Kindheartedness doesn't pay (some times)

boy-2074662_1920.jpg

It just doesn't pay to be a kind hearted person sometimes....

My neighbor,
the guy who is helping me move equipment these days,
needs to get a drivers license.
His expired while he was in prison for 29 yrs ( 😱 ).
He keeps thinking he can just get the paper one he has
had for the last 35 yrs renewed.
He is 74 yrs old, and I just can't get him to realize or accept
that things have changed, and you can't just
"go down to Griffin Ga,(where he is from) pay for the license,
take a little test, drive around the parking lot and come home"
(which is really what would be done),
Griffin is 39 MILES from here (56 min in current traffic), that is an
hour down, and hour back and probably at least an hour
of me sitting while he is using my vehicle.
3 HOURs of my life, when the local office is about 2 mi from here,
we've been there twice now
(the first time just to find out what he would need to get his license;
I had to fill out the papers for him, he can barely write, but for his
hands shaking and lack of education) but I know damned well
getting it up here would not take 3 hrs.

I looked up the location, printed out a map, called the Sheriff's dept,
who gave me the St Patrol #, where a very nice, very helpful lady
answered and said she wasn't with the drivers services
( State Patrol doesn't do licenses any more) but she walked around
the corner and asked them for me.
So now I have the days and times they are open, and the next time
I have a day free to throw away on this,
I will drive him down there to get his damned license.

"Kindheartedness Doesn't Pay"

(sometimes)
by

Jerry E Smith
©2/13/2019
top image from pixabay
Boy Thinking


These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks






Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34