Rocketbirds - Hardboiled Chicken: great fun for a buck!

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

This game is less than $1 on Steam right now and if you don't buy it, there is a better-than-average chance you are missing out on the best deal of the week.

Rocketbirds_-_Hardboiled_Chicken_logo.png

I buy and play a lot of video games. I have been accused of spending too much time on them but it is what I like to do so all the nay-sayers can take a walk. I very rarely will be an early adopter of games because I don't like spending premium money on a game that I know will be half that price in a month or two. I mean, there are so many games out there so unless it is a new Zelda, Final Fantasy, or Metroid game I will likely wait. However, when I chose to buy this game a few years ago I have to admit I had a few "what the hell are you doing?" moments while waiting for it to download.

The game is completely ridiculous, but I think that is kind of the point. You play the role of one of many vigilante chickens who are infiltrating the lair of Penguin dictator Putzki who rules over Albatropolis. His empire seems to very closely mirror one of the most famous evil regimes of all time.

001-e1363573787530.jpg

The game is categorized as a puzzle platformer, but I think it is more of a mindless shoot-em-up. The puzzles are extremely basic and mostly it is just a bloodbath that is hilarious in nature. There are references to famous war films but done through the eyes of a group of battle-grizzled chickens.

Eventually you take to the skies with your rocketpack in order to chase down the propaganda-spreading zeppelin base of the dictator and the flying sequences are a lot of fun while also being easy to control.

maxresdefault.jpg

The soundtrack is a throwback to the 80's / 90's, the graphics are sharp, the animation is spot-on, and the story is filled with LOL's. What more could you want for a dollar?


credit to GameSpot for the vid

Sort:  

Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken is a game that has a lot going for it. Engaging game play, tight controls, and a kicking sound track make for a great experience. Lack of narrative pulls it down, but not enough to diminish the time spent with it. For a $1 price point, I would gladly recommend HBC and his gun-toting craziness to a gamer looking for some cheap, yet well produced dumb fun.

Haha, this is more worth it, a less than a dollar game, i expect nothing more than lols😄

for 1$ I think it's a great deal. It seems like a fun game and the incorporated animations are nice too

Game sounds cool and very affordable too. Liked the story of it. Very interesting. Completing missions like a chicken soldier sounds awesome. The easy controls Nd simple game play make it more fun. Great to see this exciting game at a lower cost. Steam games are awesome.

Hey captain chicken. @gooddream what a game this is. Simply sensational I would say . Very cheap considerably to the game play. Easy to play and not that thick soup to get stuck in. I mean it's easy. You are chicken and you fight against the penguin dominion. Isn't it?. Liked it.

Really nice game to relax

Video is very beautiful and very enjoyable
Well done publishing
A special game will play it with certainty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73