I show you only a moment in time....steemCreated with Sketch.

in #goodmorning5 years ago (edited)

Good morning everyone!

This morning I've got two things on my heart. One I'll address on here and the other I will put on the blog later today.

I often meet people who tell me that it looks like we live such an idyllic life on the island. SO Happy and doing such lovely things, always busy and out on the street. And yes. If I scroll down my blog page it might very well look like it. BUT what no one takes into consideration is WHATEVER I choose to share on here DOES NOT REPRESENT my whole life. It only ever shows you a glimpse of mine. A moment in time.

I've said it before and I'll say it again. Life on an island is NOT always paradise living. I've been to the beach once for a five minute sunset photo shoot on Sunday, before that I haven't been for a week or more. We don't do restaurants often as it's expensive. We rather buy nice food and cook a treat at home sharing it with friends or shocker... Even alone as a family.. 😂

On this rock we live life. I get up. I do the laundry, sweep the house. Do the shopping. The kids are up before me. The Xman leaves the house at ten to six in the morning to get to college. The girl-child goes to the stables four days a week where she exercises horses for no pay... In fact we pay them for her lessons weekly. But it gives her pleasure so I don't complain.

On this rock island blues are a real thing don't think it's not. The island is small and unless you have oodles of money to travel you're stuck here for some time or until you can get a pass to visit back home.

I had an amazing life in Cape Town and the only fly in the ointment for us was that hubby was never home. And in never I mean NEVER. FIVE WEEKS OUT OF 52 FOR THE WHOLE OF LAST YEAR. Life here is good because as a family we now spend so much more time together and life in general is ok, the only change that we're somewhat safer here and that the weather is better. having said that and having a penchant for adventure.... .it's not home.

I can see it on a weekend when we would normally drive to the family or visit some favorite haunts. The kids haven't made a lot of friends so we spend a lot of time together. They miss having purpose and I get that.

Reality is. We miss our family and friends. Reality is. We fight with the company for paying salaries on time. Reality is. Traffic is a bummer and driving anywhere here is time consuming. Reality is. Neither my kids nor myself are allowed to work here unless we have permits. It's frustrating to say the least. Reality is. We can't just emigrate here because citizenship is not viable so we're always looking for other options.

REALITY is that life on an island is not always cocktails on the beach.

However much you think I'm always on nice outings and such... Here's a shocker.... I spend most mornings at home.....and that's no lie. 😉

I blog and bloggers share lots of stories and things. We are illusionists. 🙂 I show you some nice moments and some not so nice but please be aware that often the not so nice outweighs the nice ones although one doesn't always share that on social media because sometimes it's private and the whole world doesn't need knowing.

So.... Having gotten that off my chest. 😂

I wish you a beautiful day whilst I go get my umpteenth cup of coffee for the morning. 😊

photo my own

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Oh my dear @dkkarolien, these are genuine words from your heart. <3 <3
It is natural that we all love to share (and see) the sweet side of living. It is like if you want to get in the mood you just start to smile and you'll feel like there is a reason to smile.

But I very well understand what you talk about. I was on the phone with my friend yesterday and we speak about same things. Your life might looks rosy and sunny even for your close friends sometimes. There are lots of not too pleasant but too personal thing we don't share with anyone, and it's quite okay.

I so much want to say something cheerful and ... all that come to my mind is - don't care! It is your life and your blog and your way to show it.
Hugs!
<3

@zirochka thank you for stopping by. Indeed that we only post a frozen moment in time and people believe it resembles your whole life. Such is the power of social media. It sickens me at times. People are often to afraid to admit it's not going well so we pretend that all is well all the time. I appreciate your well thoughts on the topic. It's something close to my heart. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I wish you find a perfect place to live, where your family could spend a lot of time together, and with friends as well (and make friends!), and travel whenever and wherever you want. I was in a similar situation 10 years ago, when I left my home town and all my life behind and moved here to Kyiv to my second husband. This city was big, unfriendly, uncomfortable. I didn't have friends, although it is my country but seemed people have a very different mentality. In fact, things changed a little, and now I feel more comfortable, but I still miss my family, my daughter and friends there...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71