Your life is likely not as bad as you think

in #getyerlearnon5 years ago

I was on a train back from Brooklyn to Manhattan when i got angry. I was angry because the train had stopped an no one made an announcement. I was delayed for what turned out to be twenty minutes and that just seemed like the end of the world to me because i needed to pee and still had lots stops before my destination.

I was traveling from Avenue H to Canal street- a likely heavily traveled route, just like all the routes from and to any train stops on the NYC subway line. I was completely selfish, wondering why the train operators could care so little about poor little me who needed to get home so badly. I was feeling sorry for myself because I don't live there and this seemed like a massive inconvenience to me.

The car was stuck for reasons that I was not made aware of, for around 15 minutes. It was 1 o'clock in the morning and all i could think of was how this was terribly inconvenient for me. ... Then I looked around.

subway-train-with-homeless-man-asleep-on-seat-in-nyc_nykpmzije__F0000.png

This somewhat cold and uninviting area that I really just wanted to get out of was actually where someone else in the very same car as me had chosen as their bed for that night. While I was thinking "woe is me" for being trapped on the non-moving car this person likely had nowhere to go that night and there are countless others in the same situation.

I needed to use a bathroom. This person likely hadn't had a bathroom of their own for quite some time. When i put everything into perspective it became quite obvious to me that my life (despite the fact that it was very late and my train was late and I needed to pee) might still be pretty good.

I had a home to go back to. I have a few family members in my life. I still make a bit of money.

Everyone who is out there crying about Steem crashing. Everyone who is thinking their life is boring. Everyone who was upset about their meal at some point today maybe needs a moment like I had that night: Something to put your life into perspective. If you have money to eat, a computer to type on, and a place to sleep at night then you (and me) are already pretty well-off compared to a lot of other people in the world.

PS> I did NOT take the photo above but the story is real. I also know that we can't help everyone and I am not suggesting that we do or even can. I am just trying to say that this was a moment for me that I realized that all the times that I think my life is just filled with bad luck (such as now, with the crypto crash and what not) that maybe, just maybe; i have it so well in my life that minor inconveniences have started to seem like big ones...

And they are not. I hope that all or most of you find yourselves in at least as wonderful conditions as I do despite the fact that I am sure we both wish they were better.

Sort:  

Very true,there’s always someone worse off than your self. Thanks

Many times, the difficult situations of life depress us and fill us with disappointment, without thinking that there are people with many problems and in much more unfavorable conditions. In my country, Venezuela, there are many people in street conditions, beggars, without shelter or food, a regrettable situation that worries us and that we must all approach it in one way or another to try to resolve it. Greetings and a strong hug.

I think people are evolutionary biased towards recognising negative things about their life as a hard wired mechanism for sensing danger from the day of the cave man.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00