Gunpoint (game): Decent for $5 but probably too basic for many people

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

Gunpoint caught my interest because it was on a list of highly-rated indie games or something along those lines. It was just a few bucks on Steam so I figured I would give it a try.

header.jpg

You play the role of Richard Conway, a man who is a spy or assassin for hire. To a certain degree you choose which clients you want in order to progress through the game but most of it is a stealth puzzle game (if that is even a thing.) The main tool you use is an object called the "crosslink" which allows you to rewire the circuitry of various aspects of the buildings you are charged with infiltrating.

20160727205044_1.jpg

You can change the electrical setup so that light switches will open doors, call elevators, or even electrocute guards. There are many ways of defeating each level but some purists try to make it through the levels without killing anyone, which would certainly be more difficult. I killed almost everyone.

The graphics are nothing particularly special, It is an indie game after all. However, the controls are easy to get the hang of and overall the amount of upgrades you can purchase along the way keep things interesting. I was at first a bit disappointed that I had to use the mouse and keyboard but i quickly realized that if using the controller was an option, the game would be quite difficult to control. So i guess it was a good choice on their part to make this a keyboard only game.

The music is pretty good but gets repetitive quickly - I ended up playing something else in youtube and muting the music alltother. The still photos don't do the game justice so here is the game trailer instead.


*credit to Tom Francis *

At the moment the game is $5 on Steam, and maybe it is worth it. I enjoyed the game but I was finished with it in 3 hours or so and to be honest, that was long enough.

Sort:  

Become a detective, who's using obstacles on his way as launching pads to his success. Gunpoint is a dope to the action-stealth genre with its entirely new and unorthodox gameplay. The only thing spoiling the overall experience is that the game is short.

i kinda love games that is long. but the game seems interesting from your description, the player has to be environmentally conscious to be able to use it to his advantage
nice game that i will so love to try.

Graphics may deter me from playing though, but i like to play detective and stealth games, it gives me a sense of military kinda something, dunno if you get what am saying, 5$ is kinda alot dont u think?

i completely agree with you. I felt a bit duped at paying $5 for this. It was marked down from $10 and after playing I was like "whaaaa?" it is a decent game but i would wait until it is marked down to $2. lol

lol, sorry about that, then i will wait till it is marked down to 1$

The last game like this one that I played, was the game based on a movie that had a guy that had a jetpack that he flew with, and there was a zeppelin in it also. Can't remember the name of the game or the movie.

was the guy with the jetpack a chicken by chance? if so, i am playing that game now and will review it tomorrow.

I found it. The movie is The Rocketeer, and I believe that was the name of the game also. Early 90s stuff. It's a Disney movie.

The most important part of indie game is that it is always thrilling to play and it will keep you busy all through , because you will always want to finish the levels and enter the next level of the game. With your analysis I think the game will be really interesting to play because I do like assassin games especially shooting games @goddream

The story and the game play is really worth $5. I don't know about you but I love games like these. Where you are may be a soldier or a spy figuring out things and completing complicated missions. Easy controls make it more fun. I am gonna play this Steam Blaster.💥💥💥. Thanks for sharing.

It seems like a simple but entertaining game. I like stealth and strategy games.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13