Gratitude day1: My Gratitude To My Late Mother.

in #gratitudeday6 years ago

I remember her daily, though she died since 2014. I still remember that day, sitting in the lab with my friend, Ekemini. We were just relaxing after doing some corrections on our projects. Then, suddenly my sister called, broke the news and I broke into tears. Why did I cry?

She was the closest person to me

mothers-day-3312770__480.jpg

Today is mother's day and as others celebrate their living mothers, I celebrate my late mum.Yes, I'm forced to celebrate the dead, because she's still alive in my heart.

Why grateful?

She made me a man indeed. Because I was close to her, she told me how a man should be. She made realize what a woman expect in a man. I was naturally shy and timid until she challenged me one day:

Asian are you really a man?
That's when it was dawn on me that I need to be a man. She never saw me with a woman before in all her life, though it was okay but it was a concern if this her son will ever give her grandchildren. Unfortunately, she died without seeing me with any woman.
I failed her on that, but I owned up because she made me to.

I remember the partings of my back whenever I'm home. I remember those encouraging words of greatness. She spoke greatness into my destiny and I wasn't afraid to pursue my dreams because I had someone that believed in me.

Every enthusiasm shattered when she died. I started doubting my very existence. Nothing made sense anymore for a long time. I got out of school discouraged about life itself.If such a precious thing is taken away from me, what can't be?

I found love but it shattered within a month, because love without hope is disaster

It took me years to get back on my feet. I had to stand up and face life because that's the only way I can tell her *thank you. She birthed in me a life of courage, strength and success.

She never gave up on me when I was very small. She always told me I was very small on birth, but I'm big now. She made me believe I can be even bigger.

Thanks to @tojukaka for this challenge. You made me remember I need to celebrate late Imeh George.

Happy mother's day to my late mother.
You might not be on earth, but you are in my heart forever

thanks-1183283__480.png

Images from here

Sort:  

I Upvoted And Followed you. do The same for me and we could help each other Earn.A847CBE2-1371-491F-B7A8-181BA00669CA.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71