The Wristwatch that came from @lordjames: a message of love, kindness and gratitude

in #gratitude5 years ago (edited)

The stories of our lives are often interwoven in the circumstances that accompany our life journey, and the test of our ability to make something good or bad from them.
IMG-20190106-WA0000.jpg

Yesterday, I got a surprise gift from my friend @lordjames, a beautiful wristwatch. And when I asked him why he sent the gift, he said, "just my little way of saying thank you for 2018 and for introducing me to Steemit". I felt excited about the surprise gift. However, the gift reminded me of other things; of love, gratitude and kindness.
IMG_20190108_134035.jpg
Opening the received package after delivery from Jumia

I joined Steemit late December 2017, at a moderately prosperous times. One week later, having noticed the limitless opportunities the platform presented, I put a call across to @lordjames and asked him to join.

Why did I call @lordjames?

IMG-20181102-WA0118.jpg
myself and @lordjames

I called James because we both had just completed our national service that year and we were at the crossroad of our lives. I called him because I felt and had first hand testimony from the platform.

I called James because I knew he was good, and I had faith in his ability to maximize any promising opportunity. I called him because he has a silent powerful brain that was almost left to sit on a jar.

I called him because times were hard. An average Nigerian graduate who is just done with NYSC and launches into the real world with no connections, sufficient experience and resources will understand this. Things were hard, I was in Uyo then looking for a job, he was at Akwanga, shuttling between Nassarawa and Abuja looking for greener pastures.
It was a desperate moment for us, to atleast start well or find a good path. We were desperate for a breakthrough.
IMG_20181031_130243.jpg

I called him because I've seen @lordjames demonstrate fierce determination and courage before, because he has known both success and failure.

I called him because I believed in him. But most importantly, I called him because he is my friend.

Friends are such an important part of our life, and as such, it is best we consider the selection process very crucial.

Etiese joined Steemit January 2018, he came on the platform with a great hunger to succeed, to create a dent and to leverage on the opportunities that abound.

Many things served as motivation for him at that time, but oonly James knows what his deepest motivation was. However, I would say it was "desperation".

Desperation for success, desperation to create and add value, desperation to break the chains of lack and embrace that of abundance. Desperation to become financially independent as well as be the saving grace for others.

He was desperate to satisfy his curiosity, to know all that is within cryptos and blockchain technology, and how they work.

His desperation for knowledge, freedom, values and wealth is legendary, and this made him stood out within a year. Today, I would say that he has had a very successful journey so far on Steemit, though still anticipating the best.
IMG-20181031-WA0017.jpg
At Steemit in Nigeria Conference, 2018

Desperation helps, a positive one. Sometime ago, @taraz shared a personal story about his steemit journey and he had this to say..

Desperate people are willing to try anything when backed into a corner, when at rock bottom, when needing to find a way to feed their children, they are willing to work for it.

I couldn't agree less, this is a common story for some of us. There are many other persons I introduced Steemit to as well. Some are still here pushing on, some retired, some got crushed by the bearish market or by the system, some got tired waiting for a bull run, some never did anything after opening their account successfully. But Etiese has been the most outstanding of them all, and just like that one leper among the ten, he came back to show gratitude.
IMG_20181103_191318.jpg
Preparing for conference dinner

Not that he has never told me "thank you" before or that others haven't, but he just decided to do this in a special way. And I appreciate this.

@lordjames has survived different times and seasons on the steem blockchain so far. His spirit has not broken, he hasn't quench the fire yet.

This wasn't going to be a long epistle, it was to simply remind us that a single act of kindness, love or concern for another can bring about a rippling effect.
Also, how crucial it is to always show gratitude to people who've shown us kindness at one point or the other.

Thank you @lordjames, I'm truly grateful for this gift of love and appreciation from you. It has inspired me to do more for people and humanity.

Sort:  

Thank you Joshua for all the love you showed me when I was trying to find my place on this platform. I'll never forget.

You're welcome

what an awesome way of expressing gratitude! friends are requisite in our lives.

Absolutely, such an important part of our lives.

Ikpa the watch looks good. You guys part of the Abuja or Uyo steemit units?

Thank you Etubom. Yeah, we're part of the Abuja and Uyo Steemit units.
How about you?

Lone wolf here. Haven't really met any steemit folk irl since I joined.

How did you guys link up?

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05