TOMATO HORNWORMS EAT TOBACCO?

in #ghsc6 years ago

Did you know this?


Personally, I was completely ignorant, so I was in for a big surprise. These things are everywhere!

TOMATO HORNWORMS EAT TOBACCO VLOG

THIS WAS A SURPRISE

Who would have guessed that a big, wriggling handful of Tomato Hornworms would have come off of some Tobacco plants? Certainly not me. I'd never even heard of this before, so it was a big surprise to me.

Normally, my tobacco plants look big, full, and healthy. They've looked this was for weeks now and I've never had any issues. I certainly wasn't expecting to find one just shredded down to a skeleton, but that's exactly what happened.

Just look at this poor plant. It's ruined! As it turns out, the tomato hornworms not only started in on the tobacco too, but they've been munching on our potato plants as well. Who knew? I sure didn't. If you've got a garden, look out for these pests. They don't just attack tomatoes anymore!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-fat-hornworms-that-have-been-eating-my-tobacco

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

It’s actually called Tobacco Hornworm (Manduca sexta)@papa-pepper ❤️

Wow! I just verified that! Thanks a lot! I NEVER KNEW!

Thanks for the thumbs up @papa-pepper. You could use those sadly damaged tobacco leaves to make tobacco water ( organic pest control) its a good way to use up your cigarette butts if you are a smoker too.
Side note - when your tobacco hornworms eat tobacco leaves it causes them to give off chemical alerts in the scent of their saliva which is said to draw the predators that eat them so hey call the tobacco police on themselves so to speak..... not before they do a lot of damage though.... maybe let your chickens walk around he garden for a few hours a day, they are the most efficient at bug control and they do less damage than people think unless you have tender new lettuce plants, those they could eat quickly but overall they do an amazing job at removing the pests that drive gardeners mad! Happy homesteading!💚🌴🌈🦋💛

Oh, they're look alikes!

Nature at its best.
They green and that is surely what they feed from, leaves.
How do you dispose of them ?
Keep on postin'

Hungry little bastards!....:)...

I knew. But there's some other little one inch "worm" that is much more persistent. You can catch them at the "egg stage," under the leaf if you're willing to check almost every day. Never did identify it, some moth I suppose. Yum-Yum NIGHTSHADES! tomato, potato, egg plant, peppers, tobacco.

I'll keep an eye out! Thanks!

Now I'm more interested in the tobacco plants than the bugs - do you smoke it like Native American style?

No, we don't smoke it, but it can supposedly be used to help deter pests and parasites.

Birds are really smart. But smoking is also very bad for you ... i agree do not smoke tobacco
https://www.newscientist.com/article/2138655-birds-use-cigarette-butts-for-chemical-warfare-against-ticks/

Now What is the treatment? How to get rid of them?

I've got some available, I'll be sprinkling tomorrow!

The littles can help, it’s pretty safe :)

Wow those guys are relentless!! I have suffered their munching any number of times but you would have thought tobacco would have been a stopper!🤣 You live and learn eh! Good info thanks

They really destroyed the tobacco plant,i don't have any idea about this I would have been very happy to share some info. Thanks for sharing k

waw !!! very unique caterpillar @papa-pepper your posts are very high quality comrades.

Yep, those things will destroy just about anything soft. I had one eat an eggplant last year, it actually ate half the fruit overnight but didn't touch the plant. I've seen them eat okra too. Do you have saddle back worms out there? They tend to like corn and tobacco (got eat up by some in a tobacco field when I was a kid.) They don't do as much damage but they hurt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11