Slime Rancher (game-PC): I don't understand how this game is highly rated

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

Slime Rancher is a sandbox style game where you explore and gather resources to build up your village. It has "overwhelmingly positive" reviews on Steam and a vast majority of the private reviews are positive.

015132c3fcd5c5177273a3f0a22ad371.jpg

Basically you are a rancher who runs around with your vacuum gun and suck up slime creatures around the area and then carry them back to corral them in pens. You also have the ability to vacuum up really anything else including food items to feed to said slimes who then poop out currency (I'm not making this up) so that you can earn money to purchase upgrades for your farm.

Does this sound silly yet? Well that is pretty much the entire game.

Pink slimes are the easiest to gather and will eat basically anything. There are a wide variety of other slimes to collect as well and if you put different slimes in the same pens they will eat one another and create hybrid slimes. Also, if you overpopulate any of the pens they will escape and wreak havoc on your ranch.

screen01.jpg

The pros are that the game is cute and charming. The cons are that what i described above is basically the entire game, and it never ends. Sure, other areas get unlocked as you gather enough poop currency but then you enter those areas and it is basically the same thing all over again with a new type of slime introduced into gameplay.

I played for about 5 hours (not in a row) hoping that what I was experiencing was just the tutorial portion of the game and there was magic waiting at the end of it. NOPE.

I would imagine kids who play Minecraft endlessly might find this sort of thing fun and genuinely want to build up their farm. It is my understanding that the game sells really well also. I guess I am just going to have to write this one off as something whose popularity I am incapable of understanding. I was bored in the first 20 minutes and actually feeling a little bit sick from the first person perspective after another 20.

I can't recommend this game unless you are under the age of 10. If you like this game and you believe there is something I am missing, please enlighten me.

3 / 10

Sort:  

@gooddream Not that I've played this game but the whole idea of this game sounds stupid to me

Slime Rancher successfully taps into the addictive nature of farming simulators, while managing to make the gameplay loop more engaging and instantly rewarding. Seasoned vets of the genre may find some aspects to be lacking, but if you’ve never really found the appeal in maintaining your own virtual farm – this may be the game to change your mind.This is one of the best indie games i've played in a while, Seriously in my opinion this game is on the level of Undertale its so good. It's addicting, yet simple gameplay sets it apart from many other game as this is a game that is meant to be just good old simple fun that any on can enjoy. This is one of those games where you will say "Just five more minutes" Until it's 3:30 AM. With the gameplay, the art style and how much there is to explore you'll be playing this game for a while.

Although different games are designed for different age groups so, it is not important that everyone would like it. but yes , i liked the concept of the game. keep on creating more stuff and grow better

Absolutely useless, unless one is actually a kid, I believe it is created mainly for kids, I have played it once, I couldn't even open it again. I uninstalled it like that. The overrated is just too much, I could say. I don't know that I'm not the only one that got betrayed playing the game.

I also don't like this game@gooddream

Help me with upvote pls https://steemit.com/food/@milandave2/snacks-at-home-and-oreo-shake

Hii... Gooddream

Sorry, I Don't know About This Game more.
I aslo Listen And Watch this games video or msg on fb, steemit, dtube etc.

I give Your post rank.
10/10

And Thanks Again for the upvote And Give Support To New People like me In Growth.

Your 100% Upvote Give Us Highly Jump In Steemit Ranking Such as 3 to 4 Rank Up...

Reviews can be very misdirecting sometimes, is a great simulator nonetheless and reminds me alot about Qge of Empires although id say that is way better that Slime Rancher. Is style of play and everything about will suit people who love indie games, I mostly play for reminiscence and nostalgia. What moves you to try out these ones?

I think about this game too

Pretty simple Nd repeating game. Has lots of loops. I mean the entire game revolves around collecting certain slime and building a village. It will be fun for some time but after that changes are necessary to keep enjoying. Still the game is fun coz it's beautiful and charming as u said. Thanks for sharing. Ridiculous strategy game. Isn't it?.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93