Anti-corporate state monopolists.

in #government6 years ago



Why don't anti-corporatists apply their logic to that most powerful, most violent corporation of all: the government? I'd be a lot more amenable to their "corporations don't have rights" argument if they didn't turn around and weep with joy when Obama says "the government is us."

It so isn't. Amazon and Starbucks are a lot more representative of me than the state is. And I have a lot more leverage in my interactions with Bezos and Schultz than I have in my interactions with Trump and Obama. Namely, I have the power to refuse to interact with Bezos at all, a freedom the state savagely represses in its own interactions with me.

I don't get it.

It took Howard Schultz 10 minutes to shut his entire corporation down when they perpetuated institutional racism against two of their customers. The government has been glorying in its violent racism for centuries and shows no signs of even the slightest concern. If I don't like the way Starbucks behaves, I can shop somewhere else. If I don't like the way the government behaves, I can go fuck myself. Talk about a lack of bargaining power, try stopping the government some time.

And just to reiterate: the point here is not that the market is perfect or that you shouldn't be skeptical of it or cynical about it. The question is why, given the immense relative power and violence of the state, that same scrutiny and skepticism isn't applied to the government. I understand why people are anti-corporate. I do NOT understand why anti-corporate people are also state monopolists.

In order to get there and defend it, you have to embrace a conception of the state that is so utterly inconceivable that the cold, hard, realist analysis of the market comes across as disingenuous.

Sort:  

You know me, I'm anti-government to the hilt. BIG corporations are just as bad. They get their power from the government and the government get most of their power from the BIG corporations. Both Democrats and Republicans get a ton of cash from the same companies.

There is no people power.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Oh wow really. You will resteem posts for 1 steem to 72,000 deceased followers. That's like joining the zombie club.

For this we must change the concept of state and government.... Our problem is that we don't have a deep sense of government and state...
We believe that the government owns everything and we have no choice... But the truth is the opposite... We have everything and the government has one choice is to make people don't know this fact

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69684.47
ETH 3531.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73