How diving changed my life (part 4)

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

After finishing the grueling Rescue Diver portion of my training, I was headed to the real nuts and bolts of being a dive professional, The Divemaster course. This is where things get really ingrained into your head about the safety aspects of diving including knowing how much time you can spend at certain depths without the aid of a dive computer. You also focus on navigation, as well as identification of wildlife so you actually know what the hell you are talking about other than just "big blue and white fish." You also have to have at least 60 logged dives in order to be signed off to graduate - and that is the fun part of it.

dive-master-course.jpg

It isn't all fun and games in the Divemaster course and there is actually quite a lot of reading and taking of exams. At first this seemed very contradictory to what it is that I joined the program for, but in the end a Divemaster is responsible for the lives of future divers so I can understand why it is absolutely essential that you know the material inside and out. I had 3 relatively massive books that I had to know all of.... basically, I felt like I was in college again - yet the course material was far more interesting than say, macroeconomics (that class sucked and was very forgettable.)

maxresdefault.jpg


amalia-elmadjid-424749-unsplash.jpg
i would much rather be doing this than discussing the intricacies associated with supply and demand
Photo by amalia elmadjid on Unsplash

Each day you have a mentor, normally someone who has been a full-fledged instructor for many years. My instructor was an Aussie who never had to refer to a book for anything he was teaching and that put me at ease that I was with someone that truly knows his stuff. He was also a really cool dude who I am still friends with to this day.

In order to pass the course you also have to be physically fit. Not like Ironman fit or anything crazy. I don't remember the specifics but it incorporated treading water with a weight for 45 minutes and also swimming 600 meters in the ocean without stopping. I had such great confidence in my swimming ability at the start of the 45-minute flotation that i was actually screwing around during the first 20 minutes only to really regret this decision about 30 minutes in.

Often, since the dive count necessary to finish is so high, you will just go on "fun dives" with an instructor who you watch to see how they guide paying customers. It is actually very informative because seeing an experienced professional make customers feel confident in his / her leadership is a great way to learn for yourself. My instructor was extremely good at what he did and I ended up mimicking his style once I was guiding customers. It is a great learning experience and well, you also get to go diving a bunch for "free" (you paid for the course.)

In order to graduate you must pass all the tests both written and in practice, you also must complete a final project which includes mapping a particular dive spot including all major attractions (reefs etc) including all depths and distances between objects. This can be very time consuming and well, you can't exactly bring a laptop with you so you have to be very careful about which information you decide to write down on your underwater slate (and pray your pencil lead doesn't snap.)

At the end, when you have ticked all the boxes required to be certified the dive school will throw a party for all the graduates - this is where one very essential skill in diving is taught. it is called the snorkel test.

Graduates put on a mask and snorkel with a funnel placed at the top. You, the graduate then must face the opposite direction as your educators / tormentors while they proceed to pour whatever they want to put in the snorkel as you chug it all. It is badly frowned upon to spill even a little bit.

maxresdefault.jpg

Fortunately, my instructors were pretty friendly about the ordeal and didn't put too much in the way of straight spirits in there. Mostly I got mixed drinks and beer. However, there were more than 12 instructors at my school. So it took a while. Despite being someone that drinks alcohol nearly every day, I knew that taking 20 drinks in 15 minutes is almost never a good idea so I slipped away to the bathroom to force myself to throw up after the applause died down.

I never told any of them this, they just think I have an incredible tolerance.

I have to say that deciding to become a Divemsater is one of my favorite decisions I made in life. It never lead to very much money but now i have a degree (of sorts) in something that was difficult to achieve, but is also very cool. SCUBA diving is one of the most popular (and awesome) sports in the world that a lot of people are afraid to take part in. I was afraid of deep water before entering the course, and now not only am I not afraid, but I can approach the situation with absolute confidence.

vlad-tchompalov-446916-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Vlad Tchompalov on Unsplash

Sort:  

That was well worth the wait.

I have really enjoyed living your diving adverntures, Walter Mitty like, in my own head. I think that ultimately, this course crushed the Walter Mitty right out of you, since who wouldn't want to experience the feeling of "absolute confidence" in any sphere of life!?

"I had such great confidence in my swimming ability at the start of the 45-minute flotation that i was actually screwing around during the first 20 minutes only to really regret this decision about 30 minutes in."

"I knew that taking 20 drinks in 15 minutes is almost never a good idea so I slipped away to the bathroom to force myself to throw up after the applause died down."

It's the character details in your story that you would never read in an instruction manual. What's most amusing, and what shows how rich real life can be, is how opposite traits exist in one person at the same time.

On the one hand, you had the bravado to challenge the great open water to a duel, and yet on the other hand, you had the instinct and humility to protect your body from that raging funnel of fire water.

In the latter case, smart decision. I remember one time I got so drunk, I ended up professing undying love to my brother's mother-in-law. Yes, that is as bad as it sounds, and I carry on life pretending it never ever happened.

Cheers. :)

I think your story might be better than mine. haha. Thanks for sharing pal. :)

That was a really great experience. Getting the opportunity to do something you love and being rewarded for it. Treading for 45minutes?? I haven't treaded for that long, but I think I can do about 25 minutes and the 600m wouldn't have been a problem. It looks like almost everybody hates macroeconomics..lol. SCUBA diving and swimming in general are cool activities, and addictive as well in my opinion. I have taught several people how to swim (mostly the breaststroke) and the moment the get good at it, they add swimming to their day-to-day schedule. Aside the lesson that we should chase our passion, anyone reading this should at least get someone to teach them swimming, it's really fun and a different world altogether.

Glad to see you pass the divemaster course. I wished you good luck on your previus part when you were heading for it. I didnt know learning it would be such a tough task. Reading so many books remunding you of college exams and all. But its also a bit fun too and you enjoy many pratical sessions. Enjoyed reading it.

The most important part of it is that you were able to do exactly what you want to do.
I'm not a diver, but I enjoy the story, how you end up been a diver and the likes...

I thought that doing a diving course was easy! but I see no. It must be boring to read all that technical book to dive as you say you came back to the university lol. Although it is never too late to learn something new in life and for you it is very good to know how to dive since it is surrounded by beautiful beaches.
The final test of the drink is difficult I was not endured so much beer. Normally with 10 beer and my memory is erased because I do not remember what I did that day lol... It was a wise decision on your part to go to the bathroom to vomit.

the beginne's certification is easy. Although many people still fail it because of two major reasons. Either they can't equalize the pressure in their ears (diving is painful if you can't do this) or they freak out about water entering the mask, which is normal.

I understand the pressure of the water makes the ears hurt and the salt water that enters the mask makes your eyes burn.
I can ask you a question: How did you make xeldal support you? I would like to speak with him so that he can support me even with a small vote for my publication. I want to raise my reputation.

it is extremely easy to clear your mask. the idea is that you clear it before the water gets to your eyes. the pressure of the water can hurt badly if you don't equalize the pressure as you descend. Some people are incapable of equalizing for some reason and for the most part, they don't dive. I do not know xeldal nor why he / she decided to support me

Maybe xeldal likes what you publish your articles are very good because you always talk about what you like and do not like.
Being honest when writing an article is the best and you speak with sincerity when you write your article and that helps you a lot.

I follow you because I like what you do. I do not mention all your posts because my job as a teacher consumes me all my time since I teach at 2 schools to earn a living. When I arrive at the house at 6 o'clock in the afternoon I arrive tired, I check steemit because I like interactual, writing sports articles. Meet new friends but I do not deny it and I have stayed several times asleep on the computer because of fatigue.

Wonderful! I had the pleasure of diving only once in my short life, and it is a fantastic experience, I think one of the best that I have had, Diving brings with it a sea of pleasant sensations, It feels as if you became a fish and that It's great, someone told me that if the diving had no risk there would be more crazy underwater haha

Hmm the Divemaster course seems pretty tough. And having to learn those 3 massive books is just awkward. Still you enjoy diving bit spending along time in the depths is very difficult with out any guide there. Perhaps this is necessary coz you have to be ready to teach others in future. Indeed the most difficult part is knowing about wildlife and navigation. Glad you did the complicated job.

Really In order to graduate you must pass all the tests both written and in practice and more... My Country Same Rules Follow all time.

Because Driving work is so risk work.

I have to say that deciding to become a Divemsater is one of my favorite decisions I made in life. It never lead to very much money but now i have a degree (of sorts) in something that was difficult to achieve, but is also very cool.
It was a dream that drove you to leave an unsatisfying life and in the end you fulfilled your goal. That's very cool.

The sea is beautiful and to be under water and to see everything is to nature is excellent thanks for sharing congratulations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80