Starting To Think About The Spring And Starting Seeds

in #ghsc5 years ago

Hey everyone! It has been quite some time since I posted a post here in #ghsc about our homestead. With all the winter weather, there is not a lot of really good things to blog about. Well, recently we have received a brief stint of warmer weather and it really gotten me to thinking about this Spring and the things we have planned. The main priorities involve getting the garden in motion and keeping an eye on some of the cattle that are supposed to be giving birth soon.

First up, I have really been getting garden fever and am starting to get a few things around to get the plants to growing indoors (soil, trays, etc). I still have to get a few extra varieties of seeds from the store and put an order into Baker’s Creek to have all the seeds I am using this year. I will need to get these loose ends timed up, so I can get the seeds started around the end of February.

IMG_2994 (2).JPG

The two main things that I will be starting coming up are the heirloom tomatoes and heirloom peppers. The plants took off and did really well last year, so I am hoping they will do well again this year. I am going to have to try a different thing or two to see if I can increase the yields of the heirloom plants because it is hard to be the production of the plants you buy from the store. Alongside these, I am hopefully going to try a few new things and take another shot at growing the ground cherries to see if I can get them to takeoff. (Here is what some of the tomatoes looked like last year.)

IMG_4589 (2).JPG

Have any of you started your garden plants yet? What varieties are you planning on growing this year?

Thanks for reading and stopping by!

Sort:  

I was just talking about starting seeds with @edthecanadian. Thinking about getting the longer germination plants started the end of this month. Probably squash, pumpkins and watermelons. Soon the snow peas and cabbage can be put in the snowy ground.

I have a general idea if what I think I am wanting to grow, but I am sure if I get to looking I will find so many different things that I really want to try. Haha!

I tried regular peas last year, but did not have much luck for some reason, but yeah I have to start thinking about getting some summer and acorn squash.

Where I volunteer we first have to ride out the manure deposited at the gate. After that we start in March with some cold loving plants but not really before april. Too many to mention here.

I know exactly what you are talking about! If I do not write everything down, it is real easy to forget what varieties are what. Haha!

I'm not really having a garden this year. But I will be starting Walla onions and a very few herbs, on March 1.

Are your onions going to be sets or from seed? I tried starting some from seed this last year, but they never do as well as the sets do, for me at least.

I have never used sets, so I can't speak to them. I have always started from seed. The thing about onion seed is it is very fragile. It looses germination easily. I keep all my seed in the refrigerator and don't try to use onion seed over 1 year old.

The normal results:

Cortland onions to root cellar1 crop Sept. 2018.jpg

These are the storage onions. These are the Walla Walla Sweets, that won't store:

Walla Walla onions1 crop Aug. 2014.jpg

The thing about onions is most of them are daylight sensitive, meaning they need a lot of direct light and long days to develop. I start mine under good plant lights with at least 14 hrs of light a day.

Sweet! We put out 40 strawberry plants last week and 2 goji plants. I've got 72 more strawberries started now and will be starting many more things soon. We'll be putting out over 60 types of plants this year, most of which are perennials, so no more planting after that! Woot! Lots of food crops and lots of medicinal herbs. I've already direct sowed raspberries, persimmon, echinacea, and mullein.

Nice @nateonsteemit! We love having those strawberries coming in and am hoping to make a ton of jelly this year.

We have blackberries, grapes, and blueberries, but I have been really thinking about getting some raspberries started. Maybe if I can get everything else going, then I might try to work on them. Haha!

@sagescrub has some raspberry seeds for sale on Homesteaders Co-op. Tons of seeds per packet, literally hundreds. And you can buy with steem or SBD using SteemConnect.

Okay, I will have to check it out. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75