Delayed Gratification

in #gratification5 years ago

image.png

I read this recently and like many things it got me thinking and comparing it to Steem and Crypto in general. I was lucky enough to be one of the few to get into cryptocurrencies early but time was my worst enemy and would not let me ride the waves the way I had hoped I would and kind of knew they could. I remember when I stopped using Facebook completely for Reddit as long as 8 years ago because already at such an early time I could see how the system and way it was being used was going to change the quality a lot compared to what was happening on the other platforms at the time. I remember trying to get a lot of my friends into it and share this absolutely amazing place with them, reminding them to look around a bit, subscribe to some subreddits you're interested in, read the comments, etc, but not many even attempted to do that. They checked the front-page for a day or two which was heavily U.S based and most default subreddits were more serious than they'd prefer, reading was not their thing so checking askreddit was not something they got into either, so they left.

It wasn't long til Reddit started being mentioned in late night shows, tv series and news channels, it had stated to become really popular quick once they got their AMA's going with celebrities participating, usually trying to promote their new movie to the big userbase. Of course that's when they started sending me links to Reddit posts suddenly again and were so amazed at how great the content had become since last time they tried. For many though the content on other platforms adopted faster than they had the chance to get away so they stuck with their Facebook's and Instagrams.

I was going to be talking about instant gratification and how it seems the younger generation seem to be suffering the worst from it because of these social media platforms. Reddit is not a saint, especially not if you only subscribe to memes/10s videos/funnypics, etc, it lets you choose your own activity and has something for everyone (although not literally since they've had to shut down controversial subreddits and user accounts). Coming to Reddit from a platform where you just browse through pictures and status updates and news headlines it often lead to users having short attention span and not wanting to spend too much time on one article/post so they naturally turned their Reddit's into Instagrams too although the content was now much better.

There are many documentaries about the effects of too much Instant Gratification and information at your fingertips, combined with procrastination it is not healthy for people. I'm sure you can take the time to google those if you are interested. The grandpa in the story above says that delayed gratification can lead to a far better long-term outcome which is something that has proven to be true time and time again in the Crypto history charts as well. Would that mean that Steemians today are in the same position as the girl is in the screenshot? Grandpa being the rewardpool and curators while the chocolate being Steem. Could be, many Steemians who have started their career with no investment but spent a lot of time and effort into our blockchain have surely been rewarded in some way from the reward pool over time. Those who have left and come back have surely found themselves in a much more difficult position to get back into the ring (not a circlejerk pun).

In a recent post I mentioned how trying to cheat the system is something that is going to be attempted time and time again, even though Steem has proven itself to be rather strong versus such attacks, proof of brain will always have a weak point that hopefully will get smaller over time with more and more users and experience. The weak point being trust. There's no takesies backsies on Steem, sure you can wish you hadn't spent all that voting power, time or Steem on person who vanished with empty promises, but math will never let you get it back unless you use a fork.

Things will get better though, with more users and eyes these weaknesses will be happening less and less. I remember when Reddit users were being scammed hard once by some go-fund-me and other donation pages pretending to be people in need just to have kindhearted souls have their money stolen as they were trying to do something good in this world. A lot of users stepped up and started looking deeper into things and eventually they started to notice the flaws of their scams and quickly came up with better solutions to make sure those middlemen that were stealing were eliminated. If only there was a way to ensure funds go to the right people without middlemen being an issue, eh? But I guess Steem is still attempting to eliminate unnecessary middlemen on its own chain for now...

Old Reddit was quite boring, a lot of nerds talking about what Reddit could become while most posts were attempting to improve it. It reminds me of Steem in more ways than many probably could understand if they haven't been active Redditors or Steemians since the early days of both. My opinion of this technology has not changed much since the first days I got on here and while things are taking a bit longer understandably to happen, I suggest people to try delayed gratification as the opposite will most of the time make you lose. Even though Steem can be quite unhealthy used the wrong way as well I do believe that the incentives it provides today already will improve the users social media experiences over time. It will be quite interesting to see how it will develop.

At the ned of the day if we get rewarded for sticking with it for longer we'll be able to share some of it with others in the same way as the girl offered to share with her grandpa, and sharing is nice, isn't it?

Sort:  

Right? I can completely relate to the marshmallow test on this. It’s been brutal in some moments. That moment when I first saw my account worth 10,000 and I felt so dizzy i could barley stand.

Later seeing it at 30,000 and being in a bizarre state of belief.

Later my account was worth 60,000 and I had a new car! Something I never thought I’d be able to get because I was always so poor.

Then last year when crypto hit All time highs. I had a moment where my account was 600,000. I gotta admit, I still wonder if i should have pulled it. But I love the power and influence I have here. So many people quit right before they hit that success. Many people come up with excuses on why they should eat their marshmallow right away.

But they are simply excuses.

I’ve had so many moments of financial struggle since I’ve been here and I’ve stayed put. Steem is slowly rising again and I believe it will keep going! People that hold on will see a nice benefit

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sharing's the best! This post is exactly what I needed to read now :) it leaves me with a good feeling about this whole Steem thing. There are times I'm one of those people who leave, then come back, which I do unintentionally, and I always regret "leaving it for a while cause I'm busy with other stuff and life happens". I doubt new things on the internet easily, but what I've experienced with Steem is something I've never experienced anywhere on the internet before, and I hope it will grow into something even more beautiful in the future. Can't wait to see, but I have hope everything will be worth it :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I remember when Reddit users were being scammed hard once by some go-fund-me and other donation pages pretending to be people in need just to have kindhearted souls have their money stolen as they were trying to do something good in this world.

We've had that!

I think it's likely going to be a lot worse in the future though. Well, we'll have bigger and bigger scams occasionally.

Old Reddit was quite boring, a lot of nerds talking about what Reddit could become while most posts were attempting to improve it.

So Steemit really was like Reddit in many ways...except look or function...because they sorta just stopped adding functionality for a while.

Maybe it is better to learn about delayed gratification. That certainly isn't the only way. That sorta sounds like an experiment you run on mice or monkeys. We all have to have patience here. Whether it's waiting for stupid Steemit to get their shit together and do updates and documentation and support open source development or if it's price or if it's just in a stupid game like DrugWars. And it's harder than ever in this instant gratification world...but...some things we shouldn't have to wait for. Like a stupid TV schedule when they CAN do TV on demand. Instead we should learn skills that take patience. One of those is trading...which every Steemian should learn a bit of.

That second part where the granddaughter shared the chocolate is something heartwarming and it certainly proves something great in the little kid.

What I see here is that @ocdb is sort of a delayed gratification initiative which offer reasonable profit for all, making the whole community to benefit in long term rather than just going for profit and stop to run at some point. The chocolate is when Steem has gone to a more stable state and rise in its value as in usability and adaptivity to different users’ culture.

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's not easy to appreciate delayed gratification. You have to train yourself. Reading your comparisons to how you felt on Reddit gives me a good feeling about Steem.

the more i learn about steemit and steem the more it seems like some massive social game where those that realize its a race to the top get there and those that treat it like a social experiment or cryptocurrency lite stay with their micro reward posts and complaining about how the system is rigged. paly the long game folks somehow some way earn your way to the top and get rewarded when the right time comes.

What a wonderful story about your granddaughter
.

At the ned of the day if we get rewarded

Was this a Freudian slip?

Yes, we do need to keep working toward the end. Takes time.

added: or were you seeing if we would notice? Another test. haha!

At the ned of the day, I don't think acidyo has grandkids... he was referencing an article.
Given various things the dude has referenced, I'd probably put him around 35 years old.

thanks .. "at the ned of the day" it is still a great story. I don't know how old anyone is.
How old are you?
Added: I see it was all about an analogy..thanks lol

Haha, at the ned of the day, I'm 41.

We may have a new expression here: "at the ned of the day."
haha!

Let's make this a thing! #atthenedoftheday

lol I just read through my post again and weirdly enough there was only one other typo in it that I noticed. But yeah, maybe I'm getting a bit of dyslexia.

You missed the @ :P

I loved the post

I've been here 2 years and had several people sign up for the platform but not a single one actually stayed longer than a month or so. Feelsbadman. Wish more people would stick around longer and grind away at it, everything good takes time.

They'll come back and be all regretful when crypto spikes and they realize they could have been writing shit posts occasionally and earning crypto that's gonna be worth a lot more soon.

More than likely, yeah. But, then they'll decide it's time to come back because now they can make thousands! Then after things calm down they'll fuck off again and rinse and repeat. Unless Steem makes me a millionaire or some shit, then they'll be trying to suckle my asshole probably and that'd be even more of a god damn headache.

I think what will provide us all the delayed gratification is when we realize all the SMTs we have accumulated while waiting for them for formally launch as the ecosystem continues to attract projects that broaden our way to engage with the community!

Posted using Partiko iOS

My hunt bags are ready. xD

I shared Steem with over a dozen people and only one managed to stick to the platform, @cryptosharon, the others tried it for a while but after limited to no success they decided to quit... I hope they'll eventually return and start sharing Steem links with me just like your friends did with you and Reddit:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25