Supercheap necklaces in a random market

in #getyerlearnon5 years ago

A long long long long time ago I had a necklace that I really liked. It was a simple Chinese coin attached to a black almost shoestring-like material and it was likely a random find at a beach tourist junk stand. I lost it one day while diving and have been searching for a replacement for a long time to no avail. I thought I had finally found it the other night.

53231233_425151031621530_3247506119186186240_n.jpg

These kinds of stands are all over the place and this particular one was just a tiny little table setup outside of a temple on the sidewalk. Normally I don't pay these places any mind but when a necklace costs a mere 60 Baht you can afford to be wrong. I'm not gonna lie, these are not high quality medallions and the neck strap thing is not at all durable. I think that if anyone was expecting them to be they have a strange idea about what it is possible to acquire for less than $2.

In the end I decided to support the metal scene and get the pentagram one, which i thought was an odd available option given the rather docile other amulets that they had available.

53004999_401263080623783_4571646456393367552_n.jpg

Is this finally a replacement for the beloved necklace I had years ago? Not even close - the amulet / pentagram thing is very cheaply made and I think if it were to come in contact with almost anything it would break. I question if it is even made of metal.

I didn't bother posting the location of this place because it was simply a table on the side of the road and who knows where they will be next. This is just an example of some of the fun, random, and cheap stuff that can be found all over Chiang Mai.

Sort:  

I think for the price it is a good buy for the necklace, the necklace might not be of a big quality but the amulet / pentagram design looks really cool and unique. I think I like the simple design on the necklace @gooddream

Wow! I had no idea you are interested in such trinkets!! This shows your sentimental and artistic side, my friend!! 😌😇😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

well i don't know if i really am interested. It was just so cheap and it had a pentagram so i was like, why not?

Yap! Why not! But I prefer a hexagrams meaning good health!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Trinkets. Sometimes you get your money's worth, sometimes not. @drishtipoonam, suggests Delhi. Maybe. Thanks for the post @gooddream.

It looks nice but you will be suprised to know it's much cheaper in delhi with more quality and heaviness.

Posted using Partiko Android

The cool thing about this is you can ask to make you a custom necklace for a cheaper price.

Like you said, for the price, you can afford for it to not last that long or not be super great quality. Hopefully, eventually, you will find something that can be an adequate replacement for the one you lost long ago. In the mean time this looks like a suitable stand-in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10