I Can Only Imagine Philosophy @senseicat

in #god6 years ago

My father-in-law recommended the movie "I Can Only Imagine" and it is a true life story about Bart Millard, a youngster growing in a small town in Texas during the 1980's. The beginning is something that many of us growing up during that era can relate to. Remember, the concept of getting home before dark? It is so entirely different today, as parents tend to "helicopter" over their children which ultimately fosters dependency rather than the goal of raising independent youngsters who are prepared for the reality of life.

I was extremely moved by this film and waited an hour and half to hear this triple platinum single for the very first time. The movie is about an abusive dad who repeatedly assaulted his son by unleashing his anger towards him. It is heartbreaking, especially in light that so many other people have experienced similar treatment from their so called loved ones.

i can only imagine.png
Though this movie is about redemption; I feel that the fundamental lesson is to be able to speak up about the pain that others have caused because one needs to understand the hurt so that you can truly move into forgiveness. I think that so often people continue to hide behind their personal mask of pain and it comes out every which way as you progress through life. It takes intense courage, but it is a first baby step toward the right direction in healing.

I believe that true healing starts from within. It is vital to remember that we are all sharing this planet together and the way that you speak about another affects all of us eventually. Let's move forward in PEACE and HUMILITY so that we can prepare ourselves for more GOOD in all of our lives.

Sort:  

I just watched this movie 2 days ago!

I really enjoyed it. I wasn’t expecting it to be that good.

I don’t know if I’ve ever seen Dennis Quaid play anything other than a wholesome, positive character. He did a good job exploring the other end of the spectrum.

The main actor who played Bart did a good job too!

Yes, I could not agree more! I think that Dennis Quaid's scope of acting really shined and sometimes it is better to take a riskier role rather than being pigeon holed into the same character repeatedly.

You are right. True healing has to start from within. One has to make the conscious decision of healing before starting the process of it.

It always begins with oneself and it takes determination and belief that we are truly worth the time, effort, and belief in ourselves as well as our greater power.

This sounds like a really good movie, and more of a "thinking" movie than much of the junk out there... will have to check this out!

=^..^=

It definitely had much needed depth and hopefully it will make other's who have similar experiences feel less alone and more understood.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I’ve been looking for a new movie / show to watch ... I’m adding this one to my list :)

Nice post
Please follow and upvote
Thanks

Nice pos
Please follow and upvote
Thanks

I love a true life story movies , I´m going to whatch that movie, thanks for share !
then I´ll post my comments about that
Regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85