Gluttony: Observation is the Tool to Dealing with TemptationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gluttony5 years ago

Bless me, Father, for I have sinned: I lust after greasy double cheeseburgers and fried chicken legs and Ruffles straight out of the bag. I covet hot Krispy Kreme donuts that melt on my tongue. I worship bowls full of peanut M&M’s, first savoring them one by one, then stuffing my mouth with handfuls, then wetting my finger to pick up those last bits of chocolate dust and candy shell. My brain pings with pleasure; my taste buds groan with desire. This happens over and over, day after day, and that is how I got here, closer to the end of my life than the beginning, weighing almost a quarter of a ton.
~ Tommy Tomlinson link



link


gluttony

noun
glut·​tony | \ˈglət-nē,
ˈglə-tə-nē
plural gluttonies

Definition of gluttony

1 : excess in eating or drinking

2 : greedy or excessive indulgence accused the nation of energy gluttony
link


Blaming isn't the Answer

I am not here to establish blame. What I am curious about is habits that become so strong that they seem impossible to change or conquer. And then what is the root of the cause? Why is the habit so important that we cannot change it in spite of the fact that it will kill us in the end?


We are our own worst enemy.
~ Hal Duncan


Humans are Complex Creatures

What works for one, won't work for another.

It's like a child's desire for things that is never sated. You give them sometimes exactly what they thought they wanted but you notice that the desire isn't quelled for long. Soon after they are pining for the next idea that popped into their heads.

When I was a kid, Saturday morning cartoons provided our young minds with the imprinting of lots of desires through commercials. Then there was the just before Christmas Sears catalog. That was an enormous book filled with toys to please all the girls and boys. My brother and I spent hours figuring out what we were going to ask Santa for when we met him at the mall.

Since the biggest obstacle is you and your inner dialogue, notice what words you use when you look in the mirror. Nothing will be achieved by self-loathing. Be realistic with your goals (and give yourself healthy rewards). Keep a diary so you can look back on this new chapter in your life. You will be amazed at the insights you may discover just by putting pen to paper.


It's a Lifestyle Change

Nothing important in life is easy. Each step we take in the right direction helps us achieve even the smallest goal.

Some ideas to help achieve a healthier lifestyle:

  • Drink more water.
  • Add healthy fats to your diet.
  • Get plenty of rest.
  • Eat a big salad every day.
  • Remove high fructose corn syrup from your diet.
  • Make as much of your own meals from scratch as possible.
  • Read the labels on the pre-made foods. If you cannot pronounce the ingredient, you probably shouldn't be eating it.

Some Form of Exercise and Movement is Necessary for Overall Health and Well-being

Go for a daily walk. After awhile, try to increase the time and length. Be patient. If you don't have a dog, borrow someone's dog that needs a walk or find a friend to make the exercise more enjoyable. It's not about becoming a power runner or walker but just forming a new habit that will help with digestion, circulation, joint health and mobility, and it will give you an uplift of positive endorphines. You deserve it.

Rome wasn't built in a day. Be patient and kind to yourself. It took time to put the weight on and it will take time to take it off.


Be well, take care, and as always, God bless!!


Sort:  

I really want to start fasting more often. Oof, it’s tough! I told God that in addition to my prayer request, I’m going to fast as well. I don’t know how long of a fast it will be, I’m taking it one day at a time. But now I feel accountable, since I don’t want to go against what I told God I would do. Wouldn’t you know it, today has been full of stressers! In other words, many temptations to give in and break my fast. I’m still keeping my word though.

I notice that my body goes through times where I want to naturally fast. (Nothing sounds good to eat, so I don't.) How long do you usually fast for @hebrewhousewife?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04