THE NAME - GRATITUDE DAY!

in #gratitudeday6 years ago (edited)
Wow.. finally got to do this.. First off, I want to say a big thank you to @tojukaka for this challenge. I really haven't had time to do this, but there's something in my heart, too heavy I need to pour out and hopefully, i can release them in the letters of this post. This is a story I'd love to share to show how grateful I am to God for his awesomeness.. I'd like you to read this and reflect on your life, the journey so far, the smooth roads and potholes, the music and the noise, the tears of joy and the tears of sorrow, the times of luck and the times of frustration..


Shivering with fear in the damp smelly room, Rose struggled with the cord tying her hands together. Gagged and blindfolded by her kidnappers, she couldn't tell where she was or what time of the day it was. And while she wondered how long she'd been in the place, she realized she couldn't remember anything. Hard as she tried to recall how she got there, she couldn't recollect what had happened - she was totally blank!.

Aside the stench in the room where she was held captive, everywhere was dead silent. And just when the silence was beginning to unnerve her, she heard a shrill voice screaming, "Please ...don't kill me... Please!" Trying to pick out the voice, she heard other sounds, this time a slashing sound followed by a third. Paralyzed with fear, she tried to scream for help, but couldn't, because her mouth was gagged. "Oh my God, how did I get here!" she screamed inside of her, tears dripping down her cheeks. Again, the whole place went dead silent immediately after the deafening sounds. She was almost sure the person next door could hear her heart beat against her rib cage.

The silence lashed some minutes. Suddenly, two hefty me flung the door open and stormed into the room. Sensing their presence, she held her breath. "Untie her!" she heard one of them say. What seemed like ten rough hands grabbed her wrist and untied them. She was dragged to another room where she was made to kneel before a fierce looking dwarf..

Looking around frantically, Rose noticed some other captives in the room; they all looked frightened and helpless. The dwarf whispered some instructions to his men. Rose seized the opportunity to look around for any possible means of escape. "You!", the dwarf snapped at her. " You are the journalist who's bent on destroying my clients! " he said with so much fury. She was more surprised now than frightened. "Mm...me, a journalist?" she shuttered with quivering lips. The dwarf let out a Curt laughter. "Wake her up," he addressed one of his men who went over to Rose and sprinkled a powdery substance over her face. Immediately, she remembered everything that had happened...


Rose had received an anonymous call the previous day. The mystery caller demanded that she should not air the interview she has with some abduction victims. The reason wasn't far-fetched; the interview indicted a very prominent politician. She ignored the request and did what she thought was right - put the interview on air. Later that day, she recalled how some hefty looking men had trailed and eventually seized her. Having recollected what had happened, something snapped in her. She suddenly realized that she and the other victims were in grave danger. When she was gagged, she had prayed silently that God would deliver her. But now, realizing the graveness of her predicament, she yelled the name of Jesus. On impulse, the other victims joined her in shouting the name of Jesus and pleading his blood. Soon, everywhere was vibrating with the shout of 'Jesus'.

The dwarf, putting his hands in his ears as if to stop him from hearing their cry, barked out orders to his men. But just as they were about to carry out his orders, a figure in blinding white apparel appeared in the room completely out of the blue. At his sight, the gang fled in horror, leaving all the doors to their hideout open. Watching them flee, Rose and other abductees escaped via the exit doors, though they didn't understand what had just happened.

There is an awesome power in the name of Jesus. His powers are not comprehendible by man and his word is sharper than any 2 - edged sword. This is why at the mention of the name of Jesus, every knee most bow. We humans wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities and powers and the rulers of darkness in high places.

Looking back at my life, I am so short of words, but I can only tell you that God is good. He is not a man that he should lie. Even in my sins and transgressions, he has never failed me. He's the Arugbo Ojo... His faithfulness is great, every morning I see new mercies.

I used the 45 minutes drive from my staff bus this morning to listen to This God is too Good by Frank Edwards and I tell you that song is constantly on repeat. I don't know what I can ever do to show how I grateful I am for what he has done in my life. When everything in my life says NO!, my God says YES!. When it looks like my world is about to end, he opens a door for me. There's nothing anyone is ever going to tell me that will make me believe there is no God because I have literally seen GOD in my life. If I can feel his presence, and my life is like this - What will happen if I can see him. He's mighty, He's amazing. I don't deserve his love, his tender mercy, If not for his grace, where would I be?..

Am going to stop writing now, as I need to look for a place to scream his glory out of my heart cos am nearly in tears...
In your spare time, wherever you might be, Acknowledge that you are not on earth by your own strength, power or wisdom - ITS ONLY BY THE GRACE OF GOD...

Shoutout to @julietisrael, I really thank God for your life...
It could have been a different story..



@alisonudeme

Sort:  

Beautifully written.

Thanks dearie

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86