time where most of the country is experiencing a transition from fall to winter – IE, it isn’t hot, and until nighttime or early morning, it isn’t really all that cold.

This has to be the least necessary-to-drink-water environment that I can imagine. I’m drinking beer, and I know that is mostly water – does that count? Ooh! I also have at least 6 cups of coffee a day (mostly in the morning) and I know for a fact that is primarily water.

All I am trying to say is that my friends and family that I have seen in USA since arriving don’t seem to have any sort of “water agenda.” No one is drinking bottle after bottle of water. Yet all of them somehow magically manage to not be dead. Therefore (and I just want to put this out there,) is it at least possible that the 8 servings of water per day might be a load of crap? And what is a “serving” anyway?

I’m not going to stop drinking water because I believe it is a government conspiracy or anything crazy like that but well, I guess I just don’t believe the hype so to speak. When I am in a hot environment, or at the gym, I will drink water but I don’t think there is a “one size fits all” amount of water that people are supposed to drink each day. I think I may have had the same amount of water that I would normally drink daily in Thailand in a week since I have been here in USA. Yet I experience very little in the way of ill side-effects because of this.

03-quiz-sharedresource(1).png

I don’t know what that point of this entry actually is. There isn’t one. If you live somewhere that has all 3 seasons and yet drink a bunch of water (not mixed with booze because that doesn’t count as it unfortunately turns out) do you actually feel any sort of health benefit? I would be interested to know if you have.

Sort:  

I think that the best way to go is to drink when thirsty. That works for me because I am always thirsty.

When I lived in Mexico, I was pretty much never without some drink or another. The problem was that too often, that drink was Mezcal.. Which isn't known for its thirst quenching properties.

Yea man it’s funny I’ve just seen this post as I walked into my room (in China) and celebrated as they have restocked my huge water dispenser with a bottle like in your first picture.

I personally drink loads of water, I go through mine quicker than the other teachers here. However, as the temperature has dropped significantly (about 15+ degrees C) I really notice how less water I’m drinking. Or really how more I will use the toilet if I drink anywhere near the same as it goes right through! Haha! When it was boiling here I almost couldn’t drink enough to stay hydrated and now I’m not permanent sweating I can drink much less

In terms of health benefits, I would like to say I have more mental focus, but if I’m honest I can’t really tell. Unless I’m dehydrated and I need that water bad, then it’s the best thing ever and I really can feel the life coming back into me! It’s funny how we use water, it’s the main source of life for us

On average, people drink 2 liters of water a day, which gives the body enough water to metabolize and eliminate toxins from the body. And it can vary depending on the temperature, movement and health of each person.

There is a debate on how much to drink. No definitive answer but we should replace the fluid losses and this might equate to 1.2 litres/ day in cold climates and more in hot climates or when exercising.
Water is preferred as it prevents obesity, otherwise would be caused by caloric beverages: soft drinks and beer ( unfortunately) :)
Here is a link that might be useful.
https://www.nhs.uk/news/food-and-diet/six-to-eight-glasses-of-water-still-best/

I think the 8 cups of water rule is ridiculous! A 350 lb man and a 90 lb woman have very different needs in terms of hydration. I think plenty of water is necessary for everyone but the extract amount needed varies wildly from person to person. Environment is another good point you made. When I lived in Florida it felt like you needed 8 gallons of water a day in the summer! On the flip side living in Maryland in the wintertime allows me to run on much less water. Dehydration is dangers but so is being over-hydrated! Studies have shown dry fasting (abstaining from food AND water for extended periods of time) can actually be beneficial to one's health. So I think the question is not how much water should everyone drink in a day but rather how much should each individual drink to meet their needs.

You have a point though,depending on weather conditions and other factors, it could be more or less. The recommended amount, however is 8 glasses. It cleanses your system. If you aren't too sure, then don't use glasses to measure. Always ensure your urine isn't yellow. Yellowish white is ok, or very low yellow, but deep yellow means your body needs a lot of water. That's what I use.

Only 7 glasses a day!

YES, I TAKE 8 GLASSES A DAY EVERY TIME THIS MOVEMENT. BECAUSE IF I AM IN A RESIDENCE I TAKE LESS AMOUNT AS I HAVE A RETENTION FOR LACK OF PHYSICAL ACTIVITY

I drink a gallon a day, all I know it gets me lean ;)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22