Life Is About Giving. II, Contributed by @Olawalium

in #gifts6 years ago

...continued...


pexels-photo-933622.jpg


Giving should not be affected by who is able to repay you. Life is about giving and we can’t exhaust giving because there is always something more to give.

The time you feel you have given all you needed to give, you will notice there is always more to give.

If we care enough, share enough, the world would definitely have enough. The world has enough of our needs but never enough for our greed.

We are all searching for purpose. We want to feel fulfilled, and sometimes we search for relevance and in the midst of all of these, we shouldn’t forget that, in the midst of all we seek, giving is necessary in life. We need to be there for each other and that is what life is about. It is as much as it is about you, as it is about others. As we live for self, we need to live for others.

Do some random act of kindness. Brighten someone’s life with your smile. There are some little things we can give like a smile, a compliment, just about anything. Once we are sensitive and build ourselves up to help more, what we need to fill with that mindset pops up. We have to desire it before we can be it.


pexels-photo-95425.jpg


I need to point the fact that you will be taken for granted but when your motivation has always been to help when it has become your habit in the first place, then it wouldn’t matter and you need to be able to draw the line sometimes.

Drawing the line is to have a renewed strength in you not to give up doing what you have decided to do. We are humans after all and it is easy to get easily discouraged. Giving should be our lifestyle and we shouldn’t limit giving to only material things, that’s a wrong way to view giving.

Giving makes me happy. These are the angles at which I view giving:

  1. When people ask me for things, I am excited because it is a huge compliment. They expect me to have it and they trust me enough to ask me. I don’t see it as a bother at all, in fact, I enjoy it more. That is why when people ask me for a particular thing and I don’t have that thing, I feel bad, but I make sure I don’t leave them with nothing. If it is just a word of advice and comfort, I must not let them leave with nothing.

  2. When I give I feel fulfilled. I feel this excitement when I see how much it means to the people I give whatever it is too​. It makes me happy, knowing that day didn't go without making someone happy.

...to be continued...

Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn’t bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love’s chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor’s order.


If you enjoyed this post, follow @Olawalium

Sort:  

wonderful post about giving

Wonderful comment about giving.

Once again, very well put my man! You mention that when somebody asks for something then there is an element of being complemented in that act of asking. This is so true and one of those finer connotations that are easy to miss.

Once you are asked for something, it tells you that first of all, the person asking you considers you worthy of fulfilling his request. I also think that there is a second element to this as well. This person also trusts you enough to be vulnerable in front of you and allows himself to be humble in front of you.

Brilliant. Apart from the person trusting us to ask, it shows their level of humility to ask. Love that.

Thanks a lot for that.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It has been my experience that when you’re focused on giving to others you’re less likely to become consumed by your own concerns and challenges. Giving provides an opportunity to look beyond our own world and see the bigger picture.

A great perspective can be achieved by stepping out of our own world and venturing into the world of other people. Your worries and challenges may not seem as significant when compared to other people’s situations.

The act of giving kindles self-esteem and brings happiness.
After several years of soul searching, I discovered that my unhappiness was due to my want for things to fill the void of loneliness.

This is lovely. Even in helping others we can find our own happiness. Sometimes after we have helped another person, that is when we receive the breakthrough for ours. Our breakthrough can sometimes be tied to this same person we have chosen to help. Maybe all that person needed to unlock his or her next level is what we have been able to give and that lifts them enough to help us with our next level too. Life is that intertwined sometimes.

Thanks a lot as usual.

Awesome sir and as always it gives me delight to read your post. Giving is and should be a part of life. Painfully, because there is a great deal of ignorance we havent yet appreciated indeed the potentials inherent in making people around us happy because in the long term it makes us also happy.
A popular parable says: When one person is rich in a big family, the entire family is still terribly impoverished.
More so giving gives you freshness with respect to your illustration from the part I of this series using the drum of water. It clears our lives from been redundant and stagnated.
thanks for sharing

Still Elisedaniels...Love for the Gospel.

Sweet! It surely clears our lives from being redundant and stagnant. We should be a channel not a container so we won't outlive our relevance.

Thanks a lot for that. Duly appreciated.

When we give, it should be wholeheartedly without reciprocating what we might have in return for what we have given. We should emulate giving habit in life since we don't always have everything we ever needed, we still ask from relatives, friends and people around us. It is not always about financial assistance all the time, sometimes it could be advised or counsel. The rewards of giving are priceless. If you want to have happiness, you need to give happiness. If you want love, you need to give love. It is only in giving that you receive. No matter what your circumstances in life, you have the ability to give.

I encourage you to look for opportunities where you can give and help others. The gift of joy will come to you when you give of yourself to others. That’s what life is all about. Let’s practice and commit our lives to giving joy. Try it! It works. Thanks for sharing this wonderful piece, it is sermonizing. Givers never lack.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75