Some funny signs found in Chiang Mai

in #undefined5 years ago

I'm not going to get on anyone's case for not being fluent in multiple languages. Other than my own name I can't write anything in Thai correctly so kudos to the people that try. However, it doesn't mean that I can't laugh at your mistakes. When I cruise around on my bicycle I occasionally find things that are very funny to me and well, i hope they are to you also.

These are all over Thailand and is not specific to Chiang Mai. Every city has at least one of these gems and it is quite humorous to me that no one has changed it. The signs have been here for years and certainly someone has pointed out to them that this is horribly wrong. In Thai is also says "accident ahead" (ooh-bat-tee-head khang naa) which says to me that there is just a fundamental problem with the overall meaning of this particular phrase and what it means to the two different cultures.

52011323_366705970579252_1199733989548490752_n.jpg

This place is just down the street from my Condo. I have previously reviewed this establishment and gave it a less-than-glowing result..

They almost got this correct but the slight mistake here leads me to believe that there actually is no "John" involved in the running of this establishment.

51716672_390173791559569_5664749481862627328_n.jpg

This one isn't a mistake so much as it is just a truly memorable business name for all the wrong reasons. Meesuk? No Yousuck! It is actually a hotel and restaurant and because of the naming conventions i feel obligated to go there to at LEAST have a coffee or something.

There are tons of these and you normally don't have to look very far in order to get a chuckle. I commend the Thai people for attempting to have everything be in English because when I was living in Korea that country did nothing of the sort. Outside of Seoul and Busan almost nothing is ever in English which can make it extremely confusing to accomplish anything. But despite their best efforts and believe me, i am grateful for it, I am still allowed to have a bit of fun at their expense.

Sort:  

You over thought for the Meesuk one 🙈 but the accident ahead, rotfl

i overthink a lot of stuff. The accident ahead one cracks me up. Is it just a place where there is constantly carnage in the street? They should do something about that :)

Something like, be careful as it's dangerous spot. Accident may happen easily .. wow, my English sucks too but that's pretty much it. 🙈

Posted using Partiko Android

in the US I have seen signs that say "dangerous curves ahead" or "accident-prone area ahead" ... but yeah, you are correct and your English is wonderful :) Hey! you're on #partiko now.... hooray!

Yeah, from that time I said I would give it another go :-)

i'll send you a test DM :P

Haha.. I see you are a fellow sign lover. I just posted a funny sign pic yesterday.

My brother and I are constantly sending each other funny signs that we come across. Good stuff

i believe you are referring to the "one cock" restaurant?

Hehe, good guess. Not as good as Meesuk, though.

This is hilarious. I guess I need to visit there and have a good laughing time!

Same as those words that you can see on some people in china where they do not know what is the meaning behind it.

Very funny
They should double check when writing road signs.
Haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol. Funny. How will there be a sign that accident is ahead

This still looks funny. Lol

Awesome one lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87