"That was a close one " kind of day- #Grateful for being safe

in #grateful6 years ago (edited)

I can still remember how nervous and scared I was when this happened. Its as if my bones suddenly ran away from my body that I lost strength all of a sudden. Even though it was not a good experience, Id still like to share it as a warning and a reminder to all of us driving and traveling daily.

It has only been 7 months since I started driving. I have had no driving experience way back in the Philippines so everything I know is obtained from the driving lessons that I took here in UAE ( thanks to my instructor Ms. Marissa.. I owe you everything I know. Thanks for your patience. I will never forget you) . Since day 1, it has been part of my routine to say my prayer first before driving. I believe that the roads can be too complicated and everything can happen anytime. I even compare driving to delivering a baby, in both situations, life is on the line.

Below is the picture of the copy of the prayer I was given when I had the car blessed:

IMG_7455.jpg

So, being an unexperienced new driver, I always try to follow the rules. I always thought everyone does it, but there are still who really drive as if they have nine lives and treat the roads like their own playground ='( . There is no way to avoid it since the road is for everybody to share.
Yesterday morning ,I left the house as I normally would. Did my short prayer before driving , and drove my way to work. Everything was actually fine- I use the same route to work ( the easiest , I think) . Traffic was ok since its a little early and there were no accidents, making it easier for everyone to reach their destinations.

While driving, with the radio on ( this makes me feel like Im not alone , making the journey less boring) ... I was enjoying the music being played...... I suddenly heard a loud exploding sound with combination of screeching of tires.. Then I saw one mini bus on the lane next to mine had one of its rear tires blown out. As expected, debris were everywhere, and since I was driving just next to it , a big one flew my way..

images-4.jpeg

Image Source

I can feel my heart pounding hard and beating fast as if it would come out of my chest... good thing I was not driving too fast that time and was able to hit hazard button while trying to avoid the scattered pieces of debris.


Image Source

After successfully avoiding those, I felt like my bones suddenly ran away from my body. I was feeling really week and I even wanted to stop for a while to breathe but I couldn't. I had to continue driving while trying to calm myself. All I knew was , I was thanking God for saving me from a very close encounter with an accident. Upon reaching the office parking, before turning the engine off, I really embraced the steering wheel. At last..a chance to take deep breaths and convince myself I was ok and I arrived safely.

There is a lot I learned from this experience. That accidents can really happen anytime and anywhere, and that all you can do is to try to drive as safely as possible. Another is the importance of having your vehicle checked, especially if we take long drives. From lights, to fuel, to extra tires ..just make sure to check everything. A little time spent for checking is nothing if its for everyone's safety. Though it was a scary experience, I guess I still am blessed with happy #teardrops for being safe . I cannot thank God enough for keeping me safe and alive.

Hope this experience serves as a simple reminder for us to drive safely and be cautious. Take care everyone!

If you find this helpful and worthy of your time please upvote and resteem this post .
What are you waiting for let's create a change by sharing our #gratefulvibes story!
@iamdeth

Cast your vote and support @surpassinggoogle , my witness and inspiration to continue learning and growing.

To vote visit,
https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Type "steemgigs" as a witness in the search box then vote as shown below:

re127f3gcm.jpg

IMG_7303.jpg

Sort:  

As you said, always check everything before and after the travel for a long drive. Same with my experience, I have a phobia in the motorcycle.

it took me a day para making ok ulet kuya.. nakkatakot talaga..pero thank God I feel better now.

stay safe lagi sis.
God bless you always.
madaming lokong driver talaga kaya doble ingats

Awww. That was kinda scary, sis. I know, prayers does make a difference. God bless you!

thanks sis! I was really scared and I felt my hands shaking while driving.. Thank God for my safety. God bless your family too sis!

Be cautious and defensive driver everytime! Stay safe and you did well on that! Never panic, keep your eyes on the road and mind those around you.. 💕

kaya nga sis..dapat talaga ganun palagi.. salamat =)

@surpassinggoogle has also become my inspirational profile, I feel so honored that I have once received an upvote from his side, @iamdeth I have supported and voted for @surpassinggoogle. Let us grow together as a community :)

Congratulations @iamdeth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

The most important thing is that you are safe, Always ask for God's guidance. Take care always sis. :)

You are right sis. Safety is with Him ..thanks a lot! =)

Ingats always deth. 😘

thanks ate ria!

Sana ok na sya

Awwtsss.... really scary. I feel you. Keep safe out there!

ikaw din ate @arrlinn..keep safe palagi while driving..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83