Drawcrostinating

in #goku5 years ago

So it's been a long time again since I've drawn, don't think I have this year yet as I've been super busy but the other day my eyes landed on these papers in the store and I figured what the hell, maybe I can take a moment to think while sketching some stuff.

image.png

image.png

This was my first attempt from the reference in the picture and the source below.

google image search source

I noticed everything had gotten so much more difficult, where to start, so many constant looks back and forth depending on proportions but worst part was how quickly you got tired. I also have to admit I didn't scan the reference well enough before I decided to go with it, halfway through doing the shadows I realized how great this artists does them, knowing dragon ball from the past you could in many places see the lines that would be visible if it wasn't so dark. They were really difficult to copy and at some point I just went automode and starting thinking about something random I was listening to while just filling it up. Was pretty chill but I think if I'm gonna do this a bit more often I'm gonna have to do some less time consuming ones in the near future before I can move onto my own anime faces I want to start doing - or at least try and find a stlye I enjoy, then maybe move onto digital where I can create them for comic purposes. Not really sure yet what I want to work on but I might figure it out along the way.

Anyway, this pic was pretty cool cause the Super Saiyan race remind me that there are no limits and much like the tech we are using we will be spending a lot of time training and building before we come out of nowhere and show our real potential. =)

Having said that, this drawing may have some more potential as well if I were to color it with some markers (that's why I didn't draw the eyes in case I make it just as dark as original), but for that I'd need markers, any of you drawing pros have any good recommendations for anime stuff but not limited to it? I hear copic's are great but they cost so much it would feel like I'm overestimating my skills which are barely existent so far for original drawing.

Let me know a good recommendation and why and get a vote for your time! :)

Shoutout to @artbyclark for the motivation I got to pick up a pen again after viewing his content, go check it out it's really awesome!

Sort:  

Aye!!!🙌🙌😁 You started sketching again! 👏You did a really good job to. I think it’s awesome that you chose something from dragon ball z as well. I love that anime so much👌

I can totally relate about some pieces being too time consuming. Most pieces I do now take about 2 hours and that’s not the detailed stuff that I really wanna do. Time is one thing that holds me back from doing larger pieces. I’m beginning to suck it up though and just put in the work 😅

I’d recommend artist loft alcohol based markers. They’re cheaper than copics and they’re good quality. The tips are fine on the brushes so that you can get tight corners easier.

Keep it up @acidyo because I’m hyped now! Lol😄 I’m looking forward to future artworks from you as well. I’m glad I could help give you that push forward👋😃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @acidyo !
🚀 🌕 You WON the Player’s Upvote Lottery for playing moonSTEEM
Here's a 100% Upvote for you ! May the Moon be with you !

Moon your steem everyday ! Instant Dividend payout after every game - FREE 100 steemies on sign up moonSTEEM.com

It is very exciting to know that you are drawing!
I use Copic makers but I haven’t quite master how to blend colours...these alcohol-based makers are great but yes, it is pricey.
I think Copic ciao is less expensive than Copic sketch.
Prismacolor have nice makers as well.
I use to use Tombow markers when I was young. I believe these are water-based and it has double-ended brush.
Looking forward to seeing your artwork in the near future!

Don't sit around drawsterbating all day! You'll go blind! And how dare you use a reference! You should draw completely from your memory and it should look horrible! Like people trying to draw dollars from memory!

Nice job btw. :P

I was ironically just thinking about maybe trying to draw a bit again. It's been so long. I really need to practice and get my skills at least back to where they were years ago. I'm really bad lately because it's been so long.

Not only that they are no limits but also shows that what doesn't kill you only makes you stronger! That is what I feel for the Steem community right now!

I didn't know you could draw man. ʕ ▀ ਊ ▀ ʔ

Lol now u got me thinking when I drew last time.

I was checking lately to buy a drawing tablet for PC and try to draw that way. But, it will wait a bit. First buying more steem xD

Dang that is seriously impressive. Have u always been able to draw well or something learned over time?

Posted using Partiko Android

I used to draw a lot when I was younger, copying like this mostly though.

My daughter constantly draws anime, and I know it more difficult than the usual drawing. In any case, you did well ...

Why do some of us insist in underestimate our own skills? "No, I'm no artist, therefore I don't want to do this because I'm not good enough." Humans... If it's something you enjoy you shoul drawcrostinate more often. I would call you an artist. You take good pics, you draw, you're a pretty good steemer... That last one definitely requires some amount of artistry I must say lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85