🚽 DIY Composting Toilet. Repurposed Reclaimed Wood. ♻️

in #ghsc5 years ago (edited)

My-Post

heart-divider-clipart-1-jpg

Here is my first DIY composting toilet. The wood is all reclaimed / repurposed, some of it pre-Civil War and some from pallets. This version of the toilet is very bare bones. it is by no means up to many standards. That is in part because it is being placed temporarily in a corner of the house with a nice curtain hung around it as a stall. It is only meant to get us through the winter and until we move the house to a property of our own, At which time, we will be adding a semi-outdoor bathroom off the back of the house.

We bought a nice 16.5" wooden seat with metal hinges from Walmart. As of now the wood hasn't been treated or covered to be fully waterproof; I have some plastic from the inside of a broken LCD TV that I will be affixing around the hole after applying as eco-friendly sealant as I can find. Once it is more permanently placed I will cut a hole and make exhaust our of tin cans.

People have asked me if i would be willing to do this sort of work, particularly for crypto, or if i would sell plans. Firstly, I would love to do this as work and intend to do it under the moniker of the family business we came up with years ago, Love-Reign (our daughters' middle names). Second, I cannot provide plans as I do this more creatively and logically. I am not trained, I have many years experience building stages and sets as well as handy work on the side years ago.

The idea is that we would design, build, furnish and decorate for people living or transitioning to sustainable minimal lifestyles. My partner, Mary, worked as a frame-to-finish carpenter and is extremely artistically talented. In the coming days I will be working on creating an online presence as Love-Reign. I've considered starting a #fundition. I have several more pieces to share with you. As I chip away at this endeavor I will update you in each consecutive post. If you would like to help feel free to contact me via Discord - Movement19#0266


Steemit_line

If you enjoy the music I curate and content I create, please visit & follow on these platforms:

mixcloud-1 sola-token128 Twitter-NEW facebook-logo patreon-logo

🙏 Thank_You_Steemit ✊.


m19barcode


globocop_thin_red_line


pal_sig_anim_trans


SMA_steemit_music_alliance_M19_logo

@smacommunity


Canna-Curate-winner-bygrow-pro5

@canna-curate


ghscollective_logo_01_1

@ghscollective


Whaleshares_Logo_150


NYCR_logo


banner_moonbot
@moonbot
Receive one upvote daily by sending 1SBD or 2 steem per month.


globocop_thin_red_line


#vaccinescauseavainflew

Sort:  

Super cool! Love your resourcefulness.

Cute accent on the handle too :)

Congratulations @movement19! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I been meaning to ask..wtf do you wipe yer ass with? Hippy..lol

Water!! I mean in Asia we don't wipe our ass with toilet paper. Just splash water, wash our hand that's it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I keep a glass jar to fill with water and use that to splash on my ass and then wash my hands.

Awesome... nice work. Do you know you can remove the watermark in Adobe Spark by clicking on it? And Sparkpost is a great app...... Gonna build a composting loo soon!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent composting toilet, I wish you all the best movements :)

Ha Ha. I see what you did there.

Looks great with that reclaimed wood, im not one for plans either 😆 takes some pressure off when it looks nothing like the plans haha

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11