"Quick" Post on Glyphosate and What YOU Can Do

in #glyphosate5 years ago

Note: steempeak says this post is a six minute read. I promise I've tried my hardest to make it worth your time. I'll be brief to be timely, and I'll develop deeper ideas in conversation below.

JURY AWARDS COUPLE $2 BILLION IN GLYPHOSATE CANCER TRIAL

This is a hot topic lately, and for good reason. This issue is relevant to people that eat food and drink water. If that's not you, feel free to disregard this post.

Particular thanks to @jennislay for her inspiring post this morning, welcoming conventional farmers and offering her aid and advice in converting to a more natural system and remediating the damages from past. GO GIVE HER SOME BIG LOVE! She deserves it!

In the @naturalmedicine discord server (invite link at the bottom), @viking-ventures asked:

Is there any way to detox that stuff (glyphosate) out of the body?

What a pertinent question!

Of course, that sent me into a frenzy. I don't know if my thumbs have ever typed so fast. Our beloved @artemislives reminded me how momentary those messages will be, and how easily buried in conversation. She suggested I make a post, and here I am.


Glyphosate, and what you can do

This is a rabbit hole I've been exploring for a while. There's a lot to it, and I'll share everything I effectively can. The bottom line is that you can help, you can learn, you can make a difference, and you can protect yourself! Be empowered!

First, it's important to know what glyphosate is and what it does. Glyphosate is the active ingredient in Roundup, the most used herbicide in the world. This article focuses on that ingredient, not other dangerous poisons commonly used in food production.

It is an antibiotic, a chelator, a dessicant, and a shitty herbicide. When I spoke with my holistic nutritionist, I was shocked when she told me that last bit. What helps it along are the petroleum byproducts that are not listed because they are inactive ingredients. Ask anyone what happens when they pour petroleum products on plants.

  • The antibiotic effects of glyphosate kill soil microorganisms.

  • The chelative effects target and bind up nutrients in the soil.

  • The dessicant effect dries the soil out.

What is soil without microorganisms, nutrients, and moisture? That soil cannot grow good nourishing food. Soil health is OUR health. Microorganisms, minerals, and water are essential to us, not just to the plants and animals we eat.

Glyphosate replaces glycine in our bodies.

Glycine is considered among the most important amino acids for the body. It exerts widespread influence over our bodies’ systems, structure, and general health, including cardiovascular, cognitive, and metabolic health... As an amino acid, glycine works as a protein builder in the body. In particular, glycine enables the production of collagen, a protein that is an essential component of muscles, tendon, skin, and bones. (Source)

In the most recent and popular cases, glyphosate has been linked to cancer. In less known studies, it has been linked to autism, Alzheimer's, and Parkinson's (Source) to name a few. In short, most health issues in the US can be linked to glyphosate. That podcast is an excellent place to start your own learning journey on this subject, and it's only half an hour long. Perfect for your commute!

To counteract it's effects, the most effective approach I've heard or found is bone stock. It is absolutely crucial that it be made with the bones of animals that are raised responsibly, organically, and on pasture. You can't buy this at the store, but be encouraged! You can get it affordably at your local farmer's market, or easily raise it yourself if you're really dedicated. I think my stock bones cost like six bucks, and last me about a week and a half with a glass of stock every day or two. And making the stock itself is simple.

IMG_20190514_211549569.jpg

Yum! I do it even simpler than that, and will give you a recipe in comments if you'd like.

The reason for the effectiveness of bone stock is the concentration of glycine and collagen! In conventionally raised animals, their feed is mostly GMO crops like corn and soy, which are genetically modified to withstand high doses of glyphosate, and grains, which are the biggest source of dietary glyphosate (despite being non GMO) due to it's use as a dessicant just days before harvest. Making your stock from industry animals will merely concentrate the glyphosate into something you're wanting to use to help counteract it.

Glyphosate does not wash off. Because of the way it works, it is inside the foods that it is applied to, and rinsing or peeling your produce won't get it off. That's simply not how it works.

Some studies have shown glyphosate levels in organic foods are nearly the same as in conventional crops. The wickedness of this compound is becoming more apparent the more we learn. The reason for it's pervasiveness is that it is in our water and that it is very difficult to remove from soil.

I suspect a valuable resource in remediation will be fungi, but that is just speculation based on listening to talks with Paul Stamets, Peter McCoy, and other mycologists. If we want to recover from this industrial disease, soil regeneration is going to be key moving forward. I'd like to see amateur mycologists doing some work here decentralizing the remediation efforts to take strain off of larger centralized companies like Paul's company Fungi Perfecti. I'm hopeful and encouraged, and I'm working towards being involved in this aspect myself.

For a very extensive read on glyphosate that contains eighty nine annotated sources and studies, as well as a more extensive list of what you can do to protect yourself, this paper is hard to beat.

If you found this post informative, upvotes are cool, but resteems are prime with this topic. We need more people exposed to this information, so please, please share!

Be blessed.
Be fruitful.
Stay relevant.

Nate.


coopbadgecontributor.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

video15501788461.gif
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!

Sort:  

Such an important topic. I have heard that infrared sauna also helps detox glyphosate. I asked a doctor to include a test to know the levels of glyphosate in my body..... body did she freak out. I did not get the test. However, i feel it is my due dilligence to know this. I'd love your stock recipe. I have some bones i need help chopping up was thinking to slash them with ACV and S&P. Roast them up and simmer them on low for a good 24 hrs with onion, carrot and celery. Bring on the bone broth! UPVOTE & RESTEEM & SHARED TO FB

That sounds like a gorgeous recipe! If they're chicken bones, they probably don't need chopped, as they'll be mush by the end of a good boiling.

I don't use veg in my stock yet. Just carcasses, unrefined salt, and herbs. The stock bones I get are breasted, winged, and legged, so most of the common cuts are gone and I'm left with the bones. The bit I want. It's a package of three carcasses, and I use em all in one batch that starts off with a gallon of water. I roast my bones from frozen for half an hour at 350°F. Enough to thaw and partially cook em. Then into the pot with acv. I slow pour until I've poured over everything, not a certain measure. Then I put it on the lowest setting on the stove for half an hour. Then add water and bring to a violent boil on the highest setting. Maintain the boil for five to thirty minutes (sometimes I forget lol). Then bring it down to a simmer for 10-18 hours and add herbs; on my stove the "4" setting is perfect. I like basil and thyme. This last time I set it on 4 and covered it so as to retain moisture. It led to a slow boil that I maintained for ten hours. Best batch yet, and I didn't have to add any water because it didn't boil off.

Idk if it's weird or not, but I give the meat and pulverized bones to the chickens to eliminate a waste stream. If I had a pig, that would be another good use for it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good! Good! Good! The bones i have are long cow leg LOL too big for the pot. Mmmmm craving broth now 🤣 drewls

I went to a workshop given by a Nurse Practitioner on this last summer. Glyphosate is a systemic chemical, it invades the cells of whatever it is applied to, and can not be washed off or cut away.

It has a 20 year half life, binding soil minerals and making them unavailable to plants.

It is used for drydown on many plants:

Roundup drydown.jpg

Source: https://www.facebook.com/pg/GMOFreeUSA/photos/?ref=page_internal

Awesome!! Sooooo much of the chatter in the discord is far better 'out there' as a post!! Yay you! Seriously important information. 100% upvote and resteemed.

Shared into the @c-squared curation community so hopefully more people can be informed. 🌿

You might consider writing more on this incredibly important topic and using the @ecotrain tag. 😊

Thank you so much for the love and the inspiration to make the post! These kinds of empowering discussions are my favorite. There's so much we can do to overcome these systems, and when it comes down to it, we're unstoppable. People just need the information.

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly! Maybe you can do a series of glyphosate related posts? @ecotrain would love to support those!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll use their tag next time for sure, thanks for the invitation! Do they have a discord community?

I've got another big post I've been working on that should be ready this week or next that I think would be relevant to them as well. Not necessarily about glyphosate, but about community, agriculture, and spirituality and one way they can go together to make the world better. Think that would be relevant as well?

Posted using Partiko Android

Here you go! https://steempeak.com/ecotrain/@eco-alex/get-upvotes-and-support-from-the-ecotrain-no-strings-attached

The discord invite link is contained in the post. We tend to use discord minimally, preferring to POST and get the info OUT THERE onto the blockchain for others to learn from and enjoy.

Please make sure to follow @eco-alex too - a very cool and visionary leader in the steem world. We'd love to see at lot more of your work on sustainable agriculture etc... the gist of what the community is about is contained in the post link ^^

Thank you so much for this valuable post.
I had wondered about Parkinson's actually - my other aunt's shakes remind me of Parkinson's - and she's always been known for gardening.
Nasty stuff. I really appreciate your efforts.
I love that I do bone broth normally, but I find organic difficult to afford. I will do better.

I don't know how much you spend on bones, but I know it's cheap for me to make a week's worth of stock. Like $6-7 cheap, and that's pastured birds, the best quality money can buy.

Also not sure your living situation, but chickens are cheap to raise on pasture, so ething to the tune of $9 a bird from chick to oven in eight weeks. That's not counting infrastructure, which can be as cheap or expensive as you like. I'm building a chicken tractor for a friend that I've sourced materials for for free. I'll be sure and make a post on the process, but the point is that this kind of thing can be done by many folks, even in a way that it can benefit multiple people. That'll be another post I'm thinking. :)

I'm so glad you're asking questions like these, they're incredibly crucial, and I'm really excited by your drive! Thank you, good job, and keep going! 💚

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm stuck in the city - apartments, no chickens for sure. I have raised backyard chickens though - in fact, I was just talking to someone on here (or one of the others) a couple days ago about the fact that when I raised my own chickens - and was feeding four growing boys and myself (plus a toddler), one of our own chickens would feed us happily for two meals - plus a soup. (And that was an older, but smaller bird than commercially - and everyone being satisfied - i.e, I didn't tell people not to take seconds.) One commercial chicken would only feed us for one meal. That opened my eyes.

Soon, I'll be able to buy more locally-grown meat (and we are often given deer/antelope in season - so even better than organic!) - which will really help a lot. It will be a little more expensive, but should feed us better, so it will be worth it for sure. Just waiting to find me some wheels!

Heck, I just saw you're in Wyoming! God's country. I bet you probably know more about livestock than I do!

Posted using Partiko Android

I've only been in Wyoming a couple of years now, but I raised livestock growing up. So, yeah, I know a bit about the subject. :-)

Hahahah perfect!

How do you like Wyoming? I always figured if there was some place for me other than Texas, it'd be Wyoming.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love it. High altitude takes a bit of getting used to - especially when I can.
It's probably the one place that can challenge Texas for cheap land, but most of it is non-arable due to the alkali flats left behind from an ancient lake. Still, one can do raised beds fairly easily.

It's dryer than Texas, cooler (I like both of those aspects, actually.) We still get awesome storms without being in tornado alley... As conservative as Texas if not more (positives and negatives there.) More cows/deer/antelope, etc. than people, by far, lol. Lots of open space with awesome views. Take a look through my photo series and be tempted.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Yum! Good cake! Thanks y'all!!!! Keep it up!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10