Hangin' with the lizards

in #getyerlearnon5 years ago

I remember years ago I was at a bar and a girl who was a stranger to me at the time freaked out and jumped up and screamed because something was on the wall next to her.

dog-scared-from-woman-driving-funny-picture.jpg

Because I owned the bar I ran over to see what I could do to help. What was it? A spider?.. a cockroach?...a centipede? a rat?.....a Velociraptor? What could possibly make this woman near freak out?

It was a gecko or as they call them in Thai, "jink-joke."


source

I suppose I could understand her reaction if that was the very first time she had seen one but I calmly tried to explain to her that this "phobia" of hers is something she is going to need to get past pretty quickly because these little guys are not only totally harmless, but they are literally everywhere.

I was once visiting a summer palace for the Royal Family and they were all over the wall in that place. If they are in the King's Palace, they are unstoppable... end of story.

They also eat other things that actually will hurt you such as mosquitoes and they also have a feast when the flying ants come out after a rain storm and swarm any light source.

I think most people realize this guys are harmless and unavoidable but go ahead and prepare yourself for them if you visit Thailand or really any part of south-east Asia because you will see them, I guarantee it.

56691393_328415241361727_4644360733750984704_n.jpg

That last image has no source because I TOOK IT! look how artsy I am.

I quite like these little fellas and except for the poo they leave in the corners of your house you really don't even notice they are there. Get used to them, don't kill them and don't try to catch them (they are very fast.) Embrace the fact that no matter the precautions you take, you will be sharing your room or your house with these guys.... and that is just the way it is.

Sort:  

I love these little fellas, they eat these pesky mosquitoes and they are looking cute xD
A little cat in our house alwys tried to catch one and most times it failed but sometimes the cat was succesful and catched one (and ate it)

I also like the tukkee or however it's written haha the bigger gecko who yells it's name.

Posted using Partiko Android

tukkae's a significantly larger and also quite scary looking. I can say that I don't mind the jingjokes but the tukkae has got to go.

Hahaha! Nice photos!! The last one just shows me that they are very sociable animals! Yes, they are everywhere!
But I met a lady who kept her cats in her restaurant for the weekend. When she came back, most of the jink-joke were gone!

My cats also hunt these little lizards in the evening! But the geckos are smart they learned their lessons and stay high up!

Posted using Partiko iOS

We have lots of little lizards where I live as well. They aren't geckos, but some sort of lizardy guys. And yes, they are crazy fast. I run around like a fool, often times semi naked because I frequently notice them in the morning after I've had the doors open the night before. There's me, running around in my underwear for ten minutes hopelessly darting forward after it like a chicken. Only I'm a lot crappier at catching things than a chicken. You have to be fast and forceful, and I'm always afraid I will hurt them. I hate to leave them inside because I eventually find their little dried up skeletons.

they frequently get caught in the door jambs of my house too. It's pretty gross removing the pressed corpse but there are so many of these guys that I don't think there will be a shortage any time soon.

Nah they look adorable to be honest. Rats on the other hand, I'd be scrambling for the door before it even noticed am there

Haha, that is pretty funny. I have seen others react similarly to bugs and things of that sort. I have a friend that is a grow man yet acts like a child when he sees a bee. It is pretty sad. Like Gekos they are relatively harmless and so beneficial.

So funny and so spot on - living in FL it is the favorite prey my little dog loves to hunt from sunrise to sunset - I intervene as much as much as I can to save the save the little guys from his tenacious jaws.. not always successfully mind you. I like the little guys myself as well.

I remember seeing this guys at the beach in North and South Carolina. However, they were considerably tamer there and were actually quite easy to catch. They appear to be a very similar if not exactly the same species in Thailand but they are much faster and much less likely to be caught :) Cats and dogs do occasionally catch up with them though.

The gecko lizards is very common in most places including rooms and public places but there are alot of varieties of lizards that lives around and within us. Lizards are not harmful and they helps in killing cockroaches and other insects that are nuisance in our home.

These guys are basically harmless like you say, but the thing is that I think their looks alone gives people the chill really, its kinda quite chilly when you look at them so that's where the phobia definitely comes from so well it's harmless yet many don't know it feeds on mosquitoes that harms us

Oh Geckos are so q. What kind of bar did you owned?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04