Strange recurring theme in my dreams

in #getyerlearnon5 years ago

Like most people, my dreams are convoluted and not at all related to one another but something strange started to happen this year and I am having a recurring element constantly find its way into my psyche. These dreams are also the ones that I remember vividly upon waking up whereas most of the time I know I had a dream, but remember almost nothing about it. It's odd and I wanna share it.


The dream always has some sort of different locale but the overall theme is the same. For some reason I killed a person that I was pretty good friends with in high-school. I had successfully hidden his corpse somewhere, but just like in Goodfellas, the property is about to be taken over and the body must be moved.

One of my best friends from high school helps me to relocate the body and thereby implicates himself in the crime also.


When we are moving the body we plant some DNA of another criminal on the corpse in order to frame him (I don't recall who "he" is) and we think we have been very clever. However, then my best pal from high school makes a terrible mistake.


source

This friend of mine is the same one I referenced before who is always telling lies to try to gain some sort of notoriety. Seeking fame he "discovers" the body and tells the media / police that he randomly found it in the field and somehow this all starts to come back on he and I. Not in a "you're definitely guilty type way" but an ongoing investigation by CSI or something.

There are other, more personal aspects of the dream that keep repeating but the overall theme is the same - A guy who I actually like is the murder victim (by me) and my best friend from high-school who is a terrible liar but a very loyal friend is the person I choose for my partner in crime (dumb idea on my part - but it is a dream.)

Another strange aspect of this recurring dream is that inside the dream, I actually realize that it is a dream - and normally this would force me to realize I am sleeping and then I will immediately wake up... but not with this one. After realizing that this is fantasy I am still stuck in the dream, which can be fun because I know there are no actual consequences for my actions and this is where things get crazy like I have the ability to fly or shoot fireballs out of my hands etc.

This is the only one in my entire life that seems to be like a series, because this has carried on for many months and there is always some sort of new development as I re-enter the fantasy so to speak. I have told the two people (in real life) about their involvement in this and everyone finds it quite amusing especially the guy that has no dialogue because he is just a corpse.

Do you have any recurring dreams / nightmares?

Sort:  

Lol. I don't read too much into dreams as I don't remember most of them. Maybe you killed the wrong friend and you should rewind and swap the bodies. The friend who basically gave up the game should be the dead one. I think it will have a better outcome.

You've discovered the world of lucid dreaming! It's one of the most enjoyable things you can possibly have happen when you're asleep. As a teenager, I used to be able to do it all the time. As I've gotten older, the times I am able to enter the lucid state while remaining in a dream have become fewer and further between, but every so often I'll have a happy accident and boom, there it is. Enjoy them while they last! :)

yeah, normally once i realize that I am dreaming it is only a short amount of time before I wake up. Is it rare? Because I think I experience this about 2x a month.

I don't have reoccurring dreams infact the fact that you now understand that killing your friend, burying him over and over is a dream makes me wonder if isn't an elevated trance because basically most times people are always unaware of their dream state is the most prolific feature of a dream however I think yours is strange and reoccurring dreams to me are rare except maybe when when going through some constant psychology thingy even yet they hardly know it's a dream no matter how long, I think I'm talking from experience and well

This is very interesting! Your recurring dreams reflect your obsession with films and stories telling. This has somehow been connected to some resolved issues or personality traits you remembered deep in your brain. The sci-fi capability is trying to resolve something lurking in the recess of your memory! You tried to killed it but could not really got rid of that!

It’s time not to play game with your sharp intellect as you knew you were dreaming! Resolve this issue and get on with a new and more fantastic recurring dream!! LoL

lol. i don't think you get to choose your dreams. I wish that was possible!

Sometimes it happened to me to make "serial dreams", like a tv-series...I mean that I didn't dream the all story in a single dream, but it developed in different dreams over time. So once the story was started, I contineud it in the next dreams even months later or years!! It is as if the story had a parallel life inside me, and somentimes I press the "play" button to see how it continue!!

yeah, that is how this one is... only the season just started. Glad I am not the only one.

ahahah I'm glad too...and if you wanna know... in one of my best dream I learnt how to fly just shooting energy from my hands!! And when I woke up, I was so excited that I tried immediately to do it...but I failed :)

I will never be ticked off about my "late to work/class" dreams ever again.

oh i have those all the time too. Like I have been missing a lot of one particular college class and really need to turn up and can't even find the classroom

I used to get dreams like that whenever I ingested a zinc supplement before going to sleep. Damn thing sent me to the matrix and I would sometimes wake up with a cold sweat!

Unfortunately, most of those dreams were nightmares :(

Sigmund Freud used to say that dreams like that are made up of fragmented memories of your past. It could be a TV show, an experience from school, or even a family event. He thought those dreams indicated something about ourselves.

That’s strange how you keep having the same parts of a dream, and that you can remember it so vividly! When I was a kid I used to have the same dream of being at (what turned out to be) and oil field, and just watching an oil drill in a desert. No idea why I was having that at a very young age, it still doesn’t make any sense to me. I do also have nightmares about bad situations involving relationships sometimes which really sucks....

I had a returning nightmare as a child.

At some point I could Tell myself it is just a dream and beat up the Monster.

I have never had a recurring dream like you, friend. But what you experience is a rare event and not everyone can experience it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62379.78
ETH 3034.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78