Is Golos.io Dead In The Water?

in #golos6 years ago

golos-screenshot.png

Golos was the first clone of STEEM which happened back in 2016 and was primarily for the Russian speaking community. Golos did something right in that everyone who had a STEEM account ended up with a Golos account back when they did the clone but the big mistake they made was that they gave an equivalent distribution compared to what a person had in Steem Power. So the ridiculously imbalanced distribution that STEEM had was then replicated over on Golos. What they should have done is that everyone with a certain Steem Power like 200 SP and a certain reputation like 50 would end up with an equal distribution.

Overtime I have posed on Golos sporadically and kept my eye on it. A few months back they ended up making it so that everyone posting through Golos.io would be giving up a portion of their rewards to the developers who forked initially from STEEM to help pay for development or buy lambos or something.

It has really went down from there. The trading volume for Golos has bottomed out bad.
poor-volume.png

$556 worth of volume in a 24 hour period of time isn't good news. Especially on a high volume exchange like Bittrex. The whales were dominating over on Golos and it is serious warning sign for something like STEEM. I'm not trying to be negative toward STEEM but Golos suddenly becomes an example of what happens when everyone loses hope that the system has any resemblance to fairness and then everyone is just posting to talk to themselves and upvote themselves and then trying to dump before they get dumped on.

One of the things that I have noticed by being on WhaleShares and WEKU is that there is more engagement despite there being way less accounts on that platform.

It comes down to HOPE ....... When people lose hope the platform goes into a complete death spiral and might not come out of it. It all stems from too few people earning the majority of the rewards and that being the way it is from the very beginning.

With these examples it makes me wonder if the niche platforms can garner enough support to really thrive and it also makes me wonder if I should make some big moves on platforms like WEKU and WhaleShares to try to get ahead of everyone by gaining power before the masses get on there. I don't really want to talk to myself. If you are actually reading this put, "I punched my pillow out of anger." Then the question is does STEEM actually continue to do better than the others because it has first movers advantage compared to the clones?

What do you guys think? Is Golos Dead In The Water?

side-jump.png

Sort:  

Deals.weku is a terrible domain choice in my opinion and I don’t see anything named “whaleshares” reaching mass adoption in the social media space. Who’s coming up with these names?

Posted using Partiko iOS

yeah and also if you click on that drop down menu at the right side there is also news.weku and one.weku which I don't know what that is about because it is almost like it is a different thing all together. I don't get where they are going with it but we will see if I'm wasting my time posting there. Hahhah. There is a lot of engagement which is interesting. People are hopeful.

For sure it’s worth a shot. I believe I used your referral link and signed up a few weeks ago just to have a look. Anything is possible in this space. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Magic 8 ball bot says: Most Likely 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahhah. I knew you were a bot!

The funny thing is we tried to make an account for @encryptdcouple on Golos a while back via anongolos and it never worked out 🤣 @someguy123 is super legit and issued us a refund though!

Our friend @broncnutz likes it on there though 😏

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is probably the best thing because it likely would have been a waste of time to post there. That is good you were able to get a refund.

I think @broncnutz put a decent investment into it. It is like all crypto.....it is hard to tell what to take the chance with.

Golos is pretty much dead-plus I heard the team way corrupt in a sense...IDK if it was true-google translate only helped a little...

Yeah that is what I heard that the team was pretty shady. There was a lot of fighting over there as well.

"I punched my pillow out of anger."

I think Steemit was first so has a huge advantage. And Weku is a dog...

FYI - REMATCH VIDEO IS EDITED AND UPLOADED... You can release it first if you beat me to it. I'll be posting it next, in a few hours.

I had heard of it, but I didn't realize it was a clone. hmm

  • If there is no money as shown by your screenshot, how do they get people to run the witness servers? Sounds to me like they will have to shut down...

hi @brianphobos

I've never heard about Golos before. Interesting.

Thank you for your comment in my latest post (related to HF20). Just wanted to show my support with a little comment + upvote.

Im glad to see tht you're still around. Hope you've been doing fine.

Obviously upvoted. Have a great upcoming week. Mondays always sucks :)
Yours, Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89