G+ is going down... has anyone proposed that they go to Steemit?

in #gplus6 years ago (edited)

Diaspora, the other social network that I use is being flooded with plusrefugees as they call themselves, people who have used Google+ but now needs to find another social network. Google is terminating the G+ service soon.

In a tread there was a discussion about where people would go other than the federated networks (diaspora, Friendica etc.) and Minds was mentioned... I haven't had a positive impression of Minds and told them that Steemit was a better idea.

Has any of you meet G+ refugees and mentioned Steemit to them?

Sort:  

7F56DF62-9EA8-491A-AB82-4ED185F800C7.png

I have. But it’s gone ignored...

Yeah I try to push people here but I think people are generally lazy and scared of the unknown.

I not only think it. I am convinced that they are. New, hyped mainstream products on the other hand is not treated as something unknown, but is used without any questions.

We are all early adopters. If this turns even somewhat remotely mainstream, we will have a huge advantage. I hope some G+ folks give it a shot.

Yes, I hope so too. Minds is such an ugly place.

I have yet to check out Minds. Probably won’t. This place takes enough energy. Lol

Interesting backstory about the reason G+ was dropped ;-)

Yes, sounds like a load of bollocks to just shut down what never came even close to being a competitor to Facebook.

I proposed to some, but one is arrguing about the need to have a cell phone to open an account here.

People do not know what is good for them.

I still mention it to the people who have come to Diaspora, but I do not know of any who actually made the jump.

There may be a flood of newbies arriving but I rarely check the intro posts these days, due to lack of time.

I think the stats will show there is some influx but we will need to wait for them (maybe next month.)

I was more interested in hearing if people who have a Google+ account remembered to tell them so they could come here instead of the horrible place, MINDS.

Ah, besides Facebook which I really only use to communicate with @steevc, I don't have any more active social media accounts. Minds does look crappy.

Me neither, but there's a lot of people coming to Diaspora so I guess I can do a little there.

I hadn't heard that G+ was shutting down. I have three G+ accounts but rarely used them because nobody else was ever on there. I guess it's not surprising then if it really is shutting down. It's too bad because I really liked its UI.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29