Tough Weekend: Had hoped to post a Goatie Birth Announcement but...

in #ghsc5 years ago

Sometimes, it just all goes to crap.

Some days are magical, everything goes your way, and others, it's a flop.

That sort of sums up my weekend.


Saturday, my husband came home from work, tired and fed up with stupid people. He was grouchy and spent a long time working out to burn of that negativity.
He managed it, and by the late afternoon, things were fine, well, except that I could feel a migraine coming on....
Later in the evening, migraine was at mid power, when my son came out of his room saying he didn't feel well. Within 20min he was puking his guts out. Poor guy...

I ended up 'sleeping' on the couch with him Saturday night.


(I use the term 'sleeping' VERY loosely here. More like a series of uncomfortable short naps interspersed with crushing head pain. (Yay migraines!)

Next morning, he was peachy keen!


Totally well. Bouncing off the walls. I still don't know what caused him to start vomiting.
I was tired and my lovely migraine was at 100%. I spent most of the day lying on the couch while the family played board games and such.

I usually head out to feed the animals at 4 pm.


My headache was finally leaving so I decided to rest an extra 30 min. At 4:30 I headed out to feed and right away I could hear Pixie, my smallest Nigerian Dwarf doe, yelling.

Something was wrong.



P1040793.jpg

She has been hugely pregnant for what seems like forever.


Being small as she is, I've been checking up on her frequently. I figured she must have 3 in there, maybe even 4! I rushed to check on her, and apparently she had been struggling for a while already. A VERY large doeling was stuck halfway out. I managed to pull her, and it was too late. She had already suffocated. Pixie was tired. Pretty soon, another large baby was coming. This one was presented badly, with his head twisted around backwards. I managed to pull him finally with the help of a lamb-pulling tool, and he too, was already gone.

Babies are born here frequently. Most of the time, everything goes well.


There are times, once in a while, where things go wrong. It is hard, but it is doubly hard if you know that, had you been there to help from the beginning, those babies would have made it. I know, it's just bad luck, how was I to know? One of those, 'live and learn' situations... Yes, I've lost babies before; it happens. Yes, I still cried.

Poor Pixie is sad today. Bleating softly and looking depressed. She is missing her babies. She is a devoted mother, and one can only wonder how much she understands.



P1010272.jpg


page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for stopping by. I had hoped to be able to share a birth announcement with you guys this week.


But, like the song says, 'You can't always get what you want'. Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose.


That's life.
 
page-break-1024x256.png


Badge comp.png

Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

I'm so sorry! I cry every time I lose a kid too. I find it impossible not to get invested. Every little life is so precious. Give Pixie a hug from me.

Thanks!
She's having a hard day.
You're right, every little life IS precious! ♥

Is she eating? I had a doe who lost her kid to toxoplasmosis three months into her pregnancy. She was so depressed she didn't eat for three days.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, thanks. Eating very well, but she keeps going to the shed where she gave birth and calling for her babies. :(
She will be fine, I think, but it is just heart-breaking to see her.

So sorry.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oooh. Bummer. Yes, it's awful when you can imbue fault. Life and death happens on its own terms.

So true...
Thanks for the kind comment. :)

It's really sad that the little one didn't make it :( I'm sure mom must realize this too.

Thanks.
She does for sure. She keeps going to the shed where she gave birth to call for her little ones. :(

Oh no @squishysquid, that's so sad, two of them gone!

It is. I was really hoping I was in time to at least save the second one, but nope, he was already gone... Such a sad thing.

So sorry for you and Pixie. Glad the mama goat had no trouble with her 2 boys...

Thanks. She will be fine, and I am okay now too. :)
It sure does help to have a couple of cuties to play with!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 398 (02/12/19)

Oh no!!!
I really hope the week has turned out better than the weekend...
So sorry about losing the two ...
Hugs <33

Oh yes, much better, thank yoU!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71