The Talos Principle (PC Game) : maybe i'm just not very smart

in #getyerlearnon6 years ago

This game is classified as a "first person puzzle game" and the graphics are pretty good as is the voice acting. However, I didn't like it and I seem to be outside of the norm as it has an 85 / 100 Metacritic rating.

The_Talos_Principle_-_Logo_Dark.png

You play the role of an android roaming around a massive complex to the narration of some god-like being that gives you instructions on where to go next. The puzzles involve various parts of the complex where you have to disable the defenses in order to get to the end.

MV5BMWYxYjFhMTItODA0MS00NzBjLTk4YjYtMTFmNDY0ZWVjZjAwXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMTQyMzg5Mg@@._V1_.jpg

Once you collect enough of them, you have to assemble them correctly in order to open the following areas.

TP-2.jpg

The game kind of reminded me of MYST, if you an remember that, although it wasn't nearly as obtuse or difficult. To me the puzzles in Talos were just kind of well, i don't want to say dumb, but tedious might be a better word. The individual puzzles also get quite difficult at a very early portion of the game and this frustrated me from continuing further. I was only on the second set of puzzles before I had to use youtube to find the answer. I feel as though that is too early.

There are also computer terminals scattered throughout the realm where you have to interact with the network in order to gather some information. It is a lot of reading and I don't mean to be lazy, but especially on level two, i don't want to be doing homework and taking notes. It isn't my idea of relaxing fun anyway.

talos_terminal.jpg

I guess this game is enjoyed quite universally and it kind of made me wonder if I am getting dumber as I get older, because I just didn't get it.

If you feel differently I would be very interested to hear about it because not only did I find this game too difficult too early, but I also found it to be boring.

5 / 10

Sort:  

You're on a roll today @gooddream. I don't think I've seen you post so many times in a day before.

I'm also quite awed by your knowledge of anything entertainment, I could try, but it's quite obvious I'd never match it

it's raining like crazy today in Krabi and I don't have a car :) Hence the posting madness

That's why is called puzzle games yh, i dont like games that too difficult either and is also one the reasons why i don't like puzzle games, they take to much of my brain power😄, you end up feeling exhausted after playing meanwhile i play because and bored and tired and probably feeling lazy too

I wasn't too sure about this game, even after seeing trailers, but after 5 minutes I was convinced that this game would have me hooked. My first playing session I had my eyes glued to the screen, intrigued with the art style, the philosophical undertones, and the mystery that lay waiting for me. Each puzzle feels unique and rewarding, and the amazing soundtrack wraps it all up in a bow.

To be realistic I just hate games like these. You shouldn't mind because it annoys ya too. Its very mind teasing and forces you think as if your studying for some tests. Solving puzzles and all. I mean games are meant to be fun and provide a bit of relaxation. However such games sharpen the mind, thats one benefit. The other is the graphics. Nothing else. The is for sharing. Keep up the good work.

Hii... Gooddream

I think You are gamelover.
You do all the things very well such as you write blogs nicely and provide great information as well.

I you have some times for your support.
Plzzzzzzz... Make one post how you become extremely successful in steemit.

I want to know about your journey in Brief.

Hmm true that @gooddream. These games are said to be boring by many of the people. Its a very complicated game and requires alot of brain. It is like solving MCQ's in an exam which you haven't prepared for. Apart from these bugs I like the graphics and gameplay. Thanks for sharing.

yes i also guess enjoyed everyone this game i love puzzle game its really nice :)
and if you don't mind Please UPVOTE my first article

I have played games of it likes but not this one, I like game that features puzzle, they always seems to involve more reasoning rather than just following some set of fixed rules like Mortal Kombat and so on. I can say you are super good when it comes to selection of video games. I will like to ask you to recommend me a game that you liked most, out of those ones you have rated.

This should play in order to sharpen the knowledge.

i think game is good bt not addictive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71